Jump to content


Photo

[ICS] [REPACK] [4.0.3] B936 U8815 Vodafone OTA release [ROM]


  • Please log in to reply
343 replies to this topic

#161
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
This rom is working brilliantly, fast smooth, no problems - except that I'm not sure if the actual phone signal itself is weaker than in other roms. Is this even possible, as the baseband hasn't changed! Is it just my imagination? My data keeps flicking from the 3G indicator to H, sometimes drops off completely. Like I said, might just be my imagination. Anyone else noticed anything similar?

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#162
MiguelPereira

MiguelPereira

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Photography, Computers, Phones, money, Happiness.
  • Devices:LG Prada P940
  • Twitter:@MiguelPereira73
Hi guys!
I've been reading this thread all day long...
Please correct me on these conclusions I've made so far:
  • It runs better/smoother than B934
  • Battery usage is the same if not better
  • Has no Vodafone Bloatware/Software on it (?!)
  • The boot logo is Vodafone
  • Has more available ram.
  • Video recording is still down to 640x480 on B936?
I just pulled the standard Huawei boot Animation files (using Root Explorer) from B934 if someone wants to restore to a full unbranded look. (File one and two)
Thanks everyone!

  • 0

#163
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts

I have noticed that my screen locks after a set time and need re-awakening via either pin or password as the 'slide', 'none' and 'pattern' options are disabled by 'Administrator, encryption policy or credential storage' - Anyone know how to fix this as it gets annoying having to enter a PIN/PW every time the screen locks?

Have you tried installing superuser? First thing I do, then I disable the lock screen completely...

  • 1
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#164
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
its a Vodafone NZ update.Unless you have a stock vodafone nz rom with all stock apps, it will fail and other methods will need to be used.If your coming from a leaked rom or another foreign rom, then it won't be on the version list of applicable updates.

A NZ rom update isn't going to include a check for a UK released rom for example. Its going to see a version number it doesn't recognise and stall.

Try the force update method or other methods already covered in the forum

  • 0

#165
PACOSH

PACOSH

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Ive downloaded two times same result dont get it all my updates were by updatte.app and never had problems:wacko:


i dont know why .app doesnt work for you coz i always use .zip via cwm.. mayb you can try it too, for me works flawlessly.. no need to repeat same step with faulty result if you have another option..

  • 0

#166
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Little bug I found, on slide to unlock screen, pressing menu unlocks the phone.

  • 0

#167
Cobble

Cobble

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Antrim town
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Little bug I found, on slide to unlock screen, pressing menu unlocks the phone.


Not on my phone.


I have noticed that powering off the phone just puts it into hibernation.

  • 0

#168
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 897 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP

Not on my phone.


I have noticed that powering off the phone just puts it into hibernation.

go into the settings and turn off fast boot.
it should be above developer settings

Edited by mack_, 07 September 2012 - 11:22 PM.

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#169
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

Have you tried installing superuser? First thing I do, then I disable the lock screen completely...


I have superuser installed - How do I disable the lock screen?

  • 0

Currently using:-

Coolpad F1

 

rom-442-aosp-nitro-a310-v3-repack

 

 


#170
Cobble

Cobble

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Antrim town
  • Devices:Huawei G300

I have superuser installed - How do I disable the lock screen?


Settings > Security

  • 0

#171
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

Settings > Security


No joy there - I only have the PIN & Password options available - All the rest are greyed out and say :-

'Disabled by administrator,encryption policy or credential storage'

Edited by nsmacd1, 07 September 2012 - 11:37 PM.

  • 0

Currently using:-

Coolpad F1

 

rom-442-aosp-nitro-a310-v3-repack

 

 


#172
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 897 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP
Well i just updated using the middle package way and it is installing now, not sure if it works without though...plus i have what i think is the vendor.update.app(flashing that next,hopefully it works)

nope the vendor.app failed -_-
oh well

Edited by mack_, 07 September 2012 - 11:50 PM.

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#173
2saint4u

2saint4u

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
I have updated from Official non rooted B934 to this B936 via dload folder.

As I did not have weather widget and system tray shortcuts for wifi, etc after 2.3.6 - 4.0.3 (B934) upgrade, I have flashed vendor file and the shortcuts and weather appeared.

Now, on B936 I have weather widget, but there is no shorctus. I have tried to flash vendor file again, it shows like its installing, but no effects after finish. There are no shortcuts :(


Can I now without any trouble go back on 934 via dload folder again? or do I need other steps? is there possibility that my IMEI can be deleted? (I dont have rooted device so I did not made backup.)

  • 0

#174
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
nsmacd1 have you tried removing your pin unlock first under security then do whatever it is you want to do?

  • 0

#175
Faelon

Faelon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Is it worthy enough to go from 934 to 936?

  • 0

#176
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2

Hi guys!
I just pulled the standard Huawei boot Animation files (using Root Explorer) from B934 if someone wants to restore to a full unbranded look. (File one and two)
Thanks everyone!


Hi Thanks for pulling the files,want to go back to the std Huawei ani files, have downloaded both files, i guess i just put both files on my sd card then go to cwm and install from sd card 1 then 2 followed by reboot, can anybody advise is my assumption the right way.....

Tried this and says sig verification failed and also tried Sebastian404 splash screen also says sig verification failed

2nd question

I prefer the way messaging shows messages in B892, in that one message shows in green and the other is plain, wifes phone still runs b892 can it be pulled from her phone and reinstall on B936, if so anybody can somebody advise how....thanks

Edited by bryfly, 08 September 2012 - 08:23 AM.

  • 0

#177
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts

Is it worthy enough to go from 934 to 936?


Most people seem to think 936 is better me included

  • 0

#178
RDower

RDower

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Huaweu U8815

I have a problem with the system on my phone (B936) has no space at all, I have installed AdAway, but it cannot install the update files as there is no space at all, I have looked through Rom Toolbox Pro, but cannot really see much to remove.

Any thoughts?

Andrew

Just noticed the Huawei weather app no longer makes any sounds??? Does anyone else's on this ROM


I had the same issue, the .apk file included in the NZ update is older...4.0.26, i flashed to the Ascend P1 version 4.0.27 and sounds are back.

I also tried to update the HwCamera.apk but it was unstable and always reverted back to stock 1.0.14 when the app crashed. Ascend P1 is version 1.0.3

  • 0

#179
fraska

fraska

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Interests:Informatics, Smartphones, Android, Modding, etc
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@favaroooo
Is it just me or the speaker volume is really lower than B934?

  • 0

Posted Image


Google Nexus 4
ROM: Android 4.3 JWR66J | Recovery: Stock | Radio: 2.0.1700.84 | Kernel: franco.Kernel

#180
MiguelPereira

MiguelPereira

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Photography, Computers, Phones, money, Happiness.
  • Devices:LG Prada P940
  • Twitter:@MiguelPereira73

Hi Thanks for pulling the files,want to go back to the std Huawei ani files, have downloaded both files, i guess i just put both files on my sd card then go to cwm and install from sd card 1 then 2 followed by reboot, can anybody advise is my assumption the right way.....

Tried this and says sig verification failed and also tried Sebastian404 splash screen also says sig verification failed

2nd question

I prefer the way messaging shows messages in B892, in that one message shows in green and the other is plain, wifes phone still runs b892 can it be pulled from her phone and reinstall on B936, if so anybody can somebody advise how....thanks


Hi....
I've changed the boot animation on my wife's Vodafone Smart II... All I did was through Root Explorer, search for the files and with /System mounted as R/W, simply swapped the zip's making sure that they were named the same...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users