Jump to content


Photo

[GUIDE] Change to ANY G300/U8815/U8818 ROM via Boot loader version bypass [HACK]

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
230 replies to this topic

#181
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

also cwm will only work ics to ics or gb to gb

not gb to ics or ics to gb


Wrong, CM9. ;)

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#182
elperroderoke

elperroderoke

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Devices:Defy+; U8650; U8815

no once you have ics bootloader its for good, but it wont hurt to try flash update.app(b882) again but i think it will fail
if at b926 when a newer rom (i.e b928 ) comes out no more need to bypass bootloader version i.d i hope.


I'm more or less understanding how it works (coming from Motorola Defy+, so diferent way).
Not knowing if an incoming realase will "repair" the boot loader, is the reason I won´t try unless it would be necessary, and right now I don´t see the point to go back to GB unless I have to sent the phone to be repaired on warranty, and even do, by the time maybe there will be an official Yoigo Spain ICS to be flashed (I assume everybody hope or think it would be posible the update from Unicom ICS just flashing the update.app)
Thank you for all the explanations.
Regards.

  • 0

#183
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Hauwei Ascend G300, bb990
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright

Wrong, CM9. ;)

l

lol ok cm9 i meant official huawei ..... :P

  • 0
Posted Image

#184
apopberz

apopberz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:G300
I screwed up the ordering on this I think, What I've done because the official chinese ICS 4.0.3 install wouldn't work using the dload method I used this to backup and change my IMEI. Then I flashed a custom ICS rom *before* restoring the IMEI (but after getting root and reinstalling clockwork). Now i've restored my IMEI in the custom rom and it shows up fine in the settings or when I dial *#06# but I can't get any carrier signal (every now and then i get a 2g signal for a minute and it drops, weird).
I'm going to dload the offical update again and try restore the IMEI in there and hope that fixes it - any better suggestions?

  • 0

#185
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Are you on O2? Sounds like the problems they're having right now

  • 0

#186
apopberz

apopberz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:G300

Are you on O2? Sounds like the problems they're having right now


No Vodafone AU - I've got another handset here and my SIM is fine in that one, I've definitely messed up the radio/baseband on this G300 somewhere during this process

I don't seem to be able to undo whatever damage it is I've done here. I just put the stock gingerbread rom back on, changed the IMEI to one from the zip on this thread, then ran the official ICS update again. Then restored my original IMEI (after having used unlockbootloader.exe to root again)

Now I'm official ICS with my original IMEI back, root is working and I can verify the IMEI in the settings or using *#06# but still have no signal with a working SIM


Edit: I fixed this by flashing the official ICS, restoreing the IMEI then rebooting and allowing the cache to wipe etc. Scared to flash another custom ICS now but it's worth the risk so here I go...

Edited by apopberz, 12 July 2012 - 11:44 AM.

  • 0

#187
Pondlife

Pondlife

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:nexus 7

Edit: I fixed this by flashing the official ICS, restoreing the IMEI then rebooting and allowing the cache to wipe etc. Scared to flash another custom ICS now but it's worth the risk so here I go...


So it's fixed? Or have I read that out of context?

  • 0

#188
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Hauwei Ascend G300, bb990
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright

No Vodafone AU - I've got another handset here and my SIM is fine in that one, I've definitely messed up the radio/baseband on this G300 somewhere during this process

I don't seem to be able to undo whatever damage it is I've done here. I just put the stock gingerbread rom back on, changed the IMEI to one from the zip on this thread, then ran the official ICS update again. Then restored my original IMEI (after having used unlockbootloader.exe to root again)

Now I'm official ICS with my original IMEI back, root is working and I can verify the IMEI in the settings or using *#06# but still have no signal with a working SIM


Edit: I fixed this by flashing the official ICS, restoreing the IMEI then rebooting and allowing the cache to wipe etc. Scared to flash another custom ICS now but it's worth the risk so here I go...


