Jump to content


Photo

[HOW TO's] Fix a non responsive touchscreen / wrongly calibrated touchscreen


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#21
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7
Well done with the update :blink:

I must admit I'm a little concerned though of trying the VegaComb 1.7 ROM again. Whilst there is a solution for the non responsive screen it was a little worrying at the time. I wonder if it was "just one of those things" or something more to do with the ROM itself..?

Then again seeing your updated post I could have just tried from "6a". All that configuration and set-up just gone now :huh:

  • 0

#22
SWOriginal

SWOriginal

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 341 posts
  • Location:Essex, London
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@@SW0riginal
I had no such issues with vegacomb 1.7 and I assume no one els has :blink:, you must have just been unlucky..when it happened to me I was convinced the app caused a hardware issue somehow and called PCWorld for a repair after I thought it was impossible to fix , glad I was wrong and its pretty straightforward to fix.

Sorry about that lol, i should have put it in the original steps ... Well at least now you've got everything setup on your PC just in case it happens again.

  • 0

#23
SWOriginal

SWOriginal

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 341 posts
  • Location:Essex, London
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@@SW0riginal
Guide has been updated yet again!,

Changes: included second guide for people with bricked vegas, installing a rom for the first time or goin to the new system partitions for vegacomb 1.7

  • 0

#24
joaotavela

joaotavela

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:POV
  • Twitter:@POV
well, i fix vega screen lauching calibration app through adb.



First, i flash Moddedstock 1.10 ( http://android.modac...oddedstock-110/)
Second, connect my device through adb in first screen ( Language Settings)
After, i downloaded ux100 calibration app (Module AP) ( http://android.modac...-works-on-vega/ )


http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FOPHAS7O


Then install the app with the command :
adb install moduleap.apk

The run the app through adb
adb
# am start -a android.intent.action.Main -n it7260.android/.ModuleAP

When the application start ,i can touch the button of recalibration, and works.

Edited by joaotavela, 14 July 2011 - 04:28 AM.

  • 1

#25
Yogimax

Yogimax

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One; Advent Vega

2: Put your Vega in recovery mode: hold down power button for 6 seconds until the Vega switches off, Hold in the back button for 2 seconds, hold in the power button for 2 seconds ( whilst keeping back button pressed), release the power button then after 2 seconds release the back button and plug your Vega into your PC (if it isn't already)

Hi there - thanks for the post. Can you edit your original post slightly - for recovery mode AFAIK you have to have your charger plugged in to allow you to get recovery. Also it is useful to be plugged into your PC before starting as you will hear the chime as the Vega in recovery mode is detected.

Keep up the good work.

  • 0

#26
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7

Hi there - thanks for the post. Can you edit your original post slightly - for recovery mode AFAIK you have to have your charger plugged in to allow you to get recovery. Also it is useful to be plugged into your PC before starting as you will hear the chime as the Vega in recovery mode is detected.

Keep up the good work.



You must have missed the last point in the first post...

Your Vega should now be unbricked!... if you cannot get your Vega into recovey mode it has been suggested that some devices need to be plugged into the mains power.

I did not need to have mine plugged in though.

  • 0

#27
Yogimax

Yogimax

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One; Advent Vega

You must have missed the last point in the first post...I did not need to have mine plugged in though.

Apologies - the danger of speed reading! However with my Vega it won't go into recovery unless it is plugged in. :mellow:

  • 0

#28
Herkatus

Herkatus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Hello!

I've followed this guide 'til the end but I'm not being able to connect the mouse.... I've tried 3 mouses: Laser X7, Optical X7 and wireless Microsoft. Any ideas?

Edited by Herkatus, 08 November 2011 - 08:19 PM.

  • 0

#29
richardmlea

richardmlea

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, England
  • Interests:Technology, science, movies, motorcycles, classic volkswagons, paintball, skiing to name a few of my interests.
  • Devices:P10AN01, TF201, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@richard lea
The vega needs to be in usb host mode for the mouse to work.
Turn off the vega by holding the power button for 8 seconds to make sure its off, then breifly press the power button while holding down the back button, hold the back button until the vega fully is booted. you are now in host mode and the mouse should work.

  • 0
Richard Lea
supp[email protected]
Replacement Tablet Screens UK
I offer a friendly, UK Advent Vega repair service for hardware problems. Just PM or email me your requirements.
Replacement Touchscreens, LCD's and repair service for most Tablets.

#30
welshyx

welshyx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Torfaen South Wales
  • Interests:Computers
    Gaming
    Rugby
    Cars
  • Devices:Xperia PLAY Advent VEGA
Hi if any of you could shed some light on my situation!

I am up to the step where you use ADB to boot into recovery mode but every time i enter any of the commands listed in this guide i always get

"error: device not found"

I have tried multiple USB ports and that hasn't changed my results i know that i have followed the guide correctly to this point and it says that the USB debugging is active.

Any ideas ?

