Jump to content


Photo

My Tutorial For Unlocking The OMC

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo
Here's the link: http://www.todoleo.c...-carlo-zte.html

I tried to make it as newbie friendly as possible. Please leave me feedback or let me know how you got on if you do use it. Thanks!

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#2
dibbles

dibbles

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth, for now
  • Interests:Life and family :)
  • Devices:Moto G Excite Pro Nexus 7
Nice work. If I can make a point or two...

Between steps 5 and 6 - this might be a problem for some people as you do not mention anything about drivers. Some seem to get them installed via Windows Update and some don't. They need to see within device manager that they have the ADB Interface listed in it. along with the phone noted as a composite ADB interface.
Also they must be aware if they have a firewall installed to allow the software being used to access the phone.

Step 10 - for me the software did not identify a port and so it was not there to select. I had to right click on the globe icon in the system tray and launch the config settings which allowed me to add the port, which I took note from what the phone had been assigned within the device manager.

You advise people not to close the QPST software, I have seen it noted that the unlocking software will not work for some unless it is closed, as it seems to lock the port to itself and thus the unlocking software can't communicate with the phone. There is no problem with closing it as you just need to start it back up and then restore your qcn file. Maybe it does not happen that way in all circumstances but again of people are aware then they are not pulling their hair out unsure of what to do.

Well done again :)

  • 0

#3
D3abL3

D3abL3

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Trofa, Porto, Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, "virgin" SGS
  • Twitter:@D3abL3
And another thing, this isn't lalit's work...

All credit for the unlocking goes to xiaoxyaoswim.

  • 0

Did I help? Hit me a Posted Image Posted Image

Vote here please! :)

ADB Made Easy

Posted Image


#4
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo

Nice work. If I can make a point or two...

Between steps 5 and 6 - this might be a problem for some people as you do not mention anything about drivers. Some seem to get them installed via Windows Update and some don't. They need to see within device manager that they have the ADB Interface listed in it. along with the phone noted as a composite ADB interface.
Also they must be aware if they have a firewall installed to allow the software being used to access the phone.

Step 10 - for me the software did not identify a port and so it was not there to select. I had to right click on the globe icon in the system tray and launch the config settings which allowed me to add the port, which I took note from what the phone had been assigned within the device manager.

You advise people not to close the QPST software, I have seen it noted that the unlocking software will not work for some unless it is closed, as it seems to lock the port to itself and thus the unlocking software can't communicate with the phone. There is no problem with closing it as you just need to start it back up and then restore your qcn file. Maybe it does not happen that way in all circumstances but again of people are aware then they are not pulling their hair out unsure of what to do.

Well done again :)


Thanks, I'll fix this later today!

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#5
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo

And another thing, this isn't lalit's work...

All credit for the unlocking goes to xiaoxyaoswim.


Noted! I shall rectify this on the thread and the blog.

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#6
xiaoyaoswim

xiaoyaoswim

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

And another thing, this isn't lalit's work...

All credit for the unlocking goes to xiaoxyaoswim.


Thanks mate. But... you misspelled my id againPosted Image

  • 0

#7
D3abL3

D3abL3

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Trofa, Porto, Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, "virgin" SGS
  • Twitter:@D3abL3

Thanks mate. But... you misspelled my id againPosted Image


Oh hell no... Again <_<
Sorry...

  • 0

Did I help? Hit me a Posted Image Posted Image

Vote here please! :)

ADB Made Easy

Posted Image


#8
xiaoyaoswim

xiaoyaoswim

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Oh hell no... Again <_<
Sorry...


No problem, I know it's long and difficultPosted Image

  • 0

#9
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig
I followed this guide while referencing the sticky and now my wifi doesn't work and my Mac address is 112233445566 how do I fix it?

EDIT: Re-flashing the QCN file fixed the issue! ;)

Edited by Atomix86, 08 December 2011 - 04:08 PM.

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#10
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo

I followed this guide while referencing the sticky and now my wifi doesn't work and my Mac address is 112233445566 how do I fix it?


This is the MAC address fix thread: http://android.modac...nlocked-now-up/

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#11
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig

This is the MAC address fix thread: http://android.modac...nlocked-now-up/


Cheers, but it turns out it was a minor flashing issue with the QCN file, so I simply re-flashed and bada-bing, it worked :D.

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#12
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo

Cheers, but it turns out it was a minor flashing issue with the QCN file, so I simply re-flashed and bada-bing, it worked :D.


I'm glad it worked out for you! Enjoy the added freedom!

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#13
murf95

murf95

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:orange san fransisco
Are there any plans in the pipeline to unlock the OMC, rooting and adding a custom with instructions only using the phone and without a pc?



Thanks Murf95

  • 0

#14
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo

Are there any plans in the pipeline to unlock the OMC, rooting and adding a custom with instructions only using the phone and without a pc?



Thanks Murf95


As much as I would love that to be possible, I have a feeling it will be very difficult. The process involves wiping data from the chipset and then restoring part of it.

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#15
Joey Scarf

Joey Scarf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
Thanks for the easy tutorial, but
What do i need to have done before i start this guide, e.g. rooting and installing other stuff

If there is stuff you should say at the start of the guide.

  • 0

#16
todoleo

todoleo

    Geek at heart, Tech Support Monkey and feeder of Wobbles (@fatol

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus / Lumia 710
  • Twitter:@Todoleo
With this method of unlocking the OMC / ZTE Skate there shojld be no need to root beforehand. I applied the tutorial step by step to a brand new OMC straight out of ghe box. An elderly relative of mine is now rocking an OMC with a simplified Cyanogen inatall...

  • 0
Twitter: @Todoleo
Identi.ca: @Todoleo

Blog: Todoleo.com

#17
Joey Scarf

Joey Scarf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo

With this method of unlocking the OMC / ZTE Skate there shojld be no need to root beforehand. I applied the tutorial step by step to a brand new OMC straight out of ghe box. An elderly relative of mine is now rocking an OMC with a simplified Cyanogen inatall...


I've already rooted my phone so ports are working but and i have updated my drivers
my computer isn't recognising my phone when it put it into FTM mode in step 8

also qpst keeps giving me error messages

Anyone's help would be appreciated

Edited by Joey Scarf, 15 December 2011 - 12:35 AM.

  • 0

#18
Joey Scarf

Joey Scarf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
I have tried to start the unlock but in qpst software download it says no phone found

i have rooted and downloaded and installed the drivers, i also tried the configuration and i finds COM8 but it doesn't help.

I also get error pop ups when opening the qpst

any ideas

Edited by Joey Scarf, 15 December 2011 - 06:59 PM.

  • 0

#19
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(
I added your tutorial to the links in my Rooting for beginners FAQ in my signature.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#20
murf95

murf95

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:orange san fransisco
Does anyone know if the Orange Monte Carlo can be rooted using Z4 Root?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users