Jump to content


Photo

[ROM / 2.3.1] Stripped AndyPad Pro ROM 4 (January 18)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#21
Ben-IT

Ben-IT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:andypad
  • Twitter:@none

I think that's a kernel issue (methinks), I haven't been able to compile it myself yet though, but could change soon thanks to the Odys-dev guys.
The drivers for WLAN haven't changed since the stock beta releases from August, are you sure it worked before?


Updated my post, above.

This Will be very usefull feature to have....

Ben

  • 0

#22
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad
It seems that by moving to ext3 the permissions all got wrong and Superuser can't get root anymore, not sure why though.

  • 0

Posted Image



#23
phones4pete

phones4pete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

It seems that by moving to ext3 the permissions all got wrong and Superuser can't get root anymore, not sure why though.


I got super user working by using this it basically re roots again buy adding su and superuser but the permissions are set correctly make sure you have USB debugging on

http://mediafire.com/?8nvdyuu9a3i05x1

Thanks to csharpe for original link

Edited by phones4pete, 20 January 2012 - 09:16 AM.

  • 0

#24
djeffree

djeffree

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad Pro
Hmmm, I tried to update but the EraseIDB failed (Lower format failed) with the log entry below


18:17:31 697 Load Setting ok
18:17:31 741 RKAndroidTool v1.2.9.0 Start Run
18:17:36 086 INFO:Start to erase IDB
18:17:36 087 INFO:Start to lower format
18:17:36 090 ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestUnitReady failed,subCode(0xfd),Errcode(-1)
18:17:37 090 ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestUnitReady failed,subCode(0xfd),Errcode(-1)
18:17:38 090 ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestUnitReady failed,subCode(0xfd),Errcode(-1)
18:17:39 090 ERROR:Lower format failed
18:17:39 091 ERROR:EraseIDB-->GetFlashInfo failed
18:17:39 092 ERROR:Erasing IDB failed
18:17:41 564 Image Thread Path(\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_290A#5&273C525C&0&1#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed})

Any ideas please?

Thanks

Dave

  • 0

#25
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Hmmm, I tried to update but the EraseIDB failed (Lower format failed) with the log entry below


18:17:31 697 Load Setting ok
18:17:31 741 RKAndroidTool v1.2.9.0 Start Run
18:17:36 086 INFO:Start to erase IDB
18:17:36 087 INFO:Start to lower format
18:17:36 090 ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestUnitReady failed,subCode(0xfd),Errcode(-1)
18:17:37 090 ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestUnitReady failed,subCode(0xfd),Errcode(-1)
18:17:38 090 ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestUnitReady failed,subCode(0xfd),Errcode(-1)
18:17:39 090 ERROR:Lower format failed
18:17:39 091 ERROR:EraseIDB-->GetFlashInfo failed
18:17:39 092 ERROR:Erasing IDB failed
18:17:41 564 Image Thread Path(\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_290A#5&273C525C&0&1#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed})

Any ideas please?

Thanks

Dave


Try flashing a stock ROM with it first, then flash the stripped one over it :) I've had this a few times too. Their loader's extremely bad-crafted.

  • 0

Posted Image



#26
djeffree

djeffree

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad Pro
I'm unable to flash it with a stock ROM either..... annoying :angry2:

Edited by djeffree, 20 January 2012 - 10:27 PM.

  • 0

#27
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

I'm unable to flash it with a stock ROM either..... annoying :angry2:


Are you sure you have the correct drivers for it installed then? Try reinstalling them with the newer drivers included in the RKAndroidTool from Device Manager. If that doesn't work out, I'm sorry but I wouldn't have a clue :)

  • 0

Posted Image



#28
djeffree

djeffree

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad Pro
Got it, right click RKAndroidTool and runas Administrator (win 7)

Thanks for being there

Dave

  • 0

#29
Tricky103

Tricky103

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Exeter
  • Devices:GT-I9100 - Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@Tricky103
Hi..