  • 0

#31
richardmlea

richardmlea

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, England
  • Interests:Technology, science, movies, motorcycles, classic volkswagons, paintball, skiing to name a few of my interests.
  • Devices:P10AN01, TF201, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@richard lea

Hi if any of you could shed some light on my situation!

I am up to the step where you use ADB to boot into recovery mode but every time i enter any of the commands listed in this guide i always get

"error: device not found"

I have tried multiple USB ports and that hasn't changed my results i know that i have followed the guide correctly to this point and it says that the USB debugging is active.

Any ideas ?

You need to install the correct drivers on your PC.
Install Vegatools on the PC and use the included Audi (automatic driver installer) to install the correct driver.
Run Vegatools as administrator (right click program icon and choose “run as administrator”.
Click install drivers using AUDI,
In the first box select "I want to install the stock rom using recovery mode,
Then put the Vega into recovery mode (I assume you know how to do this but Vega tools will tell you if not)
When the vega is in recovery mode (Vegatools will tell you) complete the 3 step in box 3 (backup drivers, delete old drivers, install the correct drivers).

http://android.modac..._1#entry1856749
ADB will now find the device.

  • 0
Richard Lea
[email protected]
Replacement Tablet Screens UK
I offer a friendly, UK Advent Vega repair service for hardware problems. Just PM or email me your requirements.
Replacement Touchscreens, LCD's and repair service for most Tablets.

#32
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii

Guide updated! Hopefully its allot easier to understand now


Unfortunately in my experience the command "adb shell reboot recovery_2" just causes the tablet to reboot. With roms that have CWM included what worked for me is "adb shell reboot recovery2". However, using the recalibration tools (in fact all available tools and apps) has not sloved my totally un-responsive touchscreen. But I did discover that the Stock rom available from the POV Mobii site is set to host mode by default, so you can use a usb mouse right away to complete the installation and install new calibration apps to try to fix the screen problem.

  • 0

#33
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii

Guide updated! Hopefully its allot easier to understand now


Hi, SWOriginal, for this useful thread. Unfortunately the method described does not always work. The command line "adb shell reboot recovery_2" in many roms including Newbe5's Modded Stock rom 1.10 just causes a full re-boot. It works with HoneyIce Chimera Updated, but only with "platform-2" (at least on my POW Modii.). Also, the re-callibration tool does not resolve a totally un-responsive touchscreen fro me and a few other aflickted members. There does not seem to be any cure for a touchscreen, which for some reason has lost all touch response!

  • 0

#34
richardmlea

richardmlea

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, England
  • Interests:Technology, science, movies, motorcycles, classic volkswagons, paintball, skiing to name a few of my interests.
  • Devices:P10AN01, TF201, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@richard lea
hi mikhail, sorry for not replying to your pm before now, I have been away for the last week.
have you managed to get a firmware version from you touchscreen and the tputility?
the tputility.apk wont do anything if the firmware on the touchscreen controller is corrupt.
If the firmware is showing as 99.4.8.0 then the firmware is corrupt and the controller is probably done for.
I only know 2 ways to get new firmware onto the the touchscreens but both ways fail if you have 99.4.8.0 showing in the tputility.
The first way teo update the firmware is with the tputility and the firmware and config files. I have these files (extracted for a viewsonic rom). To use the firmware put the fw and config files in the root of a formated sd card on put it in the vega. then use the tputility apk and select fw upgrade to execute the update. If it works it take about 2 minutes to complete. the charger needs to be plugged in for the update to work. dont touch the screen or be temped to reset it because you think its crashed.
The other way is to install viewsonic's stock rom (version 1.09) and go through the setup and then install the viewsonic rom, version 1.11 this has a touchscreen update at first boot that will update the touchscreen if needed. if it fails to work you will see te message tp upgrade for a split second just before selecting the language, blink and you will miss it. If the upgrade works you will see the tp upgrade message of about 2 minutes.
make sure the battery is charged and plugged in or the update will fail. And dont touch the screen during the update, infact if it looks like its working dont touch anything and try to hold your breath.
I honestly dont think this will help if you have 99. firmware showing. I have tried these methods over and over on several screen that show this firmware and it failed on them all.
Infact I have seen the tp firmware upgrade fail a couple of times (on screens that where temperemental before attempting the update) so its not a good idea to try the tp upgrade unless you have no option. That is why i havent posted the firmware and config fies I have publicly and have only given it to people who have asked for it as a last resort. It could potentially cause havok in the wild and break more screens than it would fix.
That said if anyone wants the firmware files just ask.

  • 0
Richard Lea
[email protected]
Replacement Tablet Screens UK
I offer a friendly, UK Advent Vega repair service for hardware problems. Just PM or email me your requirements.
Replacement Touchscreens, LCD's and repair service for most Tablets.

