Jump to content


Photo

How to root your Huawei Ascend G300 (for Windows, Mac and Linux)


  • Please log in to reply
328 replies to this topic

#301
denzele

denzele

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Down Under
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300- Ascend P1
Is there's something you really don't understand mate or you just don't get it ???????? :)

  • 0

#302
JethroUK

JethroUK

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Is there's something you really don't understand mate or you just don't get it ???????? :)


both

I need to root but that is way over my head

  • 0

#303
denzele

denzele

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Down Under
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300- Ascend P1
This is easiest way to root honestly ( thanks to paul) ..Rooted mine a dozen times with no issues..

Download file super recovery on your windows extract it..take battery out wait 5 sec. put it back..boot in fastboot by holding vol.up and power button together for 10 secunds...if stays on logo Huawei or Huawei Ascend ( depends which version of ICS you have) connect your phone to pc with usb cable...yoip PC should detect phone and installed drivers ( if not download Huawei drivers google it)...then open super recovery folder and hit install super recovery.bat file and wait to script to finish.. take usb out take batteru put it back this time hold vol. down and power to boot in recovery and select first to reboot phone..after all that once phone booted back if new app superuser is installed you're rooted...:)

Let me know ..

  • 0

#304
hygy

hygy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I'm trying too root my g300 following http://huaweig300.com/ this documentation.I started root-g300.exe rebooted the phone. The super user app appeard. I backed up the imei. Checked my baseband it is 2030. Downloaded the rootg300 again, started. Rebooted the phone. Started BootloaderG300.exe.

I got this:

sending 'recovery' (5074 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: Command not allowed)

rebooted again, but now it is freezing at the first Huawei Ascend logo.

adb devices shows no device

fastboot-windows.exe -> shows -> a14a51c5 fastboot

if I start:

install-superrecovery-windows.bat

c:\Users\gh12124\Downloads\huawei\r1-g300-superrecovery>fastboot-windows.exe flash recovery recovery.superrecovery.img
sending 'recovery' (5074 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: Command not allowed)

Please help, how can I recover my device?

----- Edited: ----

Now it is working again, I put into the dload folder the telenor rom. Pressed the volume buttons and the power button. Now I can boot it. thanks.

Edited by hygy, 09 May 2013 - 03:28 PM.

  • 0

#305
predragiPredrag

predragiPredrag

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Serbia
  • Devices:Huawei G300

I'm trying too root my g300 following http://huaweig300.com/ this documentation.I started root-g300.exe rebooted the phone. The super user app appeard. I backed up the imei. Checked my baseband it is 2030. Downloaded the rootg300 again, started. Rebooted the phone. Started BootloaderG300.exe.

Please help, how can I recover my device?


You can download official rom from huawei site, they are in UPDATE.APP format. You format yous SD card, and put UPDATE.APP on it.
Turn on your device by pressing VOL+, VOL-, POWER button at the same time, this way factory update software will be done.

You can try to root your phone in the next way. I think that it will work. I used same metod after I unlocked bootloader with official huawei code :)

1. Download TWRP from http://www.modaco.co...u8818-10042013/
2. unpack .zip file and take recovery.img file,
3. Flash your custom recovery by issuing the command
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
4. Turn off your phone and enter recovery holding VOL+ and POWER for 5-10sec (until twrp logo appears)
5. In TWRP, select reboot -> system. You will be prompted to install SuperSU. Swipe to confirm. When your device boots you will see a prompt to install the full version of SuperSU.
Select to do the TWRP install. Your device will download a file, reboot into TWRP which will automatically install the file, then reboot again.

If anything goes wrong you can always use metod with UPDATE.APP :)

Edited by predragiPredrag, 09 May 2013 - 03:29 PM.

  • 0

#306
hygy

hygy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Downloaded an official rom already, and recovered the phone. It is a 4.0.3 rom. But I cant root it with your way. :(


c:\CWM>fastboot-windows.exe flash recovery recovery.img
< waiting for device >
sending 'recovery' (6218 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: Command not allowed)

Any other idea? :)

  • 0

#307
hygy

hygy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Now it is working. Followed the huaweig300.com I changed the usb port, where I plugged to other type. Thanks.

  • 0

#308
pcandy

pcandy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hi

Having real problems trying to root my new g300.

The phone is a unlocked Vodafone model, U8815 running 4.0.3, baseband 2030, B960. I want to root it to get rid of Vodafone bloat then try some other ROMs.

When I run 'install-superrecovery-windows' I get this ....

< waiting for device >
sending 'recovery' (5074 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: Command not allowed)

I just want to get rooted as the first step.

I'm very new to all this so please be kind! I see other have had similar issues, but I don't understand the responses or if they apply to my case.

I've also noted that my phone automatically goes to 'connected as an installer' when the usb cable is plugged in normal mode - is this a problem (?) when it boots to Huawei screen (vol down / on)

I believe I have downloaded the correct drivers.

