Jump to content


Photo

[Recovery] ClockworkMod Recovery 5.0.2.7

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
Hi guys,

I compiled the latest ClockworkMod Recovery 5.0.2.7 for the Blade2. I've tested it and it works fine for me but your mileage may vary.

Download: recovery-clockwork-5.0.2.7-blade2.img 3.54 MB

This was built during my CM7 development so I thought I'd share it with people since it does work.

One very important note! Backups created with the older recovery won't work with the new version and vis-versa since the developer has switched to a tar based recovery. This should result in a better & safer backup and restore with smaller sizes than before.

Flash this exactly the same way Sebastian404 mentions using fastboot.

Changelog:
5.0.0.1 through 5.0.1.0
  • Backups now use tar over yaffs for everything except mtd partitions. Backup speed improved.
  • Backups now preserve the filesystem type at time of backup. Restores will restore the appropriate filesystem type.
  • New color scheme
  • Status bar when backing up working again
  • Backing up of .android_secure working again
5.0.2.0
  • Bug-fix: root no longer lost on rom restore

Unable to find a changelog for 5.0.2.7 right now

(Sebastian404: If you want me to remove this let me know)

  • 1

#2
ROMZERO

ROMZERO

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Interests:Tech and that
  • Devices:Galaxy S2 ICS, Skate
got it done thx! l.

Hi guys,

I compiled the latest ClockworkMod Recovery 5.0.2.7 for the Blade2. I've tested it and it works fine for me but your mileage may vary.

Download: recovery-clockwork-5.0.2.7-blade2.img 3.54 MB

This was built during my CM7 development so I thought I'd share it with people since it does work.

One very important note! Backups created with the older recovery won't work with the new version and vis-versa since the developer has switched to a tar based recovery. This should result in a better & safer backup and restore with smaller sizes than before.

Flash this exactly the same way Sebastian404 mentions using fastboot.

Changelog:
5.0.0.1 through 5.0.1.0

  • Backups now use tar over yaffs for everything except mtd partitions. Backup speed improved.
  • Backups now preserve the filesystem type at time of backup. Restores will restore the appropriate filesystem type.
  • New color scheme
  • Status bar when backing up working again
  • Backing up of .android_secure working again
5.0.2.0
  • Bug-fix: root no longer lost on rom restore

Unable to find a changelog for 5.0.2.7 right now

(Sebastian404: If you want me to remove this let me know)


Edited by ROMZERO, 11 December 2011 - 11:33 PM.

  • 1

#3
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
Nice,

I have avoided going past 4.0.1.5 since I have some issues with the direction Koush has taken with clockwork mod's development.. withholding the source for a number of weeks was one of them.

I sometimes feel the need to write a blog post about it, but then I remember I'm not an emo teenager on live journal ;)

  • 2

#4
unrandomsam

unrandomsam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:Xperia Play / Xoom / ZTE Blade
As long as these conditions are met any recovery is ok :

a) base address set properly (i.e so you can do fastboot boot recovery.img)
B) usb storage working from the menu's (pita to work out how to it manually each time).
c) adb working (first time whether from adb reboot recovery or cold boot - all circumstances).

Really given the choice of only one of a recovery or fastboot (Without the limits on size i.e SE's fastboot) I would take fastboot every time.

  • 0

#5
ejhollin

ejhollin

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:San Francisco (ZTE Blade)

Hi guys,

I compiled the latest ClockworkMod Recovery 5.0.2.7 for the Blade2. I've tested it and it works fine for me but your mileage may vary.


Hi flibblesan,

Does this backup the ext partition okay? I think some that Sebastian404 didn't have a hand in wouldn't work.

cheers

  • 0

#6
iharrybao

iharrybao

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE vivacity
  • Twitter:@iharrybao
waht does mileage may vary mean?
I don't understand...

  • 0
Sorry, I'm Chinese....

#7
Reider59

Reider59

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts

waht does mileage may vary mean?
I don't understand...


Roughly speaking its like you want the same car as him, he gets 50mpg and all works well just for him. But you might not because you drive differently. In this case we're talking about phones so it works well for him but you might use it differently so it might not work so well for you. So using the cars example your milage may vary, it may work for some and probably will for others but its not guaranteed. Then again nothing in this life is.....

Edited by Reider59, 03 April 2012 - 03:23 PM.

  • 0
*** Just remember, any ROM change, Kernel change or any other type of change you do is at your own risk. Someone helping you is not responsible for any risks you decide to take. It works for many but their are situations, events and errors outside of the control of a third party that may cause a bricked phone. Think before you start. I took the chance and thankfully it worked for me. Had it not then only I would have been to blame. ***

#8
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
It basically means it worked fine for him but he's not guaranteeing you'll have the same experience.

  • 0

#9
domenico lamberti

domenico lamberti

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hastings
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent,HTC Explorer
  • Twitter:@Mobile_Dom
Any word on CWM Touch recovery? that would be pretty cool

  • 0

#10
dodgetimmy

dodgetimmy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Sussex, UK.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, HTC Desire
Just thought id add that using this CWM means that USB mounting or adb/fastboot stops working for me. Using the version provided in most rom guides (v4) i do not have this problem

  • 0

#11
BLu3HaZe

BLu3HaZe

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sri Lanka
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent - SFII (Synaptic)
Hi guys,

As a few people have recently had issues in manually installing CWM after installing TWRP recovery etc., I thought it'd be easier if I upload the automated files and link them here. All credits go to flibblesan, Sebastian404, Koush, Google, ZTE and sanfranciscoandroid,co,uk for the files. This is only for Windows.