#35
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii

hi mikhail, sorry for not replying to your pm before now, I have been away for the last week.
have you managed to get a firmware version from you touchscreen and the tputility?
the tputility.apk wont do anything if the firmware on the touchscreen controller is corrupt.
If the firmware is showing as 99.4.8.0 then the firmware is corrupt and the controller is probably done for.
I only know 2 ways to get new firmware onto the the touchscreens but both ways fail if you have 99.4.8.0 showing in the tputility.
The first way teo update the firmware is with the tputility and the firmware and config files. I have these files (extracted for a viewsonic rom). To use the firmware put the fw and config files in the root of a formated sd card on put it in the vega. then use the tputility apk and select fw upgrade to execute the update. If it works it take about 2 minutes to complete. the charger needs to be plugged in for the update to work. dont touch the screen or be temped to reset it because you think its crashed.
The other way is to install viewsonic's stock rom (version 1.09) and go through the setup and then install the viewsonic rom, version 1.11 this has a touchscreen update at first boot that will update the touchscreen if needed. if it fails to work you will see te message tp upgrade for a split second just before selecting the language, blink and you will miss it. If the upgrade works you will see the tp upgrade message of about 2 minutes.
make sure the battery is charged and plugged in or the update will fail. And dont touch the screen during the update, infact if it looks like its working dont touch anything and try to hold your breath.
I honestly dont think this will help if you have 99. firmware showing. I have tried these methods over and over on several screen that show this firmware and it failed on them all.
Infact I have seen the tp firmware upgrade fail a couple of times (on screens that where temperemental before attempting the update) so its not a good idea to try the tp upgrade unless you have no option. That is why i havent posted the firmware and config fies I have publicly and have only given it to people who have asked for it as a last resort. It could potentially cause havok in the wild and break more screens than it would fix.
That said if anyone wants the firmware files just ask.


Thank you for replying, Richard. How do I check my firmware - whether it is 99 or something else? With the tputility.apk?

  • 0

#36
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii

Infact I have seen the tp firmware upgrade fail a couple of times (on screens that where temperemental before attempting the update) so its not a good idea to try the tp upgrade unless you have no option. That is why i havent posted the firmware and config fies I have publicly and have only given it to people who have asked for it as a last resort. It could potentially cause havok in the wild and break more screens than it would fix.
That said if anyone wants the firmware files just ask.


Hi, Richard,

My screen is not temperamental - it is totally unresponsive to touch. So I would like the firmware and confir files, please. My e-mail address is [email protected]
Thank you in advance!

  • 0

#37
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii

The vega needs to be in usb host mode for the mouse to work.
Turn off the vega by holding the power button for 8 seconds to make sure its off, then breifly press the power button while holding down the back button, hold the back button until the vega fully is booted. you are now in host mode and the mouse should work.


Richard, every time I try putting a rom into host mode this way, it just goes into nvflash mode. The only rom this appears to work on is Newbe5's old Vegacomb 1.7!

  • 0

#38
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii

Hi there - thanks for the post. Can you edit your original post slightly - for recovery mode AFAIK you have to have your charger plugged in to allow you to get recovery. Also it is useful to be plugged into your PC before starting as you will hear the chime as the Vega in recovery mode is detected.

Keep up the good work.


If you do not happen to have the power supply at hand and need to put your tablet into nvfalsh recovery mode you always can. First long press the Power button. As soon as the screen lights up signifying it is botting up, press and hold down the Power button for 6 - 8 seconds to abort the boot. Now immediately hold down the Back button and press the POwer button for 1 - 2 seconds. Assuming you are connected to your PC via the USB cable you will hear the connection sound, confirming you are connected in nvflash recovery mode.

  • 0

#39
MikhailM

MikhailM

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, POV Mobii
After trying to sort out my totally unresponsive touchscreen on the POV Mobii for over two weeks and having tried every re-calibration tool and utility available, P10 Test rom, updated POV Mobii rom, updated Viewsonic rom and the firmware update and configuration files kindly provided by Richard Lea I have finally accepted defeat and handed back my POV Mobii tablet back to the supplier and got a full re-fund (he did not have any untis to replace).

Richard Lea is right (as I was sure he would be) that if your have the 99 firmware, it is corrupted and can not be either re-calibrated or updated. Sad, but true. Therefore, if your tablet is in warranty, get it replaced or re-funded. If it is out of warrantly, get the touchscreen replaced by the kind man, who offers this service.

Edited by MikhailM, 31 May 2012 - 10:58 AM.

  • 0

#40
con500

con500

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
just a question about the touchscreen issues discussed here. Does the issue mostly occur after flashing a new Rom or is it something inherint within certain tabs with the .99 version fw?

Is there any particular Rom that seems to cause this, ie, does a rom actually change the screen fw version i have...I am running vegaics atm with no issues but would like to try Vcream2.1 but am slightly apprehensive in case I mess up the touch controller

So maybe the only pre warning we have is to check our FW version before flashing and as saying goes if it ain't broke...

is there a way to check what version I have from within vegaics, or must I go back to a stock rom?
when I look in >settings > about tablet there is nothing Listed reguarding the firmware

sorry for all the questions but thanx in advance to anyone who can help

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users