Jump to content


Photo

[JB] [CM10] [4.1.1] CyanogenMod 10 for the ZTE Crescent [ROM] [Last updated: 01/09]

* * * * - 6 votes

  • Please log in to reply
779 replies to this topic

#1
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Presenting CyanogenMod 10 for the ZTE Crescent!

Jelly Bean!

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

This ROM is an early port of CyanogenMod 10 which as it stands, is choosing not to support our outdated SoC, the MSM7227 making things a little tougher this time. It is mostly the work of tilal6991 and the people pushing early changes to the Gerrit jellybean branches, and me doing bits and pieces when I get the time of course. :P

The Skate got a release before I made this thread and as a result I'm going to be copying most of the advice from there.

THIS IS ONLY FOR THOSE WHO WON'T WHINE ABOUT BROKEN FUNCTIONALITY AND CAN USE ADB.

Check the second post for known issues and the third for a change log.

Sources: github.com/ColdFusionX

Instructions:
  • Grab the ROM and stick it on your SD.
  • Boot in to Recovery by turning the phone off, and turning it on while holding the volume down key.
  • 'Wipe Data/Factory Reset'
  • 'Install zip from sdcard' -> 'Choose zip from sdcard' -> ROM
  • 'Reboot System Now'
  • Give it time - first boot takes longer than usual.
  • Have fun!
What type of device do I have?
  • P736V: Orange San Francisco II, Free Blade S and other variants.
  • P736E: T-Mobile Vivacity, Telenor Touch Plus and other variants.
Downloads:
  • P736V ROM (01/09/2012): http://crescent.thebronasium.com/nightly/cm-10-20120901-UNOFFICIAL-blade2_p736v.zip
  • P736E ROM (01/09/2012): http://crescent.thebronasium.com/nightly/cm-10-20120901-UNOFFICIAL-blade2_p736e.zip
  • Google apps (26/07/2012): http://goo.im/gapps/...0726-signed.zip
Other Credits:
  • tilal6991 - for being awesome, helping me with getting started and offering a ton of advice and fixes.
  • Fuzzra - getting this off the ground in the first place, we wouldn't be here now without his initial work!
  • TomGiordano - the ZTE overlord.
  • fr0do - the awesome Vivacity guinea-pig with getting the buttons fixed up!
  • The entire CyanogenMod team - we'd be pretty stuck without them!
Hall of Fame (Donators):
  • surfungus
  • shockdj
  • chris231
  • Josef Prusa
  • MadEye Moody
  • Nicodolivet

  • 7
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#2
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Working:
  • Mobile Data - 3G/2G
  • Network and RIL
  • Sound
  • USB Mass Storage
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bluetooth
  • Hardware Acceleration
Partially Working:
  • Project Butter - the triple buffering side is working but there's no v-sync.
Not Working:
  • Assume everything else.

A personal opinion:
I feel that this is the final OS version that our trusty Skates will be able to handle without it being unusable. A sad note but hopefully it will be some time before this happens and we still have this to play with until then. Who knows I may be wrong...


  • 3
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#3
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Change Log:

16/07/2012 - R0
  • Initial release.
18/07/2012 - R1
  • Fixed RIL and brought the device closer to clean building
  • Synced with CyanogenMod repos: large feature set added
  • Superuser added and working
  • Various other minor changes
23/07/2012 - R2
  • New dithering patches
  • Fixed telephony crash
  • Various overlay changes
  • Fixed audio routing
  • Fixed A2SD
  • More appropriate market fingerprint
  • The signs of camera support beginning
  • Synced with CyanogenMod repos
24/07/2012 - R3
  • New magical P736E/V building method
  • copybit now accelerates 2D rendering, speeding things up a bit
  • Synced with CyanogenMod repos
31/07/2012 - R4
  • Moved SD card mount location (again), should actually work this time
  • Potentially fixed Play purchases
  • Fiddled with Dalvik VM settings
  • A couple of Wi-Fi changes
  • Large copybit change
  • NB: turn on "don't keep activities" and "disable HW overlays" and enjoy some smoothness
  • Synced with CyanogenMod repos
18/08/2012 - R5
  • Huge changes to the display system making this effectively as smooth as CM9
  • Large restructuring of the device files, and the reformation of a "common" repository between devices available at the ColdFusionX organisation
  • ROM now on a huge diet, the zip comes under 115mb as opposed to the previous 160mb
  • CM9 bootanimation removed, now using the Android default
  • Synced with CyanogenMod repos
01/09/2012 - R6
  • Enabled all I/O schedulers in the kernel, changed the default scheduler to SIO and the default CPU governor to lagfree
  • Fixed paid apps issue
  • Added Crescent proximity values - test without calibration and give feedback
  • Issues resolved preventing us from using the CM10 gralloc and hwcomposer - these are now built in the CM tree - near the end of the display work, very smooth
  • Camera changes - there are currently two Camera apps, the left one should work, sorry about that :)
  • Synced with CyanogenMod repos
  • CM10 boot animation
  • I/O scheduler settings in performance

  • 3
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#4
Titas

Titas

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto g
Woohoo! You've done it again Daz! I don't know how it runs but congrat's on getting a ROM out so quickly.

