Jump to content


Photo

Superboot - Galaxy Nexus root solution

* * * * * 1 votes

100 replies to this topic

#41
jmagee

jmagee

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4; Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@jay84uk
I ended up using PDAnet for drivers too as nothing else seemed to allow the phone to connect in bootloader. All rooted fine following Paul's methods.

  • 0

#42
masterpfa

masterpfa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Music, art, history, photography and traveling
    Not done much of any of these lately!
  • Devices:Nexus 5/One+ One/Tegra Note 7
  • Twitter:@masterpfa

I ended up using PDAnet for drivers too as nothing else seemed to allow the phone to connect in bootloader. All rooted fine following Paul's methods.

Do you have a link for the PDAnet drivers, I too am having difficulties in getting to connect my GN in bootloader mode

EDIT
Sorted, Google was my friend, PDAnet for PC was what I needed (I already installed the app on my phone). In my defence it was late at night and I had tried endless number of times before realising PDAnet was available for PC's too.

Edited by masterpfa, 29 November 2011 - 04:59 PM.

  • 0

LG Nexus 5 (32Gb Black)

One+ One (Sandstone 64Gb)
Advent Tegra Note 7

dropbox.png DropBox referal link
Click to get Dropbox and to get an extra free 250mb for us both


#43
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Superboot updated to r3, chmod fix and volumefix kernel used on superboot boot.

If you have superbooted previously, re-doing so with this release is recommended.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#44
inf

inf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sensation, Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@infz

Superboot updated to r3, chmod fix and volumefix kernel used on superboot boot.

If you have superbooted previously, re-doing so with this release is recommended.

P


Hi Paul,

Am I doing something wrong. I run the bat on top of my MCR rom on my phone, and now superuser Force Closes all the time?

  • 0

#45
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Apologies, 'Clear Data' on superuser to resolve.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#46
inf

inf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sensation, Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@infz

Apologies, 'Clear Data' on superuser to resolve.

P


No problem :) seemed to fix it.

  • 0

#47
Waka50

Waka50

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
May be some stupid questions:
It is recommended to apply rc3.

What are the benefit over rc2?
Do we have to apply it?
Are other fixes included with it or do we have to apply them sepparetely (ie: volume fix, rotation etc....)?
How do we do the "clear data" on superuser?

Again sorry if the questions above are stupid.

  • 0

#48
FatherD

FatherD

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Harrow
  • Devices:HTC One S, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@codeandchips
Unlocked the bootloader fine .. now just sitting on 'downloading 'boot.img' ...
What did I miss?

  • 0
If it ain't foke .. don't brix it!

#49
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Reboot bootloader and try again, also check MD5 of the download.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#50
FatherD

FatherD

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Harrow
  • Devices:HTC One S, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@codeandchips

Reboot bootloader and try again, also check MD5 of the download.

P


ok .. will do thanks :)

edit: Sorted! .. had to re-plug the device several times .. then it worked when I was about to give up :D

Edited by FatherD, 01 December 2011 - 09:52 PM.

  • 0
If it ain't foke .. don't brix it!

#51
Waka50

Waka50

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Could someone answer my questions please?

Can we apply r3 over r2 directly or do we need to perform some task prior applying r3?

Thanks

  • 0

#52
siedkins

siedkins

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Glaxy Nexus

Could someone answer my questions please?

Can we apply r3 over r2 directly or do we need to perform some task prior applying r3?

Thanks


Just apply r3 - it is fine if you have already applied r2 - it doesn't effect it.

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy Nexus GSM (Orange UK)
ROM - MCR JR 4.2.1 JOP40D (thanks to Paul)
Baseband - XXLH1
Kernel - franco.Kernel (nightly)
Rooted using Superboot r4 (thanks to Paul)

Retired:
HTC Desire - CM7.1 + tweaks

#53
m2te

m2te

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire; T-Mo Pulse Mini
My vibrate function seems to have stopped working after this. Maybe it happened as part of the bootloader unlocking, not sure.

Anyone else got the same problem?

  • 0

#54
micflan

micflan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@micflan
Running R3 in Linux and I get:

$ ./install-superboot-linux.sh
./install-superboot-linux.sh: line 2: ./fastboot-linux: No such file or directory

Running ./fastboot-linux directly gives me the same error. The file is definitely in the directory.


Anyone any ideas?

Edited by micflan, 03 December 2011 - 06:27 PM.

  • 0

#55
micflan

micflan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@micflan
Switched over to Windows and got the phone rooted. Thanks!

I had to install the the PDANet software to install the usb-drivers before it got past the "Waiting for device" screen though, as jmagee pointed out. You can download PDANet here.

Edited by micflan, 03 December 2011 - 08:09 PM.

  • 0

#56
Phylum

Phylum

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
I've had my phone for all of 3 days but I've got quite a bit configured & setup. Is there anyway to backup my apps, settings etc without root?

  • 0

#57
siedkins

siedkins

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Glaxy Nexus

I've had my phone for all of 3 days but I've got quite a bit configured & setup. Is there anyway to backup my apps, settings etc without root?


Rooting does not wipe your phone but unlocking the bootloader does - have you not unlocked yet? If you have then rooting will not remove you data.

To back up data requires root I think. You can back up SMS via one of many apps from the market. What data are you trying to keep?

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy Nexus GSM (Orange UK)
ROM - MCR JR 4.2.1 JOP40D (thanks to Paul)
Baseband - XXLH1
Kernel - franco.Kernel (nightly)
Rooted using Superboot r4 (thanks to Paul)

Retired:
HTC Desire - CM7.1 + tweaks

#58
bushbrother

bushbrother

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Rooting does not wipe your phone but unlocking the bootloader does - have you not unlocked yet? If you have then rooting will not remove you data.

To back up data requires root I think. You can back up SMS via one of many apps from the market. What data are you trying to keep?


:( I was looking for an answer to this question ... I was hoping there was some way to do this without wiping my phone. Will it always be this way or is there a possibility of unlocking bootloader without wipe in the future?

Another question - is unlocking of the bootloader "supported" by Samsung? or am I voiding warranty?

  • 0

#59
EddyOS

EddyOS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, Merseyside
  • Devices:Google Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@dj_e1d
This may be a silly question but I've just got my GN and whereas using an HTC device is childs play using a Samsung device is completely new. If I'm going to flash a new ROM as soon as I've unlocked the phone so is using this Superboot needed? I don't care about just rooting the stock ROM and seeing as custom ROMs come with a boot.img anyway I assume I'm good to go?

  • 0
Google Nexus 4 (LG-E960)
ROM: Android 4.3 (JWR66V)
Bootloader: MAKOZ20i
Recovery: Stock
Radio: 2.0.1700.84
Kernel: Stock

#60
inf

inf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sensation, Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@infz

This may be a silly question but I've just got my GN and whereas using an HTC device is childs play using a Samsung device is completely new. If I'm going to flash a new ROM as soon as I've unlocked the phone so is using this Superboot needed? I don't care about just rooting the stock ROM and seeing as custom ROMs come with a boot.img anyway I assume I'm good to go?


Yep, you don't need the superboot. Just unlock the bootloader, flash the revocery and after that flash a rom.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users