Thank you for the rom's, I appreciate your hard work,

I bought my AndyPad 2nd hand off of @Samsamoon . I flashed your Beta 3 onto the pad, it cleared any errors I was getting when I got it, and it ran well for a couple of weeks. Then the other day it would not boot. I reflashed Beta 3, it formatted everything, but once I got back to my home screen I could connect to my WiFi but the internet pages will not load, I cannot sync an account.. I have now flashed Beta 4 and I am getting the same error.

I am an andypad noob, so any advise would be great.

I have clicked factory reset etc..

I guess I really need to go back to stock. Is it the same offsets that you use on v4??

-----------------------

Edit.
Not sure what fixed it.
Flashed many times... Stock rooted etc.. Couldn't get them to boot, all stuck at the 'Andy Pad_', guessing as file system is EXT3 now.
I flashed the v4 again and set a static IP and I have internet, :) kids will be happy again.

Thanks for the rom

Edited by Tricky103, 22 January 2012 - 01:41 AM.

  • 0

#30
Ben-IT

Ben-IT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:andypad
  • Twitter:@none
Hi Guys,

Any good news about ad-hoc connections on AndyPad?

Ben

  • 0

#31
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Hi Guys,

Any good news about ad-hoc connections on AndyPad?

Ben


It needs a patched wpa_supplicant binary for GB 2.3.1 :) haven't really had time for it anymore, really busy with work...

  • 0

Posted Image



#32
Astralix

Astralix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC DesireHD, Odys Loox
Hi Csharp :)

Just looking arond for someone who has enabled serial console on his/her Andypad (Pro) to check clock setup. Got it working for the Odys as you mentioned here.
So step by step a working kernel for RK29 based devices comes around. But without serial console access it's quite hard to detect any issue.

Reagrds
Astralix

  • 0

#33
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Hi Csharp :)

Just looking arond for someone who has enabled serial console on his/her Andypad (Pro) to check clock setup. Got it working for the Odys as you mentioned here.
So step by step a working kernel for RK29 based devices comes around. But without serial console access it's quite hard to detect any issue.

Reagrds
Astralix


I can use my PIC flasher (PICKit2) to debug serial, found it somewhere in my closet again ;) I'm just not sure where the ground & 2 data pins are on the T760 and AP. I'll see what I can do.

  • 0

Posted Image



#34
Tony_J

Tony_J

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad, HTC Desire S
Apologies if this is a dumb question, but does the #4 version support Flash? I attempted to download Flash from Android Market but the browser seems to crash when I visit a flash site.

Otherwise, very pleased with the improvements - thanks to the people that made it possible.

Regards,
Tony

  • 0

#35
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Apologies if this is a dumb question, but does the #4 version support Flash? I attempted to download Flash from Android Market but the browser seems to crash when I visit a flash site.

Otherwise, very pleased with the improvements - thanks to the people that made it possible.

Regards,
Tony


The version from Market isn't supported (blame the GPU drivers), but I've linked to a 10.4 install at the downloads, which will work (install trough 'adb install [apkname]' or just download it to your SD. Make sure you uninstall the previous one first.

Edited by Csharpe, 16 February 2012 - 04:46 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image



#36
Tony_J

Tony_J

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad, HTC Desire S

The version from Market isn't supported (blame the GPU drivers), but I've linked to a 10.4 install at the downloads, which will work (install trough 'adb install [apkname]' or just download it to your SD. Make sure you uninstall the previous one first.


Ah - OK thanks. I misread that as applying to the #3 version - my bad.

Regards,
Tony

  • 0

#37
docmarc

docmarc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Andypad Pro

Hey,

I stripped down one of the latest AndyPad Pro roms, and it works 10 times better than the one mine got shipped with (first release).
What this rooted rom contains:

V1:

