USING LINK2SD TO USE INTERNAL SD AS EXTSD.

Guest elperroderoke

Guest elperroderoke

USING LINK2SD TO USE INTERNAL SD AS EXTSD.

I'm not a developer (THANKS TO BACKSIDE http://www.modaco.co...le-s2e-in-g300/ that gave me the clue) so I need some help to improve some things and test in other ROM's.

This was tested in GB stock ROM and ICS Stock too, so please test it in other ROM's to know if it works or it has to be done in other way (I think Link2 SD script is placed in init.d folder in ROM's that supports it).

This is just a simple guide to use the 2Gigas internal memory as EXT-SD so we can use the Link2sd program to move apps, davilk cache and libs to this space than normally is not used when we have the external SD card. This is similar to S2ext, but I like more the options that Link2sd gives us and the fact that it works on every ROM directly and works with FAT32.

First of all we need an SD, and we have to create 2 primary partition, the both of them must be FAT32. You can use Minitool Partition Wizard to make this, or Gpated in Linux

Now we will put this partitioned SD card in the phone and install Link2sd apk. Once we run Link2sd, the program will ask us to select the filesystem of the second partition on SD, just chose the one you used. Once the script is created by the program we will restart the phone.

Now using RootExplorer we will edit the file /system/etc/install-recovery.sh.

#!/system/bin/sh

#added by link2sd

LOG=/data/link2sd-install-recovery.log

echo "$(date) mounting..." > $LOG

mount -t vfat -o rw /dev/block/vold/179:34 /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG

mount -t vfat -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG

mount >> $LOG

echo "$(date) mount finished" >> $LOG

And we will edit in this way (notice /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 is now /dev/block/mmcblk0p19)

#!/system/bin/sh

#added by link2sd

LOG=/data/link2sd-install-recovery.log

echo "$(date) mounting..." > $LOG

mount -t vfat -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p19 /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG