Jump to content


Photo

Jr11 (JDQ39 / 4.2.2): MoDaCo Custom ROM for the Nexus 4

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
638 replies to this topic

#481
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
A few people on xda have reported music streaming over bluetooth rather better on 4.2.2 but they all seemed to have whipped themselves into such a frenzy of anticipation that I'd guess it could well be placebo
Time will tell
Looking forward to any battery improvements (i gather the n7 has gained a couple of hours of battery life with the update, which is certainly not to be sniffed at)

Edited by The Soup Thief, 14 February 2013 - 10:24 PM.

  • 0

#482
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

It does indeed. Like I say a clean install may fix it? I'll give that a go tomorrow.


Unlikely tbh, but you never know...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#483
jmagee

jmagee

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4; Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@jay84uk

Unlikely tbh, but you never know...

P


A guy can dream.


Do you have the nexus 7 files? My device has downloaded them.

  • 0

#484
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

A guy can dream.


Do you have the nexus 7 files? My device has downloaded them.



I have them all! Only had time to do the N4 so far - will do GN next, then N7, then N7 3G then N10.

Then refresh MCMCRs to 4.2.2 if it's merged. :-D

P

  • 1

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#485
jmagee

jmagee

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4; Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@jay84uk

I have them all! Only had time to do the N4 so far - will do GN next, then N7, then N7 3G then N10.

Then refresh MCMCRs to 4.2.2 if it's merged. :-D

P



That'll keep you out of mischief ;)

  • 0

#486
logitechor

logitechor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Brand new member. Flashed the Kitchen Jr8 with old baseband. LTE working. All seems as it should. Nice job and thank you.

  • 0

#487
Sn0warmy

Sn0warmy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Devices:Nexus 4 | Nexus 7
Hey Paul,

After performing a fresh install of Jr8 and spending a few hours setting up the phone and tinkering with it, I have only found one strange issue. The brightness slider has a strange overlay on it:

Posted Image

I wiped everything 3 times before flashing and checked the MD5 sum as well. Since setting the phone up I have wiped cache, dalvik cache, and fixed permissions but the issue with the brightness slider still persists.

Aside from that everything's great for me since I don't use Bluetooth.

Edited by Sn0warmy, 15 February 2013 - 05:12 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#488
Sn0warmy

Sn0warmy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Devices:Nexus 4 | Nexus 7
Scratch that. I just unplugged the phone from the computer and rebooted and the overlay is gone. Looks like everything is working just fine!

  • 0
Posted Image

#489
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
Initial signs spell an improvement in battery life - off charge for the last 7 and a half hours. Screen on for half an hour this morning while reading the paper over breakfast. Minimal power loss thereafter until a long drive round Dublin - 2 and a half hours with screen on for sat nav during this. 2 quick calls (5 mins each). Now at 68%. I think that's pretty good going - better than expected anyway (it's a big screen to light up for all that long time!)

Oh, and not a sniff of Mediaserver drain, despite having played Vice City since last reboot

Edited by The Soup Thief, 15 February 2013 - 02:40 PM.

  • 0

#490
Formel-LMS

Formel-LMS

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4/7
  • Twitter:@FormelLMS
Paul, ones request.
If you probably now, google has an bug in car home.
Before Jelly bean we can use car home Launcher which overrides the home key. That's a very good feature to make driving safely. This is completely gone since jelly bean.
The aokp team has a fix since m3 version of their rom.
Do you think you can implement this fix for use car drivers?

Btw Bluetooth A2dp is properly working here. I've made a full wipe before.

  • 0

Follow me to: Handy-FAQ Nexus One Forum Germany

My Morph Themes for NexusOne

Supporting MCR, Cyanogen and Enomther ROMs

Formels Real Desire Statusbar ||| GlasStatusBar

Black FormelsStatusbar

Formels Notification Icons ||| Nicer Battery Icons


Do not Donate me for my work. It's free, it's Open Source. If you take some of my stuff, it is nice, when you give me credits.


#491
Sn0warmy

Sn0warmy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Devices:Nexus 4 | Nexus 7
After a full day of normal use I can report that battery life is considerably better than it was on 4.2.1. Without changing my routine I have just under 80% battery remaining right now when I normally have 40%-50%.

Very happy.

Edit: I should mention that I'm running Franco's r72 kernel with no changes to frequency settings as well.

Edited by Sn0warmy, 16 February 2013 - 12:32 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#492
slambkny

slambkny

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
SORRY. But I am a paid member and I've only used the kitchen once. I can never figure out how to get to it... Can some one please give me one time specific directions to get right to it???? I want to bake jr8 422. Nexus 4
Please HELP

  • 0

#493
comicbookguy

comicbookguy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bolton, England
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Nexus 7, Nexus 4

SORRY. But I am a paid member and I've only used the kitchen once. I can never figure out how to get to it... Can some one please give me one time specific directions to get right to it???? I want to bake jr8 422. Nexus 4
Please HELP


its always the second post on the first page of the topic

  • 0

#494
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
@slambkny best you access it from a pc (or mac) rather than mobile for various reasons (eg it doesn't appear through Tapatalk)
Otherwise as mentioned above, it's on page one of this thread. Should be straight forward

Edited by The Soup Thief, 16 February 2013 - 08:29 AM.

  • 0

#495
Sim-1

Sim-1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
Guys just a quick question: coming from the previous version of Modaco with Franco Kernel (the latest), should I flash the stock kernel before upgrading to the new Modaco? I read somewhere that Franco's kernel uses a different ramdisk that needs to be reverted to stock before changing it? Thanks for any help or clarification on the matter!

  • 0

#496
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
Naah - just flash. (well, always backup before you do anything, obviously) but I flashed this over Paul's cyanogenmod kang with a custom kernel and a custom recovery. All fine

  • 0

#497
Sim-1

Sim-1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male

Naah - just flash. (well, always backup before you do anything, obviously) but I flashed this over Paul's cyanogenmod kang with a custom kernel and a custom recovery. All fine


I thought so... but wanted to be reassured! Thanks! ;)

  • 0

#498
i_maq

i_maq

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@i_maq
Help, I forgot to uncheck the Modaco boot logo - any quick way of flashing the default without rebaking, downloading and flashing?

Edit: Never mind - how do I delete a post??

Edited by i_maq, 16 February 2013 - 11:41 AM.

  • 0

#499
Eruscool

Eruscool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Nexus 7
Just did a fresh install without updating the baseband . everything seemed to work great but turns out I can't make any calls. I wonder if the baseband has anything to do with it.

  • 0

#500
rpcob

rpcob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sensation & Nexus 4

Hey Paul,

After performing a fresh install of Jr8 and spending a few hours setting up the phone and tinkering with it, I have only found one strange issue. The brightness slider has a strange overlay on it:

Posted Image

I wiped everything 3 times before flashing and checked the MD5 sum as well. Since setting the phone up I have wiped cache, dalvik cache, and fixed permissions but the issue with the brightness slider still persists.

Aside from that everything's great for me since I don't use Bluetooth.


I get this too. Cant seem to find a way to remove it even after rebooting and reflashing. I also have odd spacing between notifications now that results in clipping. Any one have these problems too or can offer a fix?

Posted Image

Edited by rpcob, 16 February 2013 - 10:50 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users