  • 0

#5
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
I'll post this here too...not sure how helpful it is or if it will even work but apparently it's the Gapps pack for JB...

gapps-4.1.1-Kejar31-20120715.zip

http://www.mediafire...t8z646c56a4t241

I've mirrored it on Google in case it goes missing

https://docs.google....aThIOE1ndzJSaE0

(A hefty 102MB although it could probably be pruned and shaped for our phones cos some of it probably isn't applicable)

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 16 July 2012 - 09:01 PM.

  • 0

#6
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Might not even flash properly unless we allocate the entire data partition to system. :P

It can definitely be trimmed. I've seen a lot of unnecessary crap in these Jelly Bean gapps zips. (Google Plus and Maps to name a few).

Frankly I think the gapps should just contain things that can't be obtained from the market, the market itself and all the Google services.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#7
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
it is looking really good. One question though is anyone else having issues installing superuser and getting root acces?

  • 0

#8
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Just flash it with the androidsu.com zip.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#9
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
Here's the pruned version of the gapps zip, It seems to work OK but I'm still testing through it but it has let me in and sync'd everything up...

gapps-4.1.1-ZTECrescent-Pruned-20120716.zip (60MB)

https://docs.google....RkFMdVg5am1WVWc

Just flash after flashing the rom, I restarted/flashed it after the rom had completely loaded up.

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 16 July 2012 - 09:20 PM.

  • 1

#10
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
Thanks that has worked, I had been using an apk of super user I had, it was installing but nothing was getting root privileges.

  • 0

#11
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Yeah you need more than the apk. If it was just the apk it would be fairly easy to root every device. :P

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#12
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
ah my lack of knowledge shows me up again :blush: , thanks for explaining. am starting to get a vague understanding of this.

  • 0

#13
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
I have an issue with Google Apps all i managed to install was currents which showed up on my list of apps which was some weird news thing they do now. But I actually do not have Google play. I tried to delete some of the apks on the zip file PsYcHoKiLLa kindly provided. I must have deleted something important :D

Edit - I found an APK for Google play and I have installed it and it works. The link to download can be found here http://www.mediafire...42l9pj8zjrn0c1c

Edited by robt77, 16 July 2012 - 11:04 PM.

  • 0

#14
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
I re booted my device and then it got stuck on the boot animation i got the following error on adb logcat

I/DEBUG ( 728): memory map around fault addr deadbaad:
I/DEBUG ( 728): bed3c000-bed5d000 [stack]
I/DEBUG ( 728): (no map for address)
I/DEBUG ( 728): (no map above)
D/Zygote ( 529): Process 1229 terminated by signal (11

  • 0

#15
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Is there a /system/media/bootanimation.zip or /data/local/bootanimation.zip present?

Remove it.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#16
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
Thanks that has done the trick. Out of interest if i wanted to put a different boot animation on. Would I just move the new bootanimation zip back to the same location as the one I just deleted?


Is there a /system/media/bootanimation.zip or /data/local/bootanimation.zip present?

Remove it.


  • 0

#17
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

Thanks that has done the trick. Out of interest if i wanted to put a different boot animation on. Would I just move the new bootanimation zip back to the same location as the one I just deleted?


There shouldn't be one present at all, hence the 2nd post.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#18
MadEye Moody

MadEye Moody

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:ZTECrescent, Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@renjithis
Did wifi and bluetooth work right away or did you port the CM9 fixes into this?

  • 0
Shell script to trim down ROMs (tested on CM9 and CM10) : https://www.dropbox..../zip_trimmer.sh

Shell script (cron ready) to automate syncing, compiling and trimming(requires zip_trimmer.sh) CyanogenMod (currently for CM10, with just a few modifications, will work with CM9 source) : https://www.dropbox....htly_release.sh

#19
MadEye Moody

MadEye Moody

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:ZTECrescent, Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@renjithis
Flashed, installed gapps-pruned , superuser
removed rom manager, added a script to chmod to init.d
installed a2sd (not working actually)

Working pretty good actually

Haven't installed a lot of apps since a2sd doesn't seem to work. now at office, will check when back at home
btw, a2sd check gives

/system/etc/init.d # a2sd check
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
Segmentation fault
/system/bin/bash: /system/bin/launcha2sd: No such file or directory
Segmentation fault

Will test the init.d script and report later

  • 0
Shell script to trim down ROMs (tested on CM9 and CM10) : https://www.dropbox..../zip_trimmer.sh

Shell script (cron ready) to automate syncing, compiling and trimming(requires zip_trimmer.sh) CyanogenMod (currently for CM10, with just a few modifications, will work with CM9 source) : https://www.dropbox....htly_release.sh

#20
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Su is borked for us. So it won't work.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users