Jump to content


Photo

Enabling Facebook Sync in Ice Cream Sandwich

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S
Yeah, I tried the Black Facebook app too and the sync option wasn't there as well. I had assumed the reason it *would* work for people is because the creator/hacker of that app changed the package name and so ContactsProvider wouldn't block it.

Maybe you have to uninstall the official Facebook app first, and then Black Facebook might be able to sync contacts..? I didn't try it, I'm too lazy and rather like the recent Fb app interface despite its sluggishness. But maybe that is why it worked for some and not us.

Edited by neonixxx, 29 December 2011 - 08:03 PM.

  • 0

#22
jeddy1

jeddy1

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Many
  • Devices:Blade-Lg e720-SE x8
on ICS for blade we had not installed fb app
and the black fb app is working for them bec i dont use fb so much but i tried and it worked for me also
just try what u think guys
sorry i didnt wanted to give u hopes and then nothingPosted Image

  • 0
Click + if i´ve helped u :P

#23
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S
Okay, I finally figured out why I couldn't properly edit the APK. I previously didn't really (at all) understand the ODEX concept, so I didn't realize that the smali contents were in the ContactsProvider.odex file since I'm running the stock 4.0.3 AOSP rom.

So I added the arrays.xml and made the change to ContactsDatabaseHelper.smali that rmk40 suggested, compiled it all back together, and then the newly deodexed APK ran perfectly fine on my phone... but to my disappointment, Facebook sync still doesn't work :|

My only speculation is that in my ContactsDatabaseHelper.smali, that line was "line 892" (there was no 872), and it had a space before the end parenthesis, which should make no difference anyway, but I kept the space when editing.



I learned a good bit by messing with this today, but still haven't accomplished my goal, lol, hopefully soon though. But I fear now I'm really at a dead end as I have no idea what else to attempt.


PS: I've attached my modified ContactsProvider.apk for anyone who might wanna test it or poke around at it. Again, it works on my stock 4.0.3 rom.

Attached File  ContactsProvidermod.zip   438.93KB   56 downloads

  • 0

#24
jeddy1

jeddy1

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Many
  • Devices:Blade-Lg e720-SE x8
maybe i should say that black fb app is working for us because we are in CM9 for blade actually . i didnt tried it on ICS AOSP

  • 0
Click + if i´ve helped u :P

#25
d.k2

d.k2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
dk is the best

Edited by d.k2, 13 August 2012 - 12:54 PM.

  • 0

#26
gmoneyrox

gmoneyrox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
On 1/3/12 at 1:45pm CST I got the 99complete and contactsprovider.apk just fine but the sqlite3 says "

The file has been deleted as per a copyright notification."


  • 0

#27
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S

On 1/3/12 at 1:45pm CST I got the 99complete and contactsprovider.apk just fine but the sqlite3 says "

The file has been deleted as per a copyright notification."


The link is working just fine for me. In any case, here's a mirror I just uploaded - http://www.mediafire...doy35hmh00pf1bv

  • 0

#28
gmoneyrox

gmoneyrox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

The link is working just fine for me. In any case, here's a mirror I just uploaded - http://www.mediafire...doy35hmh00pf1bv



OK, when I actually logged in to FileSonic it would then allow me to download the file. Nevertheless, thanks for posting the mirror.

G

Edited by gmoneyrox, 03 January 2012 - 07:57 PM.

  • 0

#29
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S
No problem. Good luck, hopefully you get it working. Please report back if you do. I'd like to see if someone gets this hack working. I've still been unable to.

  • 0

#30
gmoneyrox

gmoneyrox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
I followed the instructions to a "T", even created the arrays.xml file with the lines of code as outlined in Paul's initial instructions. After completing all of the changes, moves, etc. my GNex won't even boot. It's stuck at the black Google screen with the lock at the bottom, won't even get beyond this to the boot animation sequence. MAJOR FAIL! Thank goodness I did a nandbackup before I attempted this cause it looks like it's the only way to get my GNex back up and running!

G

  • 0

#31
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S
Damn, yeah good thing for the NAND backup. But if you wanna try it, try simply deleting the script in init.d. Since you're stuck at boot, it's my guess that the startup script is what's stopping your phone from booting into the firmware.

I never actually tried using the script b/c I don't have startup scripts enabled on my rom. I tried an app from the market that supposedly runs a startup script at boot, but it didn't stop my phone from booting.

  • 0

#32
gmoneyrox

gmoneyrox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Damn, yeah good thing for the NAND backup. But if you wanna try it, try simply deleting the script in init.d. Since you're stuck at boot, it's my guess that the startup script is what's stopping your phone from booting into the firmware.

I never actually tried using the script b/c I don't have startup scripts enabled on my rom. I tried an app from the market that supposedly runs a startup script at boot, but it didn't stop my phone from booting.




Yeah, i have no idea what the deal is as I am using Paul's most recent ROM. Oh well...

  • 0

#33
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S

Yeah, i have no idea what the deal is as I am using Paul's most recent ROM. Oh well...

I thought his rom already had this hack installed, doesn't it?

  • 0

#34
gmoneyrox

gmoneyrox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

I thought his rom already had this hack installed, doesn't it?




Well, it does but the photos don't sync, which is why I was trying to manually get this to work so see if I could get the photos over into my contacts list.

  • 0

#35
neonixxx

neonixxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Nexus S
Well that probably explains why it didn't work.

And pictures won't sync at all. That's a known issue. Paul's first post says this:

...First of all, enabling it is pretty easy when you know how! It's not perfect (contact pictures don't sync for some people, statuses aren't synced etc.) but it's a decent start...

Make sure to read everything fully ;)

If you want to sync pictures to your contacts, there's a handful of apps for that in the android market, many of which are free.

A popular one I've seen mentioned a lot is HaxSync, but that one costs 99 cents. I found one called Matcher that worked pretty well, and the "sync all" function isn't just a quick dirty feature like in some other apps such as SyncMyPix (last time I used it that is) where it copies pictures from any match it finds without letting you confirm it. Matcher lets you check the whole list and select which ones it matched correctly before copying over pictures.

I just found this one earlier - Friends Sync - which seems to sync a lot of different info. Haven't tried it yet though.

Something also interesting is FriendCaster, which is an entire replacement for the Facebook app which doesn't have it's syncing ability blocked.

Edited by neonixxx, 03 January 2012 - 09:49 PM.

  • 0

#36
Webreaper

Webreaper

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3

isn't as straightforward to enable as it was in Gingerbread




Anyone got the info as to how to re-enable in Gingerbread? I can't find it...

  • 0

#37
breakingspell

breakingspell

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Google Nexus S
I can say, using CM9 Alpha 18, with Android 4.0.3 on a Nexus S, it still doesn't work for me, after pushing the proper files and rebooting three times.

  • 0

#38
chriv

chriv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
  • Devices:Nexus One & Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@wanderingwon
OK. I'm stuck. I have a stock rooted Galaxy Nexus with 4.0.2 (Verizon LTE version). I dissambled ContactsProvider.apk with apktool, added the arrays.xml file, rebuilt it, and signed it. I did not make the smali changes to the ContactsProvider.odex file, because I didn't know how to rebuild the odex file. So I downloaded sqlite3, installed it to /system/xbin, chowned, and chmodded it. When I downloaded 99complete, I went to install it, and discovered that the stock ROM does not have a init.d folder (in /system/etc or anywhere else)! So, like I said, I'm stuck. I'm not sure why Paul made the database change this way anyway. Does the database change really need to happen at every boot, or will a one time fix make it work?

  • 0
--
Chuck Renner

#39
chriv

chriv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
  • Devices:Nexus One & Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@wanderingwon
P.S. why is 99complete binary? I thought it was a script.

  • 0
--
Chuck Renner

#40
chriv

chriv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
  • Devices:Nexus One & Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@wanderingwon

I just found this one earlier - Friends Sync - which seems to sync a lot of different info. Haven't tried it yet though.


I tried Friends Sync, and I am happy with it. It works alongside my existing Facebook app with no interference, and it sync contacts well (including pictures). Thanks neonixxx!



  • 0
--
Chuck Renner




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users