  • Market (3.x)
  • Latest SuperUser/su binaries - rooted
  • Removed all useless libraries, fonts, libs, apps (only swiftkey is left)
  • Stripped down < 100mb
V2:
  • Uses newest Music.apk (supports Google Music) - has little font bug due to framework-res.apk
  • Removed more libraries and ringtones (image's now 95mb)
  • Market release from December 12
V3b:
  • Based on 2.06 bootloader (flashtool will still report 1.65)
  • Added hardware encoding for almost every format (no more software-decode on AVI, H264...) including streaming.
  • Removed omx and opencore libraries
  • Repartitioned mtd tables (now there's 440mb app-space!)
  • Removed SwiftKey (incompatible with newer GL and libraries - sorry)
  • Added patched ChainFire drivers (as an attempt to get Flash to work - still broken, but more games work now)
  • Removed proprietary software (for extended video playback, install mx video player from market, codecs' already included)
  • Smaller tweaks to boot procedure
  • Reduced filesize drastically (to 88mb)
V4
  • Converted images to ext3 & fixed the rootfs ro flags in init.rc (fully rewritable system now)
    The images became a bit bigger since they're uncompressed, but will be resized in next version.
Download:
Stripped ROM revision 4 (ext3)

Older releases:

Stripped ROM revision 3
Temporary Flash 10.3 fix: download latest apk from your AndyPad browser and install, or install trough adb.
Stripped ROM revision 2



How to install: (Windows only for now, sorry)
  • Make sure the device is powered-off
  • Keep volume-up pressed an plug the device into your PC's USB (make sure the volume-up is on hold)
  • When the device is not recognized: install the drivers included in the package folder, for the correct architecture (x86 or x64)
  • Open RKAndroidTool.exe (as Administrator)
  • Make sure everything is checked except backup.
  • When coming from an older v3 release (or stock), press Erase IDB and wait upon completion.
  • Press Run
  • Wait until the tablet restarts and says 'Charging', plug out USB and power it on.
    (if tablet doesn't respond anymore, you can try 'adb reboot' from commandprompt, with Android SDK installed)
  • Wait until first boot and restart it to make sure everything's installed.

Still on my 'todo'-list:
  • Add native flash libraries
  • Update EGL drivers
  • Get rid of the ugly AndyPad framework resources
Please report to me if you know how to fix one of these.
Thanks to:
- Lars (for testing newer .so libraries on his Teclast and just because he's a great guy)
- Oxygen-rom team
- The Odys-tablet guys
- Everyone who donated, thanks!


I hope you enjoy this ROM, leave any bugs/suggestions below! I'm sorry for update delays, but I've been really busy with work. :)





Hi. I just rooted what appears to be a version of Andypad Pro here in the Philippines. However, after flashing the ROM, the proportions of the Android interface are all wrong, as if it was built for a 9" tablet. None of the buttons or the icons can be used or opened. Any thoughts on these?

  • 0

#38
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Hi. I just rooted what appears to be a version of Andypad Pro here in the Philippines. However, after flashing the ROM, the proportions of the Android interface are all wrong, as if it was built for a 9" tablet. None of the buttons or the icons can be used or opened. Any thoughts on these?


So you've flashed this ROM on a device that isn't based off T760 or the AndyPad, but with thesame SoC? This could be because it's using the wrong kernel, and applies a wrong screen resolution. The kernel in this rom is built off 1024x600, but if you have e.g. 800x600 LCD, images will be stretched without a proper kernel for your device. Try flashing it with kernel.img from the ROM that came with your device. In theory, that should work.

Source: https://bitbucket.or...lcd_AT070TNA2.c
#define H_VD                    1024
#define V_VD                    600


Regards,
Csharpe

Edited by Csharpe, 25 February 2012 - 08:58 AM.

  • 0

Posted Image



#39
wgoulding

wgoulding

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:AndyPad Pro
Finally got round to putting v4 on my AndyPad Pro last night - first are impressions are excellent. A vast, vast improvement on the stock experience.

Well done! And thanks for a great ROM!

  • 0

#40
sboh247

sboh247

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Pulse Mini, Andypad Pro
apologies if off topic. i dont exactly know alot about rooting on android but i believe successfully installing this ROM effectively means the device is rooted. however i installing titanium backup but it gave me an error when i ran it saying the device isnt rooted.

also, has anyone been able to tether to this device? i have tried tethering from an android phone and a windows mobile phone (ancient! yeah i know) but it just cant find the connection.

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users