As corrected by Dazzozo. you somehow have the wrong baseband / firmware @ a guess

The original update.app is ALWAYS official ICS we cant alter the update.app, This is B926 based with ICS basebands / firmware

Next flashable zips (CWM)

There are Two types of ICS modified ROM versions those that have ICS basebands, B926 based. they will come as a zip

some like cm9 and ligux are ICS modded ROM versions made to run on GB basebands /firmware again a zip

Edited by Gary_J_Wright, 12 July 2012 - 11:28 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#189
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
The partitions have absolutely nothing to do with the operating system that runs on it. We could get the old B8xx Gingerbread ROMs running on B926 if we were so bothered.

The key difference is the radio firmware change. There are two basebands, and two sets of firmware. A ROM with the firmware for the other baseband will result in you having no mobile network.

If your modified ICS is built for B8xx with B8xx firmware, RIL won't work on your B926 device, and vice versa.

"ICS partition layouts" is a bit redundant, the only thing that really changed in B926 was the system partition becoming ext4, which has nothing to do with radio problems.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#190
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Hauwei Ascend G300, bb990
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright

The partitions have absolutely nothing to do with the operating system that runs on it. We could get the old B8xx Gingerbread ROMs running on B926 if we were so bothered.

The key difference is the radio firmware change. There are two basebands, and two sets of firmware. A ROM with the firmware for the other baseband will result in you having no mobile network.

If your modified ICS is built for B8xx with B8xx firmware, RIL won't work on your B926 device, and vice versa.

"ICS partition layouts" is a bit redundant, the only thing that really changed in B926 was the system partition becoming ext4, which has nothing to do with radio problems.


cool think we need a guide of what works and how (Like the gen1 / gen2 blade) etc Really could do with a F A Q

  • 0
Posted Image

#191
apopberz

apopberz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:G300

So it's fixed? Or have I read that out of context?

That's correct. I had to do this to fix it:

1) Install stock gingerbread
2) Flash this downgrade (false IMEI)
3) Install official chinese ICS update again
4) Root again (unlockbootloader.exe)
5) Restore my IMEI *before* changing roms to a custom ICS rom

So basically repeating the whole process detailed here again. I tried restoring my IMEI while having numerous custom roms (both gingerbread and ICS) and none allowed me to get a carrier connection. I would suggest adding to the guide the original IMEI should be restored as soon as possible (ie. right after chinese ICS and root are done, possibly even before bootloader unlocking) as this one really f***ed me up and took me about ~8 hours of flashing to resolve.

  • 0

#192
Pondlife

Pondlife

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:nexus 7
Nice one :)
Would never have thought that the imei restore wouldn't have worked on custom roms so definitely worthy of note.

  • 0

#193
milance022

milance022

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:samsung i900
How to delete after downgrade ICS...China logo "3G WO"...I want Huawei logo :)

  • 0

#194
sonicaaaa

sonicaaaa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE Blade,
Hi all, I am trying to upgrade Huawei official ICS ontop of Vodafone UK 882 without luck.

Have anyone been able to make it work? Any suggestion?

thank you

sonicaaaa

  • 0

#195
Pondlife

Pondlife

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:nexus 7
First off don't
get the 885 ota update first for audio fixes

  • 0

#196
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Hauwei Ascend G300, bb990
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright

Hi all, I am trying to upgrade Huawei official ICS ontop of Vodafone UK 882 without luck.

Have anyone been able to make it work? Any suggestion?

thank you

sonicaaaa


ota 885 then official ICS you DONT need this hack

Edited by Gary_J_Wright, 13 July 2012 - 10:02 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#197
maritimesbob

maritimesbob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4, HTC One X+
I'm currently running ICS, have flashed the modaco ICS rom that Paul put together. Of course I went through the Chinese ICS update first then flashed the rom. I want to go back to GB, the guide in this thread would work for what I want to do?

Thanks.

  • 0

#198
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

ota 885 then official ICS you DONT need this hack


You can just go from 882 to 926...

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#199
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Hauwei Ascend G300, bb990
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright
http://www.modaco.co...u8815-b927-rom/ use the update.app in the u8815 middle package this allow upgrage and down grade NO NEED to hack anymore

Edited by Gary_J_Wright, 16 July 2012 - 03:05 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#200
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

http://www.modaco.co...u8815-b927-rom/ use the update.app in the u8815 middle package this allow upgrage and down grade NO NEED to hack anymore

thats great news :D

I think you need to go another thread or something as you found this out :)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users