Technical Question

Guest mankian

Guest mankian

I am really trying to get my head around creation of filesystems. I want to be able to manage my partitions a little better, as most ROMs do a file-system conversion on installation. I prefer when switching ROMs to have a pure remove/re-make fresh.

Sort of similar to Diskpart in Windows. I want to clean, then re-create.

Now, the code I currently have, which I think does this is below. It should re-create /system /data and /cache as a completely clean EXT4 filesystems.

PLEASE correct me if I am wrong!! I am not a linux expert and I am guessing a bit!

ui_print("Formatting / Converting to EXT4");

ui_print("System Partition...");

run_program("/sbin/mke2fs", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p1");

show_progress(0.030000, 0);

run_program("/sbin/tune2fs", "-O", "extents,uninit_bg,dir_index", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p1");

run_program("/sbin/e2fsck", "-fpD", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p1");

run_program("/sbin/tune2fs", "-o", "journal_data_writeback", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p1");

ui_print("Cache Partition...");

unmount("/cache");

run_program("/sbin/mke2fs", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p2");

run_program("/sbin/tune2fs", "-O", "extents,uninit_bg,dir_index", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p2");

run_program("/sbin/e2fsck", "-fpD", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p2");

run_program("/sbin/tune2fs", "-o", "journal_data_writeback", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p2");

ui_print("Data Partition...");

run_program("/sbin/mke2fs", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8");

run_program("/sbin/tune2fs", "-O", "extents,uninit_bg,dir_index", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8");

run_program("/sbin/e2fsck", "-fpD", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8");

run_program("/sbin/tune2fs", "-o", "journal_data_writeback", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8");