Two versions are there, first if you're able to boot into Android and enable USB Debugging.
1. Download and extract http://www.mediafire...8rlo4u9eeb1dp6v
2. Check whether USB debug is enabled on phone and drivers installed in Windows
3. Double click clockinstall.bat
4. Phone will reboot into green andy, and CWM will be flashed
5. Phone will reboot back to Android as usual

Second version, if you're not able to boot the phone in any way but can access the bootloader.
1. Download and extract http://www.mediafire...t5pnne4cqxb5gsn
2. Connect the USB cable while in bootloader
3. Let Windows search in Update and locate proper drivers for "Android" (Should be installed then as Google Fastboot Interface or similar in Device Manager)
4. Double click clockinstall-bootloader.bat
5. CWM will be flashed and phone will reboot normally.


Sometimes ADB will not work with the driver that Windows downloads automatically, therefore to be sure it would work, this is the OEM driver from ZTE - http://www.mediafire...6bv2zidmbm26qam

Hope this helps someone! :)

Warning - Do NOT attempt to flash any of the zip files listed above, they are compressed for convenience of packaging the files together only

Edited by BLu3HaZe, 22 June 2012 - 02:57 PM.

  • 1

#12
dodgetimmy

dodgetimmy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Sussex, UK.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, HTC Desire

Hi guys,

As a few people have recently had issues in manually installing CWM after installing TWRP recovery etc., I thought it'd be easier if I upload the automated files and link them here. All credits go to flibblesan, Sebastian404, Koush, Google, ZTE and sanfranciscoandroid,co,uk for the files. This is only for Windows.

Two versions are there, first if you're able to boot into Android and enable USB Debugging.
1. Download and extract http://www.mediafire...8rlo4u9eeb1dp6v
2. Check whether USB debug is enabled on phone and drivers installed in Windows
3. Double click clockinstall.bat
4. Phone will reboot into green andy, and CWM will be flashed
5. Phone will reboot back to Android as usual

Second version, if you're not able to boot the phone in any way but can access the bootloader.
1. Download and extract http://www.mediafire...t5pnne4cqxb5gsn
2. Connect the USB cable while in bootloader
3. Let Windows search in Update and locate proper drivers for "Android" (Should be installed then as Google Fastboot Interface or similar in Device Manager)
4. Double click clockinstall-bootloader.bat
5. CWM will be flashed and phone will reboot normally.


Sometimes ADB will not work with the driver that Windows downloads automatically, therefore to be sure it would work, this is the OEM driver from ZTE - http://www.mediafire...6bv2zidmbm26qam

Hope this helps someone! data:image/png;base64,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

Warning - Do NOT attempt to flash any of the zip files listed above, they are compressed for convenience of packaging the files together only


When I last installed CWM 5, when trying to mount the SD card the application gave an error and did not work. I doubt this is related to the driver used on the computer since it also errors when you mount the SD card when not connected to the USB cable.

  • 0

#13
andromaniac

andromaniac

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2
Is there a way of remotely restoring a nandroid backup (without using CWM)? If so, how? If not, can you completely wipe the internal mem. of the phone remotely?
(Cryptic, I know)

  • 0

#14
reedo_17

reedo_17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus4,Blade,CrescentY300MotoG
  • Twitter:@@Ollie_Reed17
what is the latest version of clockworkmod recovery available for the crescent?

  • 0

#15
Liamness

Liamness

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
  • Twitter:@liamness
This is the newest version which someone's made into a flashable zip on this forum. Don't really know why you'd want a more recent version, it's CWM, it does what it needs to do.

  • 0

#16
reedo_17

reedo_17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus4,Blade,CrescentY300MotoG
  • Twitter:@@Ollie_Reed17

This is the newest version which someone's made into a flashable zip on this forum. Don't really know why you'd want a more recent version, it's CWM, it does what it needs to do.


I was just looking at Dazzozo's Cwm for the G300 and these are the fixes that come with the latest 6.0.1.8 Cmw over the other CWM builds
  • Better backup options
  • ADB sideload
  • Charge mode
  • Mass storage (mounts both cards)
  • Symlink errors and issues with system mounts fixed (hard to prove something is truly gone, but not seen since a potential fix)

Edited by reedo_17, 19 November 2012 - 08:43 PM.

  • 0

#17
momist

momist

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Vivacity ICS
Works for me, and thanks fibblesan. Many thanks indeed.

I had been struggling for three days to get CWM back into my system, it got lost somehow when I flashed CM9.
Following the guide here (in WindowsXP!):
http://forum.xda-dev...=1608042&page=1
I came to the command
su
and got the response
permission denied

Well, the penny dropped then. I am running CyanogenMod9 IceCreamSandwich. Under Settings: Developer options: there is an entry "Root access". This was set to "Apps only" and that was the cause of my problems. I didn't have su rights to the system. Simply changed in there to "Apps and ADB" and suddenly everything works. Posted Image

Maybe this feature was added in ICS, and wasn't there in Gingerbread? Could be the reason others using CM9 have been having trouble.

One other observation. My first attempt at a backup, I selected the backup/restore and then pressed the power button (as in the earlier CWM) This just brought me to the RomManager logo. I later discovered that the software button DO work, and menu brought me back, Home selects the option. Maybe I need a user guide?

Thanks again!

Edited by momist, 13 February 2013 - 12:47 AM.

  • 0

#18
Typhus_

Typhus_

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisbon, Portugal
  • Devices:bq Aquaris 3.5; ZTE P736E

Hello!

 

Is it just me, or this recovery doesn't partition the SD Card?

 

I've tried to do it, it says it's done, but it's not.

 

Can anyone confirm me this, please?

 

----EDIT----

 

Forget it. It works.


Edited by Typhus_, 22 October 2013 - 11:24 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users