Jump to content


Photo

ZTE won't factory reset nor access FTM mode

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
honeypot62

honeypot62

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
Installed clockwork mod, but on recovery mode reboot just hangs at the green android (not progressing to the Recovery Manager application). Tried using both ROM Manager and Recovery Manager.


Problem is now as well as not being able to access FTM mode (won't go into FTM mode also) the ZTE Racer (gen 1, Three) won't factory reset either (goes through the motions but just hangs on the green android when it reboots not progressing to the unpacking box icon).

I'm a reflash newbie, but should be able to handle mostly any instructions if anyone can think of a way out of this one (was attempting to install a gingerbread ROM http://raceroms.co.u...5-cm7-nightlies).


Thanks,

  • 0

#2
ironzy

ironzy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:zte racer, blade
dont take this the wrong way but are you pressing down on the volume button as you power on?

  • 0

#3
honeypot62

honeypot62

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer

dont take this the wrong way but are you pressing down on the volume button as you power on?


battery out
back in
press & hold vol down button
power on

just hangs at the android logo (remove battery to reset)

Is this technically known as 'bricked'?






  • 0

#4
honeypot62

honeypot62

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
OK, back in FTM mode.

Found the fastboot exe linked to here http://dottech.org/t...-android-phone/ (does not seem to be included in the sdk nowadays ref. http://developer.and.../sdk/index.html, and adb would not recognise the Racer - could have messed around with installing the sdk drivers but didn't get round to this, e.g. , http://www.addictive...all-it-android/).

Booting the Racer with vol- down did not work (fastboot couldn't see it), but booting with vol+ and fastboot found a fastboot device.

The command to reflash:

>fastboot.exe flash recovery recovery.img

(image downloaded from http://raceroms.co.u....php/stock-roms)

Useful reference page here http://wiki.cyanogen...m/wiki/Fastboot




  • 0

#5
plegdroid

plegdroid

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,339 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:manchester
  • Interests:house music, science, technology ,history
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4 . PA. 4.4
morning ,have a read as will help

http://android.modac...orkMod-Recovery

http://android.modac...?/topic/346061-[Guide]-FastBoot-Recovery-For-Racer

two excellent guides by Racerboy
:)

Edited by plegdroid, 12 December 2011 - 12:02 PM.

  • 0
ⓐⓝⓓⓡⓞⓢⓘⓓⓔ ⓘⓢ ⓝⓞⓣ ⓐ ⓢⓘⓝ
4.2.2 -Test monkey.

#6
honeypot62

honeypot62

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
Not sure of the versions that I used initially, I had stuff hanging around from a while ago -- can't get ROM Manager to install at all at the moment, see this thread... http://android.modac...reflash-broken/

Update: OK, will have a read of the page later, cheers.

Edited by honeypot62, 12 December 2011 - 12:04 PM.

  • 0

#7
plegdroid

plegdroid

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,339 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:manchester
  • Interests:house music, science, technology ,history
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4 . PA. 4.4
don't use rom manager it will bugger your phone up, if you can't fix with the above 2 guides, there's only tpt reflashing which is an ar53 :)

Edited by plegdroid, 12 December 2011 - 12:08 PM.

  • 0
ⓐⓝⓓⓡⓞⓢⓘⓓⓔ ⓘⓢ ⓝⓞⓣ ⓐ ⓢⓘⓝ
4.2.2 -Test monkey.

#8
equiliym

equiliym

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Novi Sad
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
  • Twitter:@equiliym

don't use rom manager it will bugger your phone up, if you can't fix with the above 2 guides, there's only tpt reflashing which is an ar53 :)


^ this above.. rom manager will install cwm 5.0.2.7 or something that appears to be a gen2 but no one with gen2 confirmed it working so its most annoying thing ever, and you wont find any roms for racer on it since we dont upload ithem there
you should install cwm 4.0.1.4, from HERE and read the threads about installing it if you have any errors

  • 0
Suffering-oriented programming.. "First make it possible. Then make it beautiful. Then make it fast."
if i helped please press the vote up button :3

#9
honeypot62

honeypot62

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
OK, I can confirm 4.0.1.4 will vol- into recovery but not using Recovery Manager (nor the current ROM Manager which will not install throwing parser errors), but using fastboot:

fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-4.0.1.4-mooncake-gen1.img

The link to the fastboot download is above, but see also this thread http://android.modac..._1#entry1863799.


In recovery vol buttons and the call-control bar (silver bar at the base of the ZTE) control the menu - the left rocker selects, right is the back button.

Following the reflash instructions here http://android.modac...-racerboy-roms/...

And 15 mins later I seem to have a 2.3.7 Android up and running :))

Many thanks to all the coders and hackers, u know who u are >:-)

  • 0

#10
honeypot62

honeypot62

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
cyanogenmod RC0 seems to work OK also http://android.modac...-sources-ready/

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users