Thanks. Paul

  • 0

#309
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
Did you unlock your bootloader first?

http://www.modaco.co...guide-included/

Did you try another USB port as the previous poster suggested when they got the same error?

http://www.modaco.co...00#entry2122702

Edited by dalyer, 09 July 2013 - 01:08 PM.

  • 0

#310
pcandy

pcandy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Did you unlock your bootloader first?

http://www.modaco.co...guide-included/

Did you try another USB port as the previous poster suggested when they got the same error?

http://www.modaco.co...00#entry2122702


  • 0

#311
pcandy

pcandy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hi Dalyer

Sorry - just posted a quote with no other content - said I was new to this!

No - I have not unlocked my bootloader ( as was not stipulated in first post) - so are you saying I need to do that? It looks quite complex!!

I have tried other USB port (and another PC).

Thanks, Paul

  • 0

#312
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
Sorry - no - you shouldn't need to unlock the bootloader to root. My mistake! :blush:

But you will need to do it if you want to install a custom recovery/stock ROM.

There are several reports in this thread of the same "failed" error as you got when trying to root but I don't know if there is any solution...

Could it be a driver issue? e.g. see here:

http://www.modaco.co...x/#entry1936823
http://huaweig300.co...he-usb-drivers/

Actually - for what it's worth - I originally rooted my G300 using the second link above - the "explained like you're 5" tutorial. I'm not sure if there is much/any difference between using that tutorial and the one that started this thread or if one is recommended over the other... However I do know that the "explained like you're 5" tutorial method of unlocking the bootloader should ideally be avoided and the "official" unlock approach used instead if you need to unlock your bootloader. If you use the former then you may end up with problems like "3G reboots" and signal loss due to the use of the (inherently unlocked) GB bootloader under ICS or JB.

Hope this helps and apologies for anything earlier that may have misled!

Edited by dalyer, 09 July 2013 - 02:05 PM.

  • 0

#313
CrystalLettuce

CrystalLettuce

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Devices:Orange SanFrancisco
Getting a blank purple screen :(

  • 0

#314
CrystalLettuce

CrystalLettuce

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Devices:Orange SanFrancisco
err, okay. dunno what that was about.

but now i'm getting the "failed" error when I try to write, like everyone else. have the latest drivers. no clue what's going on.

  • 0

#315
CrystalLettuce

CrystalLettuce

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Devices:Orange SanFrancisco

Go to Settings > Application Settings > Development and tick the "USB Debugging" box


My phone seems to be shut out of USB debugging for some reason, possible due to the settings being reset(I got it back from repairs, he couldn't fix the touchscreen). Is there any way to back it up at this stage?

  • 0

#316
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
Can you see Developer Options to enable USB Debugging?
If not then perhaps you need to unhide them?

http://howto.cnet.co...in-android-4.2/

  • 0

#317
CrystalLettuce

CrystalLettuce

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Devices:Orange SanFrancisco
Just got a new phone, and am getting the same error when I try to root the phone. What is wrong?

  • 0

#318
pcandy

pcandy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I've eventually got mine sorted - I used this method http://huaweig300.co...m-from-scratch/ .

I had problems downloading and running RootG300.exe and subsequent files on Windows8 with McAfee as it said they were infected - I turn all the security off and it all worked like a dream.

  • 0

#319
Pyntux

Pyntux

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Alcatel Idol 6030X
Just to add one more way to root G300...

1. Unlock bootloader (if you are on ICS, if you are on GB, there's no need for that) -- There's topic about unlocking bootloader on forum...

2. Install TWRP (I boot in to bootloader mode, than install TWRP with "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img") -- There's topic about instaling TWRP on forum...

3. Boot in to TWRP

4. Press "reboot" --> "system"

5. TWRP will say to you something like "your system is not rooted, do you want to install SuperSU?"

6. Install SuperSu

7. Phone will reboot

8. Install SuperSu from Gplay

Edited by Pyntux, 01 August 2013 - 07:20 AM.

  • 0

#320
Davidosky99

Davidosky99

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Porto, Portugal
  • Interests:Android Programming and Developing
    Windows and Linux Programming
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@Davidosky99

this works in ics?

 

i am actually on ics , and i want to know if this mectod works in android 4.0

 

sorry for my english(portuguese)


  • 0

Davidosky99

 

Don't forget to thanks if I helped you ;)

 

Phones i have used:

Nokia 2690

Huawei G6608

Vodafone Smart 2

Samsung Galaxy S i9000

Huawei Ascend G300

Wiko Darkfull :D

 

 

ROM's i have used(on Huawei Ascend G300):

Stock( for 1 day :D )

CyanogenMOD 9, 10, 10.1, 10.2

AOKP

SlimBean

Paranoid Android

Matrix ROM(work of a life :D )

 

 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users