Jump to content


Photo

Tutorial - Get your MAC Address if you already unlocked - NOW UP!

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
255 replies to this topic

#1
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Hey everyone. This is a tutorial to permanently restore you're MAC address and fix the annoying popup when enabling WiFi.

THIS IS ONLY FOR PEOPLE ALREADY UNLOCKED BEFORE THIS FIX WAS DISCOVERED. IF YOU HAVEN'T UNLOCKED GO HERE.

Thanks to glossywhite and John W for figuring this out
!

I CAN'T TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR BRICKS ETC. BUT I WILL TRY MY BEST TO HELP YOU

You need to have stock recovery at the start of this tutorial. You can do it in the same way as you unlocked
  • You should already have QPST installed
  • Download a Hex Editor for Windows - anyone is fine - Google "Hex Editor" and install it
  • Put your phone into FTM mode - the same way as for unlocking
  • Go to your start menu, QPST and then run Software Download
  • Go to "Backup" tab and backup your nvitems
  • Open your hex editor and open the *.qcn file that you saved with QPST
  • Search for "11 22 33 44 55 66" with your hex editor
  • Replace this with the MAC address you wrote down when you unlocked.
  • Save the file
  • Go back to "Software Download" and go to restore and choose to restore the saved *.qcn
You now have sorted the MAC address problem!

If you're stuck on the editing bit have a look at this video made by Glossywhite:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n89J4nSENgw

  • 13
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#2
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts

COMING SOON


Nice one, son!

Edited by glossywhite, 13 November 2011 - 02:38 PM.

  • 1

#3
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Put this in your guide if you like:


Thanks. Have done :)

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#4
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts
I'm not sure about other folks here, but my WiFi MAC address is *very* similar to my bluetooth MAC address. Only a couple of hex pairs differentiate the two. Maybe we can work out how to calculate the original WiFi MAC address value, based on the bluetooth MAC address...

It would seem the last two hex pairs of the WiFi MAC are incremented by +1 each. See attached photo of my OMC. Can anyone else confirm?

Attached Files


Edited by glossywhite, 13 November 2011 - 03:21 PM.

  • 1

#5
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer
Oh dear... I can't get my phone back into FTM mode :blink:

When I plug the cable in (batt out), the phone vibes then green man, vibes again then green man over and over... :(

  • 0

#6
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

I'm not sure about other folks here, but my WiFi MAC address is *very* similar to my bluetooth MAC address. Only a couple of hex pairs differentiate the two. Maybe we can work out how to calculate the original WiFi MAC address value, based on the bluetooth MAC address...


I think wifi and bluetooth are plus or minus 1 in hex - same for me.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#7
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Oh dear... I can't get my phone back into FTM mode :blink:

When I plug the cable in (batt out), the phone vibes then green man, vibes again then green man over and over... :(


Have you installed stock recovery?

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#8
D3abL3

D3abL3

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Trofa, Porto, Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, "virgin" SGS
  • Twitter:@D3abL3

I'm not sure about other folks here, but my WiFi MAC address is *very* similar to my bluetooth MAC address. Only a couple of hex pairs differentiate the two. Maybe we can work out how to calculate the original WiFi MAC address value, based on the bluetooth MAC address...


My addressess:
Wifi-> B4:B3:62:DF:45:01
BT-> B4:B3:62:D7:EE:3C

I tried to calculate 'em but couldn't see any connection :/

Edited by D3abL3, 13 November 2011 - 03:35 PM.

  • 0

Did I help? Hit me a Posted Image Posted Image

Vote here please! :)

ADB Made Easy

Posted Image


#9
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts

Oh dear... I can't get my phone back into FTM mode :blink:

When I plug the cable in (batt out), the phone vibes then green man, vibes again then green man over and over... :(


I used battery IN, power down, then hold Vol Down whilst pressing power. FTM mode comes up that way for me.

  • 0

#10
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer

Have you installed stock recovery?


:blush:

  • 0

#11
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

:blush:


That make sense lol. No worries - easy mistake to make :)

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#12
xiaoyaoswim

xiaoyaoswim

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Very prompt mate! thumb up

  • 0

#13
xiaoyaoswim

xiaoyaoswim

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

I'm not sure about other folks here, but my WiFi MAC address is *very* similar to my bluetooth MAC address. Only a couple of hex pairs differentiate the two. Maybe we can work out how to calculate the original WiFi MAC address value, based on the bluetooth MAC address...

It would seem the last two hex pairs of the WiFi MAC are incremented by +1 each. See attached photo of my OMC. Can anyone else confirm?


Interesting finding.
Anyway WLAN MAC is far more less important than IMEI etc, since it was only used in a local area network (LAN). Personally I'm not bother to keep the original MAC. Just a random one i like will doPosted Image

  • 0

#14
Andymac1969

Andymac1969

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Anglia
  • Devices:LG G2, Moto G
Just running through this guide, I have connected the phone in FTM mode, run the QPST software download, but when I go to backup, I click browse and there is a folder called NV backup with a padlock on it, and it will not let me select it? am a I doing something wrong?

Cheers

Andrew

  • 0

#15
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Just running through this guide, I have connected the phone in FTM mode, run the QPST software download, but when I go to backup, I click browse and there is a folder called NV backup with a padlock on it, and it will not let me select it? am a I doing something wrong?

Cheers

Andrew

Just save the file in your my documents.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#16
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,637 posts
Windows hex editor, use HxD. http://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/ :D

  • 0

#17
Andymac1969

Andymac1969

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Anglia
  • Devices:LG G2, Moto G

Just save the file in your my documents.


Sorry mate, what file? When in the QPST, I click browse and there is a folder, I cannot select it, but there are loads of other files, which one do I select to backup?

Thanks, sorry for being a halfwit

Andrew


  • 0

#18
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Trying to install QPST on my windows 7,but I get error:

C:\Programs Files\Qualcomm\QPST\bin\PhoneModelLib.dll failed to register HRESULT-2147010895 :blink:

Any one know what causing that ?

Edited by jikobutsu, 13 November 2011 - 05:33 PM.

  • 0

#19
Andymac1969

Andymac1969

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Anglia
  • Devices:LG G2, Moto G

Trying to install QPST on my windows 7,but I get error:

C:\Programs Files\Qualcomm\QPST\bin\PhoneModelLib.dll failed to register HRESULT-2147010895 :blink:

Any one know what causing that ?


Run the Setup, not the windows installer, I got the same error the first time

Andrew

  • 0

#20
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Just running through this guide, I have connected the phone in FTM mode, run the QPST software download, but when I go to backup, I click browse and there is a folder called NV backup with a padlock on it, and it will not let me select it? am a I doing something wrong?

Cheers

Andrew


OK. Browser to your my documents and type "Backup" in the file textbox and click OK

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users