Overclocking the ZTE Skate

Guest mrgpg

Guest mrgpg

Hi all

Being new to the Android and Rom scene I've just started dipping my toes into what I can do with my new device. By "do" I guess I mean, change, modify and "hack" in the broadest possible sense.

I bought a Skate in the guise of an Orange MC about a month ago and almost instantly wanted to get rid of all the Orange "bloatware". So I looked for an alternative ROM and installed Skatie from the links in this forum.

(as an aside - downloading and flashing the ROM was a breeze)

Now, having opened Pandora's box so to speak I set out to discover if / how to overclock the 800MHz processor in the Skate.

After much Internet searching I came to the conclusion that whilst utilities existed to alter the CPU speeds, governors and I/O schedulers, along with the SD Card cache size, there seemed to be no agreement over which settings produced the "Best" performance. As a high school teacher, I thought this would make an interesting project for my six form (17-19 years old) students.

I've written this all up as a blog article here >> Statistically Overclocking an Android Phone but thought it would be good to start a discussion in the forums:

Performance was measured with the APP "Quadrant" - and this in itself leads to discussions about the validity of such tests - do different APPs measure things differently and how do benchmark performance relate to subject user opinions over which feels quicker? But....

1) Conclusions - the CPU speed is the most important (both the MIN and MAX) - not surprising this one

2) CPU Governor - lagfree and the I/O scheduler noop both were statistically significant (p=0.000) but the magnitude of the effect much less than for CPU speed

3) SD Card cache was not statistically significant, but 2024kb gave the "best" benchmark.

The effects of these variables is summarised below:

main_effects.png

What I'd like to throw out there is three things: