Jump to content


Photo

Root?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
Any special considerations for rooting the Medion P4102/ZTE Acqua...or do the standard universal methods (One Click, etc) work without issue?

  • 0

#2
sui785

sui785

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade II, 2x
  • Twitter:@silent785
I don't think SuperOneClick will work coz it's for phones with Gingerbread on them.

Wouldn't hurt to try though(if it doesn't work then it doesn't work, won't brick/break ur phone).

Edited by sui785, 30 July 2012 - 01:44 PM.

  • 0

#3
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
Yeah, a long shot that did not work..just as predicted.
Not having much luck on finding valid root info for this phone. No CWM either, apparently.
Another process from another (that I am not familiar with) ZTE phone?
Any help ...or a point in the right direction..would surely be appreciated.

  • 0

#4
sui785

sui785

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade II, 2x
  • Twitter:@silent785

Yeah, a long shot that did not work..just as predicted.
Not having much luck on finding valid root info for this phone. No CWM either, apparently.
Another process from another (that I am not familiar with) ZTE phone?
Any help ...or a point in the right direction..would surely be appreciated.


If you can pull the build.prop, that would be appreciated.

adb pull system/build.prop

You need to put the phone in debugging mode first settings-> development-> usb debugging



Btw does the phone have a custom launcher(a really ugly one?), i have the Blade II and it had a really ugly launcher.

  • 0

#5
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
Added txt extension and attached (did not want to post such a long thing and did not see (or could not find) any <spoiler> tags):

Attached File  build.prop.txt   5.79KB   28 downloads

The stock launcher is (was) not the worst I have ever seen, but after about an hour I had already had enough of the permanent, unmovable or deletable Google Search 'widget' on the Home screen, and not a whole lot of launcher options anyway, so it was replaced pretty quickly. The latest Go Launcher (which is typically a performance killer), runs surprisingly well and fluid.

  • 0

#6
sui785

sui785

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, ZTE Blade II, 2x
  • Twitter:@silent785
ro.product.board=atlas40

Aha a revised Atlas 3,5? :D

You can ask Sebastian404, maybe if he has time, he can help you and make a compatible CWM for your device. He will probably also need to know wether you have a MTD or eMMC device(you can do this by doing adb shell and then cat /proc/mtd)

  • 0

#7
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
Can't get past the "$" in Shell..only get this:

shell@android:/ $ cat /proc/mtd
cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name

Don't really feel comfortable contacting anyone here yet..still new here.
But maybe those with the secrets will see this when I put:

HELP!!!!!
:D

  • 0

#8
Nofan Tasi

Nofan Tasi

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G SII - M P4310 - M 99300
  • Twitter:@tasinofan
perhaps medion does not have ext fs
but if so I found debugfs method interesting
http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1704209

  • 0

#9
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

but if so I found debugfs method interesting
http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1704209

I humbly admit much of that is over my head.
I would end up with a paperweight for sure.

  • 0

#10
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
Does anybody happen to have a stock recovery.img for this phone (or can build me one from Android 4.0.4 source files)?
I made the mistake of trying to flash various recovery.img files (none of which work) in order to attempt to flash SU.And I have no backup of the original.
I think I MAY have found a simple ROOT procedure, but in order to test it, it requires the stock recovery (or any recovery that actually works as right now I have <nothing>).
Any help would be appreciated. Can supply any information needed.

  • 0

#11
Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Does anybody happen to have a stock recovery.img for this phone (or can build me one from Android 4.0.4 source files)?
I made the mistake of trying to flash various recovery.img files (none of which work) in order to attempt to flash SU.And I have no backup of the original.
I think I MAY have found a simple ROOT procedure, but in order to test it, it requires the stock recovery (or any recovery that actually works as right now I have <nothing>).
Any help would be appreciated. Can supply any information needed.


How would one make a backup of the original recovery.img for you?

  • 0

#12
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

How would one make a backup of the original recovery.img for you?


If someone was smart enough (unlike me) to do a temporary root with SU, recovery, boot, etc could then be dumped in ADB. Once a root and CWM (or other recovery) are permanent, then it's too late.

  • 0

#13
Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
I've found a root solution from VOODOOS!L in another topic here on modaco:

I just applied the instructions to root my Medion LifePhone P4012 MD98911 - Medion Life P4012! I noticed I has the same board as the Huawei Ascend G300 (and also very similar to ZTE N880E) although the Medion is delivered with ICS 4.0.4 pre-installed.

thus I only executed these steps:

  • Download 'unlockbootloader.exe' from http://www.modaco.co...attach_id=81949
  • Run 'unlockbootloader.exe' and click 'ROOT Your Phone' - a console will appear and then close, after this open the app drawer and check that Superuser.apk has been installed OK, if so, you now have root.
  • Run 'unlockbootloader.exe' again and this time click 'Unlock BOOTLOADER' - you should see the capacitive buttons flash on your phone and the app will close on completion.
  • Power off your phone, remove battery for a few seconds and replace, then power on whilst holding vol. down and power to go in to fastboot - the phone will hang on the splash screen whilst in fastboot.
After reboot I got a static white FTM screen, no reaction of the phone anymore so I thought it would be death. I booted into recovery console (Power on while holding volume up) and selected 'whipe cache' option. Rebooted the device and everything worked fine with root access!


  • 2

#14
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

I've found a root solution from VOODOOS!L in another topic here on modaco:


Sadly, did not work for me..after many attempts..seems to 'complete' OK, but SU never gets installed.

  • 0

#15
SMHenryT

SMHenryT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Devices:MEDION LIFE P4012 (MD 98911)
Hello,
I bought a Medion P4012 (MD98911) in the Aldi in Belgium. (Btw, there's a typo in the first post by the TS, he wrote P4102)
And I want to root my smartphone.
I also want a backup from the original stockROM so I could flash it back (e.g. if i need it for warranty purposes).
Is this possible? And could someone explain to a noob.
Thanks in advance.

Or do I just have to following these instructions:

•Download 'unlockbootloader.exe' from http://www.modaco.co...ch_id=81949
•Run 'unlockbootloader.exe' and click 'ROOT Your Phone' - a console will appear and then close, after this open the app drawer and check that Superuser.apk has been installed OK, if so, you now have root.
•Run 'unlockbootloader.exe' again and this time click 'Unlock BOOTLOADER' - you should see the capacitive buttons flash on your phone and the app will close on completion.
•Power off your phone, remove battery for a few seconds and replace, then power on whilst holding vol. down and power to go in to fastboot - the phone will hang on the splash screen whilst in fastboot.
After reboot I got a static white FTM screen, no reaction of the phone anymore so I thought it would be death. I booted into recovery console (Power on while holding volume up) and selected 'whipe cache' option. Rebooted the device and everything worked fine with root access!


  • 0

#16
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

Hello,
I bought a Medion P4012 (MD98911) in the Aldi in Belgium. (Btw, there's a typo in the first post by the TS, he wrote P4102)
And I want to root my smartphone.
I also want a backup from the original stockROM so I could flash it back (e.g. if i need it for warranty purposes).
Is this possible? And could someone explain to a noob.
Thanks in advance.

Or do I just have to following these instructions:


Yeah, sorry about the typo..I meant 4012 obviously. Also purchased at Aldi-Belgium last week.
The method you quoted is one that somebody claimed to work on this phone, but I could not confirm it...it did not work for me, but on the other hand no harm came from trying it. Can't guarantee anything, of course.
I was going to try a different method, but cannot without the stock recovery.img...to much fiddling about with recovery images..don't do that!
If you are successful (without replacing recovery), the very next thing you should do is a dump. See here:
http://android.podtwo.com/romdump/
This will not give you a full restorable ROM image (you can only do that with a nandroid backup and you need a ClockworkMod or other recovery for that...and I do not know of an existing working one for this phone), but it will give you something to restore step by step if things go horribly wrong or you need to return the phone for warranty.
PS...I need your recovery.img before you change it... ^_^

  • 0

#17
SMHenryT

SMHenryT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Devices:MEDION LIFE P4012 (MD 98911)
Will this rom dump modify the recovery partition? (or any other files?)
I would prefer to make a full restorable ROM image.
Does someone know how to proceed? Is it correct that we need 2 phones for that?
I'm reading another topic but not everything is clear right now. If I'm correct this is the procedure to follow:
The first person installs clockworkmod recovery and does a nandroid backup (hence by installing CWM the recovery partition is modified)
This person uploads the boot.img and hopefully some clever (genius) forum member creates an insecure boot partition.
The second person installs this insecure boot partition and does a dump of the original recovery partition.
Finally, by combining these two backup's, it is possible to create a full stock ROM image.

Correct? So we need another person with a originally recovery partition.
And after the backup we can ROOT the phone, or is this already done when creating the insecure boot partition?
Btw: if someone can use this, here's some original kernel source code by ZTE.

  • 0

#18
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

Will this rom dump modify the recovery partition? (or any other files?)

Rom dumps don't modify anything. They merely copy what is on the phone.
As for the rest, you really don't need two phones I wouldn't think...the result can be the same:
If you can successfully root, you can dump what you can (including the unmodified recovery.img).
Then (if you can find one or get someone to build one) install a recovery that will allow a nandroid backup (full ROM image). This would be the same as if you 'got' a nandroid backup from somebody else, but safer since it is from your individual phone. Attempting to restore an image from a different phone is full of bad potential.
In the meantime, somebody somewhere is likely to obtain a full backup/update file from Medion eventually. Installing this would overwrite everything back to default standard as delivered.

  • 0

#19
Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Rooting using the instructions I posted above worked flawless here on my Medion P4012. Just make sure you install android adb + zte usb drivers first and test with "adb devices" command to see if it detects your phone before proceeding with the rooting. The bootloader unlocking isn't necessary if you just want root.

  • 0

#20
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
@Avenger 2.0:
Can I have your recovery.img please?

EDIT:

Rooting using the instructions I posted above worked flawless


Success! Once I moved the app (unlockbootloader.exe) into the same path as ADB (for me, Users/<username>), it was able to copy files to the phone as required. I only had to update SU to the SuperSU chainfire version from Google Play and all root functions now seem to work.

Edited by Yurbuh Tuggly, 09 August 2012 - 06:40 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users