Jump to content


Photo

[Mod] Link2Int v1.1 - [Use 2GB internal as app storage - tested with CM9/CM10/CM10.1] 03/12


  • Please log in to reply
172 replies to this topic

#121
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

I have link2int installed via Stock+ R4. Play Store is offering me an update to link2sd. Is it safe to install this or will it cause any problem with link2int functionality? E.g. might it overwrite the link2int script or config with the original link2sd version?

You can update Link2SD app normally, it should be fine.

  • 0

#122
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
Thanks Cyda. :)

  • 0

#123
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

I have link2int installed via Stock+ R4. Play Store is offering me an update to link2sd. Is it safe to install this or will it cause any problem with link2int functionality? E.g. might it overwrite the link2int script or config with the original link2sd version?


You can update Link2SD app normally, it should be fine.


Hi guys.

Can I just ask, in relation to the version of Link2SD installed by Link2Int, which is V 2.2.3.

Would/should I automatically be offered the Play update, which is available, V 2.3.?

Play does not show Link2SD as installed, so if I install the latest version, will it keep my settings, which is basically all user apps, except Link2SD, on Internal SD?

BTW, I flashed this earlier today, and it worked fantastically, no problems whatsoever, even with several re-boots, so it works really well.

Congrats Cyda, both on the Stock+ ROM, and this mod. :)

[My wife is eternally grateful, perhaps I will tell her some day!!!!]

Edited by irishpancake, 12 March 2013 - 12:05 AM.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#124
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
It is strange that Play doesn't show Link2SD as installed I'm sure it normally does but either way you should be fine to update via Play.

  • 0

#125
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

It is strange that Play doesn't show Link2SD as installed I'm sure it normally does but either way you should be fine to update via Play.


So, I went onto Play on the lappy and installed Link2SD.....and low and behold on the phone it said Link2SD updated!!!

Now it shows, both on Play on phone and on lappy, and seems OK...

thanks again Cyda

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#126
spicysomtam

spicysomtam

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, IMobile IQ 5.1
  • Twitter:@amunro
Strange, my init scripts stopped working yesterday after upgrading busybox. On boot, the mount for link2int is not setup. If I run it later, no apps are picked up. Anyone know how to fix/debug init.d? :angry2:

  • 0

#127
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Strange, my init scripts stopped working yesterday after upgrading busybox. On boot, the mount for link2int is not setup. If I run it later, no apps are picked up. Anyone know how to fix/debug init.d? :angry2:

You should be able to use Pimpmyrom to fix the init.d support. Make a nandroid first just in case.

https://play.google....mp.my.rom&hl=en

Edited by Cyda, 18 March 2013 - 12:07 PM.

  • 0

#128
spicysomtam

spicysomtam

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, IMobile IQ 5.1
  • Twitter:@amunro
That did the trick! Thanks Cyda. Its a big download Pimpmyrom. Went for Tools->Init.d support->Activate.

  • 0

#129
Liesse

Liesse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK
I had some trouble with this mod on Daz's new CM10.1 R3. Maybe user specific, certainly caused by user inattention.

Make sure that you run the installed Link2SD quickly BEFORE the Play store downloads a new version of the app for you.

I happily let mine download without thinking about it the first time before I set the thing up the way I wanted it. Once the new version had downloaded, it kept asking me where it wanted the default scripts placing. I had no idea what to click there, kept getting errors and my happily installing apps gave a load of errors.

A factory reset and reflash later, I remembered to run Link2SD as soon as the phone decided it was usable. No issues at all this time. Google play updated the app which seemed to keep my previous settings without issue.

Edited by Liesse, 02 April 2013 - 09:48 PM.

  • 0

#130
sakana280

sakana280

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
This one's an informational post (and also a reference for myself later when i bungle my next OTA).

I just applied an OTA firmware upgrade for CM9 and found that every boot there was an "Android is upgrading" dialog and many apps would crash when started... reinstalling affected apps seemed to work, but i didn't want to do that for all my apps and lose their settings. Various posts online mentioned file permissions and reinstalling Titanium Backup, none of which helped my situation. It eventually twigged that it might be a Link2SD / Link2Int thing, so reading the very first post for this topic, the solution is spelled out very clearly: re-flash Link2Int after any flashing a ROM! After the 2nd reboot, no more "android is upgrading" and no more crashy apps :)

Thank you Cyda for an awesome tool!

  • 0

#131
crawlingcity

crawlingcity

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
hey there.

well, for some unknown (yet) reason, the script won't mount on boot. I can mount it manually via adb shell , but , it's not pratical and its not suppose to be this way. still looking into the issue, but it's a pain in the ass so far.

ROM: SlimRom

  • 0

#132
oldfella

oldfella

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts

hey there.

well, for some unknown (yet) reason, the script won't mount on boot. I can mount it manually via adb shell , but , it's not pratical and its not suppose to be this way. still looking into the issue, but it's a pain in the ass so far.

