Jump to content


Photo

MoDaCo Custom ROM Gr2 for the Huawei U8815 / G300 (B888) - New: PartitionSwap


  • Please log in to reply
174 replies to this topic

#61
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Checking the books issue.

Not sure why a data restore wouldn't work as long as you've restarted recovery, i'll check the scripts.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#62
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Devices:Android
I have to say I am tempted by the partition swap feature. The small size of the default app storage is getting annoying, and more than doubling it would be an elegant solution.

But I assume there should also be a way to repartition the flash memory completely? The "internal SD card" is a bit of a waste, especially given the rather small memory to start with.

  • 1

#63
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I have to say I am tempted by the partition swap feature. The small size of the default app storage is getting annoying, and more than doubling it would be an elegant solution.

But I assume there should also be a way to repartition the flash memory completely? The "internal SD card" is a bit of a waste, especially given the rather small memory to start with.

It's something I'm looking in to but it's dangerous and not straightforward!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#64
BigJas

BigJas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Quick update on the customisation options. Changing the "Gallery" option, adds/removes "k" in the options.txt file but no other changes are present in the generated zip file.

FYI
"Music" option is Music2.apk
Wallpapers are in the Launcher apps

  • 0

#65
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Quick update on the customisation options. Changing the "Gallery" option, adds/removes "k" in the options.txt file but no other changes are present in the generated zip file.

FYI
"Music" option is Music2.apk
Wallpapers are in the Launcher apps

Fixed! :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#66
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Also on the slimmed down version, the WallPapers are gone (relatet to not installing Gallery?). I've looked through the pre-bake and my first generated update.zip in the hope of doing a quick copy over but no luck. Where are the Wallpappers?

Edit: One small teeny tiny point. Play Books appears twice in the Launchers app list

Wallpapers live in the Launcher, so if you uninstall the Huawei launcher that's what will do it I believe.

Books is strange, there's only one copy in the kitchen? Gmail is present and correct also!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#67
BigJas

BigJas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Wallpapers live in the Launcher, so if you uninstall the Huawei launcher that's what will do it I believe.

Books is strange, there's only one copy in the kitchen? Gmail is present and correct also!

P

The two Play Books icons aren't a big deal really, so no worries. Tomorrow I'll see if I can find where the Huawei Launcher stores its config file or database so I can remove the extra icon manually ;)

Thanks and keep up the good work!

  • 0

#68
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I've isolated the missing Gmail issue to having a ICS Gmail APK in the kitchen when it should be Gingerbread. Think i've also found the Books issue, i'll update the kitchen and prebake shortly.

P

  • 1

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#69
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Changelog

26th June - 11:45
  • Fixed Gmail and Books issues
  • Updated all components to latest versions

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#70
Brian Doyle

Brian Doyle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Interests:Running & puters!
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Anyone managed to get a GPS signal with this ROM? I use RunKeeper for tracking my runs and no matter what I do, just cannot get a GPS signal.I'm going to revert to B888 nandroid backup to see if it works on that.

  • 0

#71
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
GPS was working fine for me with Endomondo and Google Maps

  • 0

#72
Brian Doyle

Brian Doyle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Interests:Running & puters!
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Anyone managed to get a GPS signal with this ROM? I use RunKeeper for tracking my runs and no matter what I do, just cannot get a GPS signal.I'm going to revert to B888 nandroid backup to see if it works on that.


Ok... flashed GR2 normal partitions.Then restored nandroid B888 backup and GPS works perfectly with RunKeeper. The only problem now is I keep getting the 'boot loop' when I flash GR2 Swap, reboot recovery, restore data or full restore.

*EDIT* Looking into this deeper.I don't think NADROID backups of the G300 with SWAP GR2 can't be restored at all.They all stick on Huawei logo at bootup.

Thanks for your work so far Paul.I love the pre-bake btw! :)

Edited by Brian Doyle, 26 June 2012 - 07:59 PM.

  • 0

#73
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Anyone managed to get a GPS signal with this ROM? I use RunKeeper for tracking my runs and no matter what I do, just cannot get a GPS signal.I'm going to revert to B888 nandroid backup to see if it works on that.


GPS fine here!

Ok... flashed GR2 normal partitions.Then restored nandroid B888 backup and GPS works perfectly with RunKeeper. The only problem now is I keep getting the 'boot loop' when I flash GR2 Swap, reboot recovery, restore data or full restore.

*EDIT* Looking into this deeper.I don't think NADROID backups of the G300 with SWAP GR2 can't be restored at all.They all stick on Huawei logo at bootup.

Thanks for your work so far Paul.I love the pre-bake btw! :)

I'm not sure why restoring this way doesn't work, very odd... Does anyone have a logcat of the boot loop?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#74
BigJas

BigJas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hi Brian

My only problem with the GPS when I tested today (not used it since installing custom ROM) was the length of it took to get an initial lock on my location. I'd guess about 5-10 mins. It looked like Google maps wasn't working so downloaded "GPS Status" to check. The app showed that the GPS had acquired a few satelites fairly quickly, but pin pointing my location took ages. It quickly got my location back at home when I switched it back on.

Edit: First smartphone (about 2 weeks) or GPS device so don't know if the above is bad or typical.

Edit2: Thanks for the books fix Paul. Saved me some effort :)

Edited by BigJas, 27 June 2012 - 06:03 PM.

  • 0

#75
chohan01

chohan01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Hi guys newbie here, I've rooted my G300 thanks to Paul (BTW you're awesome!) and I've just got to ask this question; if you root you're G300 and install clockworkmod will the future official ICS update work? PS if you just have the stock bootloader with upgraded access from Paul's root thread will the ICS update work? Thanks in advance!

  • 0

#76
coklina

coklina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Huawei ascend g300
I need rom with swaped particions PLEASE!

  • 0

#77
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Hi guys newbie here, I've rooted my G300 thanks to Paul (BTW you're awesome!) and I've just got to ask this question; if you root you're G300 and install clockworkmod will the future official ICS update work? PS if you just have the stock bootloader with upgraded access from Paul's root thread will the ICS update work? Thanks in advance!


You'll have to go back to stock, but it's not a big issue I imagine!

I need rom with swaped particions PLEASE!


Ummmm...?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#78
chohan01

chohan01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Thanks for the quick reply paul! What would you recommend? Should I stay rooted and not get the official rom or should I revert back to stock and if so how? Btw why can't you install ota updates if you're rooted? Thanks in advanced and I'm sorry for being a total noob!

  • 0

#79
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'd root, I don't see any issue going to ICS in the future!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#80
Brian Doyle

Brian Doyle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Interests:Running & puters!
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I'm not sure why restoring this way doesn't work, very odd... Does anyone have a logcat of the boot loop?


How can I get this logcat for you? Still can't restore any nandroid backup on the swapped gr2 rom.The non swapped restores ok, it's just that all my settings etc are in the swapped rom backup.

Edited by Brian Doyle, 27 June 2012 - 09:48 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users