Jump to content


Photo

Help! My phone just wiped everything!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
Riddlemc

Riddlemc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300
So I rebooted my phone then all of a sudden it takes me to the whole GB introduction screen and removes all my apps. I had Custom ICS installed and used Titanium Backup but I can't restore anything, all that's left is SuperUser so my phone is still rooted.

So can anyone help me how to restore everything?

  • 0

#2
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
It's gone. It would've wiped data. That typically only happens automatically when you perform a hard firmware upgrade.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#3
Riddlemc

Riddlemc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300

It's gone. It would've wiped data. That typically only happens automatically when you perform a hard firmware upgrade.


Are you telling me I have to do everything again?

  • 0

#4
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

Are you telling me I have to do everything again?


unless you have a nandroid backup on your sdcard

  • 0

#5
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Did you flash a new rom. If there was no reason, its a faulty motherboard issue

  • 0

#6
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Hi

Same thing has just happened to me.

Phone is unlocked and rooted running stock GB rom

Updated a few apps via Google play then went to open Dolphin Jetpack and phone froze.

Pressed power button and screen went black and unresponsive.

Did a battery pull and on boot up the phone is wiped and back to the android welcome screen?

Super su is still present as the previous poster says.

Have no idea why this has happened?

Can anyone help?

Cheers

Steve

  • 0

#7
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
The answer has been given Steve, faulty motherboard

  • 0

#8
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
this is a horrible, horrible bug.
still got my fingers crossed it doesn't hit either of the 2 phones i've given to family members (hasn't yet!). i do have titanium backups, but i'd still be needed there to restore them, and presumably it could happen again, so phone would still need replacing.. :/

  • 0

#9
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Luckily I have a clockwork backup form end July so have restored phone almost.

Just hope it doesn't happen again now.

Its only 6 months old but I don't really want the hassle of tasking it back so fingers crossed!

Steve

  • 0

#10
kill-9

kill-9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Which android build are you running on?
I had this issue with a stock from from LG on my previous phone, I'm more thinking on a firmware issue than a faulty motherboard.

  • 0

#11
Al_1604

Al_1604

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northampton, UK
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2 Duo
I'd recommend this to anyone: http://www.huaweidev...35/hi_suite_en/ (also works (partly) on non-Huawei phones).

  • 0

#12
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Which android build are you running on?
I had this issue with a stock from from LG on my previous phone, I'm more thinking on a firmware issue than a faulty motherboard.


Hi

Running 2.3.6 with stock B885

Steve

  • 0

#13
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Hi

just had my phone wipe itself completely again!

Last time I managed to restore a cwm backup and all was fine.

This time I can't seem to restore my phone properly no matter what I try it only seems to half do it?

I get into cwm and it says its restored but it only seems to do half of it?

Launcher pro force closes along with a few other apps.

Running b885 stock rom with root.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Steve

  • 0

#14
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,884 posts
  • Gender:Male
All of these random wipes seem to only happen on gingerbread. Why don't you upgrade?

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#15
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Yes think Ill look into that

Im stuck on B885 at the minute and cannot upgrade to B892 as it fails

I think I need to remove CWM first which Im trying to do.

Steve

  • 0

#16
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Been trying all day to upgrade without success

I cannot get from B885 to B892 and until I do this no other update will work

I have deleted CWM and put ofiicla recovery on, formatted,rebooted but it always fails.

latest error is E:Error in /sdcard/HwOUC/update.zip

Please can anyone help?

  • 0

#17
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,884 posts
  • Gender:Male

Been trying all day to upgrade without success

I cannot get from B885 to B892 and until I do this no other update will work

I have deleted CWM and put ofiicla recovery on, formatted,rebooted but it always fails.

latest error is E:Error in /sdcard/HwOUC/update.zip

Please can anyone help?


Are you using the official method?

- Download official B952 from huawei

- Extract the 'dload' zip and put it on the root of your SD card

- Turn off the phone, remove battery, and then put the battery back in

- Turn on the phone while holing volume buttons simultaneously

- A pink bar should pop up, and once it progresses to the end, the phone should boot to ICS B952.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#18
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Many thanks for your reply but can I do this straight from B885?

Steve

PS Tried updating B885 to B892 using your method but just get a pink screen

Edited by SteveNotts, 27 January 2013 - 06:17 PM.

  • 0

#19
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,884 posts
  • Gender:Male

Many thanks for your reply but can I do this straight from B885?

Steve


Yes, as this is the official upgrade method.

Edited by kyan31, 27 January 2013 - 06:15 PM.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#20
SteveNotts

SteveNotts

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Thanks

Just thought I had to update my baseband before upgrading.

Steve

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users