ROM: SlimRom


check the rom supports init.d ?

  • 0

#133
crawlingcity

crawlingcity

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

check the rom supports init.d ?


It does. And it worked previously, i linked several of my apps to the sdext folder. but after i rebooted the mount script stopped working.

  • 0

#134
moochermick

moochermick

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei g300, g510
Anyone know if this can be used on the G510?
I used it on my g300 and miss it so much.

  • 0

#135
crawlingcity

crawlingcity

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
well, i gave up. ended up partioning my sdcard (since i have 8gb having 1gb dedicated to apps is not that much) and i'm using link2sd normally. to bad it won't just "work" out of the box on slimrom.

PS: I'm not blaming cyda or anything, its obviously a rom fault. Just posting incase someone else has the same problem.

  • 0

#136
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Anyone know if this can be used on the G510?
I used it on my g300 and miss it so much.

I've not looked at one of those models; it would all depend on if the partitions were numbered the same as on the G300, I'd doubt it though.

Edited by Cyda, 24 May 2013 - 07:01 PM.

  • 0

#137
moochermick

moochermick

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei g300, g510

I've not looked at one of those models; it would all depend on if the partitions were numbered the same as on the G300, I'd doubt it though.


Thanks for the reply, I have looked at the partitions and I think on g510 it is mmcblk0p18 or something.
I created partition on external sd to get install.recovery.sh then edited the file to above block.
It shows the partitions in link2sd but not sure why it still links to /data. Will remove partition on external sd and see what happens.if i figure it out, would it be ok to share it in the g510 section?

  • 0

#138
derei

derei

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Do I still have to follow some steps listed in here , especially for partitioning the external SD ? I flashed the file, I also have Link2SD application installed but I cannot move anything on the internal 2GB partition. It moves either on the SD or on the internal 756MB storage.
I am using a Baidu ROM (a earlier version of this ).
If you need some logs/files/anything, just tell me how to reach them and I will provide.

  • 0

#139
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Thanks for the reply, I have looked at the partitions and I think on g510 it is mmcblk0p18 or something.
I created partition on external sd to get install.recovery.sh then edited the file to above block.
It shows the partitions in link2sd but not sure why it still links to /data. Will remove partition on external sd and see what happens.if i figure it out, would it be ok to share it in the g510 section?

If the only difference is that the partition number has changed then you shouldn't need to do anything more than edit the 01link2int_mount file in the Link2Int zip. Double check the partition numbers and make sure that the partiton is mmcblk0p18 and if so then do the following:

Open the link2int zip with 7zip, open the file /data/local/userinit.d/01link2int_mount with notepad++ and change this line:
mount -t vfat -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p19 /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG
to
mount -t vfat -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p18 /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG
Then save the file and try flashing it (nandroid first of course). As long as you got the partition number correct, and the Settings > Storage > Default is to external then everything should work just as it did on the G300.

And yeah, if this works feel free to share it.

Do I still have to follow some steps listed in here , especially for partitioning the external SD ? I flashed the file, I also have Link2SD application installed but I cannot move anything on the internal 2GB partition. It moves either on the SD or on the internal 756MB storage.
I am using a Baidu ROM (a earlier version of this ).
If you need some logs/files/anything, just tell me how to reach them and I will provide.

The only steps that you need to follow are in the first post, you shouldn't need to do anything else. If it isn't working then it is possible the rom doesn't support init.d, if so then try using this app: https://play.google....niversal.init.d Once that is installed and enabled it should just be a case of flashing the zip from the first post and you should be up and running.

Edited by Cyda, 26 May 2013 - 09:50 AM.

  • 0

#140
derei

derei

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

The only steps that you need to follow are in the first post, you shouldn't need to do anything else. If it isn't working then it is possible the rom doesn't support init.d, if so then try using this app: https://play.google....niversal.init.d Once that is installed and enabled it should just be a case of flashing the zip from the first post and you should be up and running.


But in system/etc/init.d I have a file called 90userinit ... shouldn't that mean the rom has init.d support ? Or the presence of the file is not enough ? I will use the app you mentioned and then I will come back with update.

UPDATE
I installed universal init.d enabler, now I DO HAVE init.d support, Link2SD doesn't warn me anymore about missing partition, but still the apps are moved to the EXTERNAL SD, instead on the 2GB internal partition...
I removed the External SD, to see what happens when I try to move something (I tried with dolphin mini browser) and I got this error:

Failure
pkg: /data/app/com.dolphin.browser-1.apk Failure [INSTALL_FAILED_MEDIA_UNAVAILABLE]

...still need help to "convince" Link2SD to move files where I want to...
Thanks.

Edited by derei, 26 May 2013 - 11:55 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users