Jump to content


Photo

Skype/Flash on TMV

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
flyingalan

flyingalan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Vivacity
As complete new stranger to Android phones, I am using a T Mobile Vivacity and have downloaded and installed Skype.
Despite Skype website saying Android version now supported video, on my Vivacity it seems video is not supported despite it having a front facing camera.
Can this really be true, if so what is point of fitting front facing camera to the phone ?
Is their any fix/solution (or likely to be) ?
Have searched web but cannot find any help.
Sorry if this seems dumb question but am suprised a latest phone with 2.3 did not fully support Skype out of the box.

It also seems that flash support for iPlayer is not present.
If I try to install Flash from Adobe site , it says device not supported.
Why would new phone with Android 2.3 not support flash and iPlayer ?
Have managed messy fix by using Skyfire browser with video upgrade but not really a nice solution.
Anyone know how to get correct flash support onto this phone.
I did seem to manage to download and install Flash 10.3 from a website but iPlayer still says no flash player installed despite it showing present in apps list.

Thanks for any help/advice to noobie.

  • 0

#2
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
Try downloading/installing Google+ and then make/join a hangout, I think that's more what it was designed for but you're right, Skype should really work with it, just blame them, maybe they're only supporting HTC, Samsung, etc

  • 0

#3
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Get Flash 10.2 for ARM6 here;

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1303168
or read here;
http://android.modac...e-sanfrancisco/


Search around XDA Developers where you will also find BBC iPlayer for ARM6. 

Edited by snowbord, 08 December 2011 - 02:35 PM.

  • 0

#4
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
iPlayer;

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1243731
You may need to find a 3G activated version as this one may only work over WiFi. Do post your findings here.


Edited by snowbord, 08 December 2011 - 02:38 PM.

  • 0

#5
flyingalan

flyingalan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Vivacity

iPlayer;

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1243731
You may need to find a 3G activated version as this one may only work over WiFi. Do post your findings here.



Thanks to both for trying to help.
I am using wifi anyway.
I have downloaded and installed manually flash 10.2 and 10.3 from web site given.
They each showed installed, I tested from Adobe web site and it said flash 10.3 installed on my device so seems install was ok but still iPlayer tells me I need flash.
Have tried rebooting and removing/replacing battery, still the same.

Using the iPlayer app sugested seemed to install OK but when I try to play something I just get a black screen where picture should be.
Too bad, this seemed a nice phone for price but strange it does not seem to support popular uk apps like iPlayer and Skype correctly.
Guess I will give up and return for credit.
thanks for all help
Alan

Edited by flyingalan, 09 December 2011 - 03:01 PM.

  • 0

#6
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts
No Skype? Are you serious? LOL!

:lol:

No thanks. I'm so happy I steered clear.

  • 0

#7
unrandomsam

unrandomsam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:Xperia Play / Xoom / ZTE Blade

No Skype? Are you serious? LOL!

:lol:

No thanks. I'm so happy I steered clear.


There is no reason to use skype unless its on the 3 network (or its free)

Otherwise might as well just use sip or Google talk.

  • 1

#8
JohnnyZTE

JohnnyZTE

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newry, Northern Ireland
  • Devices:San Francisco II

There is no reason to use skype unless its on the 3 network (or its free)

Otherwise might as well just use sip or Google talk.


For those interested I have stumbled upon a fix for the speakerphone issue that skype has, meaning yo cannot turn off speakerphone. use the link below and enjoy it works for me. Posted Image

https://rapidshare.c...586954103D2|0|0

Still no video but at least you have privacy.

Edited by JohnnyZTE, 29 February 2012 - 06:02 PM.

  • 0
N97 lost interest after Nokia did
3 x San Francisco II in this household all on Fish & Chips

#9
Russ_uk

Russ_uk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK & US
  • Devices:Huawei G300 & ZTE Crescent

For those interested I have stumbled upon a fix for the speakerphone issue that skype has, meaning yo cannot turn off speakerphone. use the link below and enjoy it works for me. Posted Image

https://rapidshare.c...586954103D2|0|0

Still no video but at least you have privacy.

Been looking for a fix for that, many thanks

  • 1
"Water which is too pure has no fish" - Ts'ai Ken T'an

#10
JohnnyZTE

JohnnyZTE

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newry, Northern Ireland
  • Devices:San Francisco II

Been looking for a fix for that, many thanks


You are welcome. Posted Image

  • 0
N97 lost interest after Nokia did
3 x San Francisco II in this household all on Fish & Chips

#11
confu

confu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:OSF II
  • Twitter:@n/a
i PLayer Flashplayer

It has taken me a little while to get the right combination of flashplayer and i Player, but it does work quite well on the home wifi, with my OSFII. I suspect results will depend on how close you are to a reliable connection as it cuts out if I wander to far from the router. I used adobe 10.2.157.340 and the iplayer download from the rapidshare link. I am still struggling to get webcams to play. It tells me I need to install adobe flash; it must mean a version which is compatible. Oh well. I wish there was a little more cooperation between these folks. It's only rocket science.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users