4 replies to this topic

koper1

koper1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:GT2, One S
Dear all,
first please forgive me for this post, I know it was probably talked a few times here already, but I am a bit of a newbie in rooting Android, last time I played with custom ROMs was with HTC Diamond. And also for my maybe a bit strange english.

I would be thankful, if someone can point me to the right direction.
The situation is - I have One S (Z520e) from T-mob DE, althoug living in a different part of Europe.
Build nr. 1.77.111.5 CL57593, with kernel 3.0.8-01133-gc80ec91.

What I'd like to achieve at the end is debranding for a regular stack version of European HTC ROM (WWE?), with working OTA, no need for permanent root, can be locked after done. So guess I will need to root it first, change the CID, flash the propper HTC ROM, than unroot (lock) it back.
Is there any tutorial as what software do I need (on Win 7 64) where to get it, and somehow step by step instructions?

Thank You

clivec

clivec

Enthusiast

• MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Interests:Phones, Amateur Radio, General Techy stuff.
  • Devices:HTC one X, Nexus S
  • Twitter:@clivectmob
I had the same situation yesterday with my one S, I bought one second hand and although it had been unlocked, it had branded T-Mobile software on it. There doesn't appear to be any way to debrand currently, so for now i have rooted it, installed cwm recovery and installed paul's ROM off here. It is worth upgrading the radio to the latest too, as the one I had on mine was awful, very random data connection.

I recommend going down this route to debrand for the time being. I was very dissapointed with this phone to start with but now I am very happy with it.

There is no spoon...

koper1

koper1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
OK, my CID is T-MOB101. So there is now no way yet to change it for stock HTC European ROM and still getting the regular OTA? Or at least to get my APNs recognized?

clivec