Jump to content


Photo

TESTING: VilleC Superboot

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
This a test r1 release of Superboot for the Ville C.

Introducing.... Superboot! :)

Superboot is a boot.img that when booted, will root your device the first time you boot (installing su and the superuser APK). No need to flash any partitions, no need to mess around with ADB, no messing with the contents of your data partition, no overwriting the shipped ROM on your device, just boot the boot image using the instructions below and you're done!

APPLY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!
  • Superboot r1 - DOWNLOAD (ROMraid) - MD5: 4b6195abc8b4bedc51e21c3c2e9dc30e
The superboot image is also 'insecure', allowing you to use 'adb remount' as well as having full ADB root access to your device until such time as you reboot after running this process (it's a non permanent ADB root as it's a 'fastboot boot' and not a 'fastboot flash').

How to use Superboot - Windows, Linux and OSX

- Download the Superboot zip file above and extract to a directory
- Put your device in bootloader mode - Turn off the phone then turn on with the 'volume up' and 'volume down' buttons both pressed to enter the bootloader (as pictured below)
- WINDOWS - double click 'install-superboot-windows.bat'
- MAC - Open a terminal window to the directory containing the files, and type 'chmod +x install-superboot-mac.sh' followed by './install-superboot-mac.sh'
- LINUX - Open a terminal window to the directory containing the files, and type 'chmod +x install-superboot-linux.sh' followed by './install-superboot-linux.sh'

Note: If you are using a retail device, you need to unlock the bootloader first via HTCdev. Note that the OEM unlock sequence wipes your device.

Enjoy! ;)

P

PS If you find this useful, please consider supporting MoDaCo by signing up for a MoDaCo subscription! Visit this topic for further details!

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
chizuoka

chizuoka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:HTC ONE S S3
oh yes it works! Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you !

Edited by chizuoka, 03 July 2012 - 02:19 AM.

  • 0

#3
Wyall

Wyall

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, One S (S3)
  • Twitter:@Wyall
Thanks, it worked for me. First I took the latest RUU to get the original Recovery (I tried to flash a S4 Recovery earlier, which doesn't work) and then simply used your solution.
Thanks again, I didn't thought that you would help so fast via Twitter Request :)

  • 0

#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Great news guys. Now, do you want a One X S3 dedicated forum area?

P

  • 1

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
spiruet

spiruet

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC One S [S3]
Superb! :) Just great for a newbie like me.
Could I ask you about the network unlocking algorithm for HTC One S [S3]? Because all the steps and methods on the www are valid only for HTC One S [S4].

Kind regards,
Bo

Edited by spiruet, 04 July 2012 - 12:50 PM.

  • 0

#6
#Coby

#Coby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Great news guys. Now, do you want a One X S3 dedicated forum area?

P


Paul, you think One S dedicated forum area, right? :) I think every single One S S3 user would like making the your idea! I will never go on XDA if you help us geeks with roms, recovery etc... :)

  • 0

#7
Qz3m

Qz3m

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S I9070 Advance
Thanks for this Paul! It is working perfectly :). I hope that cwm recovery will be ported soon.

  • 0

#8
sam glosko

sam glosko

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One S
Thanks Paul, worked like a charm!

  • 0

#9
someoneusedmyid

someoneusedmyid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC ONE S

Thanks, it worked for me. First I took the latest RUU to get the original Recovery (I tried to flash a S4 Recovery earlier, which doesn't work) and then simply used your solution.
Thanks again, I didn't thought that you would help so fast via Twitter Request :)


Hey sorry, are you using the S3 chip? Do you have the RUU file for the original recovery? Would be great if you could share it :)

  • 0

#10
Wyall

Wyall

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, One S (S3)
  • Twitter:@Wyall
Yes I do ;) http://www.filefacto...f2bd9c14cebbbe/ I took the RUU_VILLEC2_U_ICS_40_HTC_Europe_1.11.401.110_Radio_16.12.20.02U_16.05.20.16_M2_release_263510_signed.exe

  • 0

#11
Wyall

Wyall

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, One S (S3)
  • Twitter:@Wyall
Too bad no developer seems to be interested in the S3 One S, without Recovery and Custom ROMs it's boring :-\

  • 0

#12
Qz3m

Qz3m

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S I9070 Advance
...ignore the post...

Attached Files


Edited by Qz3m, 23 July 2012 - 03:41 PM.

  • 0

#13
edikup

edikup

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
seems not working for my one s (s3). Just going to a screen "This build is for development purposes only.... (etc)" and remaining like this. What I supposed to do? How long to wait, or reboot... or what? :(

  • 0

#14
dahoba

dahoba

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Thank you very much. :D (I'm almost give up to gain root on my OneS (S3 chip); flash with superboot for S4 chip many time; it's never work :( )

  • 0

#15
MaxEigelb

MaxEigelb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One S C2 (S3)
  • Twitter:@MaxEigelb
Worked perfectly!

Thanks a lot..

Hopefully, there will be some more development for the VilleC :)

Cheers,

Max

  • 0

#16
kapilrtn

kapilrtn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC ONE S Ville C2
thansk alot

after flash via fastboot my phone working on...but i have one problem,,,when i Switch off Or Restart the phone my phone stop at HTC logo with red text warning.
is any solution for this problem ...pls help me

  • 0

#17
blackjack13

blackjack13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:zte v9

Yes I do ;) http://www.filefacto...f2bd9c14cebbbe/ I took the RUU_VILLEC2_U_ICS_40_HTC_Europe_1.11.401.110_Radio_16.12.20.02U_16.05.20.16_M2_release_263510_signed.exe


link is dead. new one please

  • 0

#18
Wyall

Wyall

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, One S (S3)
  • Twitter:@Wyall
Found this one http://splanet.info/4.0.4.stock/ but it only contains a newer RUU. Maybe you have to google the filename or somethink like that, should work.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users