Jump to content


Photo

cant boot into clockworkmod


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21
darkfiberz

darkfiberz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Mobii Tegra
i have 2 mobii tablets .

same store , same SD cards

1 i installed moddedstock v2 and then vegacomb and then honeyice... works ok.
the second one , doesnt boot into CWM the second time just before installing honeyice

does TS has found solution ?

  • 0

#22
emigabi

emigabi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thank you but it doesn't work..

  • 0

#23
dr_nick

dr_nick

    keep on tweaking!

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lee on solent
  • Interests:electronics, home cinema, kite surfing, sailing, diving, travelling, photography, cookery, wine, reading, medicine
  • Devices:Orange HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@dr_nick
i have the same problem as the initial poster - i'm on vegacomb 3.2 9n and cannot boot into recovery to flash honeyice. it just reboots into vegacomb every time.

i bought my vega back in november/december 2010! so it isnt something advent have changed recently.

would very much appreciate an NVflash version of honeyice (and a little aide memoire on how to flash it - its been a LOOONG while since i have had to flash stuff over usb using adb)

dr_nick

  • 0

#24
Andy_E

Andy_E

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Thank you but it doesn't work..


What doesn't work?

Did you try the following (but without issuing the reboot command)?

setrecovery boot-recovery recovery

....and ignoring any out of memory read errors did the following message appear?

mtd: successfully wrote block at 0

...if not, were there any other messages shown?

I was expecting it not to work; what I was hoping for was some errors appearing that might help diagnose the issue.

  • 0

#25
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts

I've got one further thing you could try (in an attempt to find out why this doesn't work). It's another shell command + su:

setrecovery boot-recovery recovery

There's a data structure in the misc partition that allows the bootloader and recovery to communicate. I think it's probable this isn't getting written properly - hence you always get a normal reboot. The command above should set the boot command correctly - an empty command / message is a normal reboot & CWM clears this block when you do the "reboot now" option.

I got some crap out of memory read errors before I got a successful write message and then issuing a reboot command from the shell rebooted into recovery.


No still not working, this is what I do

1. Type su
2. type in the above command
3. it writes a black at 0, no error messages of any kind
4. Type the reboot command and it reboots into vegacomb

also tried doing the same but instead of typing the reboot command I click reboot from the power menu and still same thing, because it is only happening with some vegas im tempted to take it back and ask for either a replacement or refund, of course that would be difficult to explain why as there is nothing visually wrong with it

ive noticed that alpha 2 of ics is out, do you think I would have any luck with that?

Edited by Richard_Arkless, 03 January 2012 - 04:52 PM.

  • 0

#26
Andy_E

Andy_E

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

.......
also tried doing the same but instead of typing the reboot command I click reboot from the power menu and still same thing, because it is only happening with some vegas im tempted to take it back and ask for either a replacement or refund, of course that would be difficult to explain why as there is nothing visually wrong with it

ive noticed that alpha 2 of ics is out, do you think I would have any luck with that?


Damn! I was hoping to get some sort of error. I'd take it back if you can think up a suitable excuse. Regarding VegaICS, l'd be tempted to give it a go - let's face it, you're not going to be any worse off.

The only other thing I can think of is to use dump_image for the misc partition on a working Vega and then the flash_image command on the one giving you problems...

  • 0

#27
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts

Damn! I was hoping to get some sort of error. I'd take it back if you can think up a suitable excuse. Regarding VegaICS, l'd be tempted to give it a go - let's face it, you're not going to be any worse off.

The only other thing I can think of is to use dump_image for the misc partition on a working Vega and then the flash_image command on the one giving you problems...


Tried that dump image and flash image and nothing also tried flashing vegaics and still cant get into recovery

ill probably play the noob where I say I had it for christmas and found the screen is terrible and I havent got access to the android market, that should get me a refund

Edited by Richard_Arkless, 03 January 2012 - 10:58 PM.

  • 0

#28
Andy_E

Andy_E

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Sorry I couldn't be of more help. Hopefully the replacement Vega will work better...

  • 0

#29
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts

Sorry I couldn't be of more help. Hopefully the replacement Vega will work better...


Dont worry about it, I knew as soon as I had problems that it wouldnt end well

Annoying thing is that the pcworld I got it from is 28 minutes away and I have no reason to go there

  • 0

#30
Andy_E

Andy_E

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
I mentioned your tale of woe on the Tabletroms site and Cass has come up with another suggestion:

id be interested to see the result of the partition dump after the setrecovery command is run and then flashed to non working tablet as thats what id be testing initially...

He's going to be taking a look himself so any pointers will be helpful (might save you that drive to PC world)

so basically on a working Vega:

setrecovery boot-recovery recovery
dump_image misc misc.img

on non-working Vega:

flash_image misc misc.img
reboot

(unfortunately your working Vega will now boot into recovery - I know of no way to clear the "boot-recovery" command)




  • 0

#31
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts

I mentioned your tale of woe on the Tabletroms site and Cass has come up with another suggestion:

id be interested to see the result of the partition dump after the setrecovery command is run and then flashed to non working tablet as thats what id be testing initially...

He's going to be taking a look himself so any pointers will be helpful (might save you that drive to PC world)

so basically on a working Vega:

setrecovery boot-recovery recovery
dump_image misc misc.img

on non-working Vega:

flash_image misc misc.img
reboot

(unfortunately your working Vega will now boot into recovery - I know of no way to clear the "boot-recovery" command)


Sorry for the delay, its been a long day and have been catching up on college work which I should have started before christmas

Anyway on the working tablet I

1. typed in the setrecovery bit which wrote at block 0 fine,
2. then at the dump image command it showed "error opening misc.img"
3. so I looked up that error and found people solved it by specifying where to store it so instead I typed dump_image misc /sdcard/misc.img and it was fine then

On the non-working vega

1. I cd to the sdcard and give the terminal root permission
2. run the flash_image command and a long list of mtd: successfully wrote block at x
3. Type reboot and it reboots back into vegacomb :(

Tried reboot recover, rebooting from menu and recovery from menu and same

Edited by Richard_Arkless, 04 January 2012 - 11:52 PM.

  • 0

#32
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts
Hi cass, ive posted a reply over on the vegaics thread

  • 0

#33
darkfiberz

darkfiberz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Mobii Tegra
maybe try it with new SD card?
thats only difference between my 2 tablets.

  • 0

#34
wooshy1

wooshy1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Nexus One, Advent Vega
Just out of interest what does the following command produce

cat /proc/cmdline

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users