Jump to content


Photo

[MOD] ENABLED ICS SOFT BUTTONS [STOCK ICS ROM'S ONLY]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

THIS MOD IS STRICTLY FOR OFFICIAL STOCK BASED ICS ROM'S


THIS WILL ADD THE SOFT BUTTONS TO THE BOTTOM OF YOUR SCREEN

(basically it adds a virtual back, home, and menu button to the bottom of the screen)


FLASH VIA RECOVERY


DOWNLOAD


Attached File  Untitled.png   13KB   35 downloads


Attached File  Screenshot_2012-07-05-23-04-51.png   375.94KB   43 downloads


  • 2

#2
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4
could someone take a screenshot for me so i can add it to first post :)

  • 0

#3
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Here you go.
Attached File  Screenshot_2012-07-05-23-04-51.png   375.94KB   45 downloads

  • 1

#4
Sonny Atwal

Sonny Atwal

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
can someone explain to me why anyone would want this? do they not like the physical buttons? do they really hate them so much they would sacrifice screen space and have 2 sets of buttons for the same functions?

sorry but it looks pointless to me

  • 2

#5
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
My thoughts exactly. I see this is popular over on the Blade but what's the point?

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#6
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4
might help if those capacitive buttons are not very responsive ;)

also, i could be handy if the capacitive buttons get broke and you have no warranty.

or you could turn the capacitive ones off completely (turn brightness to zero) might save battery lol

just posted it because people always ask and it takes two seconds to do

  • 1

#7
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Ah, makes sense.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#8
Konstipated Kiwi

Konstipated Kiwi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 254 posts

My thoughts exactly. I see this is popular over on the Blade but what's the point?

It was popular on the Blade because it saves the physical buttons degrading with use. I was unsure about the point on a device with capacitive buttons, but I think tillaz' points are possibly valid.

  • 0

#9
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

can someone explain to me why anyone would want this?


....because they look so damn cool :P lol

  • 0

#10
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
certainly a good addition. will you added it to ur atomicMod...but with toggle options of whether to have or not? :)

*ur ICS AM Mod i mean :)

  • 0

#11
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4
at least its hear for people to try / use if they want to...

there's been lots of mods / add-on's that people ask me for that i have thought are useless but still posted them.
not everyone shares the same opinion.
its the same kind of thing with overclocking i don't think there is any point in doing it, but i would still post it / include it in a rom

  • 0

#12
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
I'm the same, I'm not a fan of overclocking but I'm still looking in to it, I'm not a fan of AOKP and I still release that for another device.

I was just wondering people's reasoning for using them, not your reasoning for releasing them.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#13
Sonny Atwal

Sonny Atwal

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male

at least its hear for people to try / use if they want to...

there's been lots of mods / add-on's that people ask me for that i have thought are useless but still posted them.
not everyone shares the same opinion.
its the same kind of thing with overclocking i don't think there is any point in doing it, but i would still post it / include it in a rom


overclocking makes the cpu faster, hence making the phone run smoother and better, but at the cost of heat and battery consumption and life of parts (i upgrade my phone every year, so i do not care about shortening the life expectancy).

this feature adds on screen buttons for buttons which are already a part of the phone, it basically adds a feature which is already there and at the cost of screen space.

i just think there won't be many people who use this feature, but it is there for anybody who will.

a bit like having 2 sets of pedals in a car in the drivers seat, so the driver now has 2 accelerators, 2 brakes and 2 clutches, just in case one of them fails or stops working, but he now has less leg room.

  • 1

#14
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

I'm the same, I'm not a fan of overclocking but I'm still looking in to it, I'm not a fan of AOKP and I still release that for another device.

I was just wondering people's reasoning for using them, not your reasoning for releasing them.

i think people just like to have the option of both. :)

  • 0

#15
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
The option is there for custom buttons though...multi taking button, search button.

  • 0

#16
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

Here you go.
Attached File  Screenshot_2012-07-05-23-04-51.png   375.94KB   45 downloads

hey hpez what rom are you currently running?
how do i get it ? ,and how smooth is it?

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#17
clearvision

clearvision

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Here you go.
Attached File  Screenshot_2012-07-05-23-04-51.png   375.94KB   45 downloads


Sorry, what music app is that? I love my mixzing fullscreen widget, but that one might just be nicer!

  • 0

#18
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Sorry, what music app is that? I love my mixzing fullscreen widget, but that one might just be nicer!

The app is Poweramp: https://play.google....dioplayer&hl=en

hey hpez what rom are you currently running?
how do i get it ? ,and how smooth is it?

I'm running the ICS B926 chinese build that has been released and it is running pretty well. More info on how to install it can be found here: http://www.modaco.co...l-ics-403-b926/

Edited by Hpez, 11 July 2012 - 09:52 AM.

  • 0

#19
rjvc

rjvc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Android, Web, Photography...
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300 | LG P500
  • Twitter:@rjvcastro
Can someone post a working link to the revert to stock zip file? Link is broken.

Thanks.


EDIT: Already reverted to an previous nandroid backup. Thanks anyways.

Edited by rjvc, 18 July 2012 - 07:09 AM.

  • 0

#20
clarkkov

clarkkov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hawaii G300 and MediaPad
  • Twitter:@clarkkov

Can someone post a working link to the revert to stock zip file? Link is broken.

Thanks.


I second this!

  • 0
Something has to be done about it!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users