Jump to content


Photo

New OTA Update B952 announced by Vodafone for 28/11/12

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
146 replies to this topic

#1
Huaweian

Huaweian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
Hi,

Apparently, a new ICS Update for the Huawei G300 is being released OTA from 28/11/12.

"I’m pleased to say that Huawei will begin rolling out the new G300 software (B952), that will address the broken dictionary issue, from Wednesday 28th November. We’ve tested the other problems you’ve reported and haven’t been able to reproduce them in this new software."

See: http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Huawei/Huawei-Ascend-G300-upgrade-to-Android-4-0-ice-Cream-Sandwich/m-p/1350300#M1190

  • 0

#2
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I guess that's good news but it sounds a little like all they've done is fix the dictionary

Edited by Hans Gruber, 23 November 2012 - 05:10 PM.

  • 0

#3
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

I guess that's good news but it sounds a little like all they've done is fix the dictionary


lol that would actually be hilarious,

i just think they are dumb... i mean who actually cares about the dictionary fix... we have been able to fix it are self since day one...

people are more interested in fixes for the the things we have failed to resolve are self > caller id lag, reverting storage option, HW acceleration, etc...

  • 0

#4
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
I bother about the dict-fix - not one of the methods posted has ever worked for me. And before you ask, not for lack of care, attention or experience (I've been hacking and roming since Symbian and the first xbox).
Well, OK, being a little impatient and, also, not really considering it a major problem, I didn't try 'every fix' but I did try every zip which always failed to install - whatever I did - and tried forcing the appropriate .apk into the system , either via root exp. or system app installer (a very useful tool, especially for those new 4.2 google apps) and none of that worked. Would it have worked via adb? I was to dis-interested to boot up and find out!

Edited by blatny93, 30 November 2012 - 01:22 PM.

  • 0

#5
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

I bother about the dict-fix - not one of the methods posted has ever worked for me. And before you ask, not for lack of care, attention or experience (I've been hacking and roming since Symbian and the first xbox).

The method works flawlessly from my experience, I've used it on almost every repack. Plus every single custom rom on here has that fix included.

  • 0

#6
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts

The method works flawlessly from my experience, I've used it on almost every repack. Plus every single custom rom on here has that fix included.


Same

  • 0

#7
krishang3

krishang3

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Auckland
  • Interests:lots
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
As tillaz said, it would be hilarious if they just did dict fix lol.

But i think they have done more as he mentioned they couldn't reporuce the same errors reported in the new build that's sounds convincing..

  • 0
Thanks, If I helped in anyway don't forget to rep me :)

#8
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
They mainly just need to fix.

Dictionary.
Memory management to stop apps just closing.
Default storage bug.

Hardware acceleration isn't really a bug so can't include that.

The stock roms wouldn't be THAT bad with above issues fixed.

  • 1

#9
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
memory management yes. this is appalling to have things randomly crash (or just about guaranteed if you really use the phone) in 2012.

anyway good to know they haven't abandoned G300 quite yet. it's about #2 seller on Amazon, must still be selling pretty well..

Edited by Smiff2, 23 November 2012 - 08:15 PM.

  • 0

#10
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android

Hi,

Apparently, a new ICS Update for the Huawei G300 is being released OTA from 28/11/12.

"I’m pleased to say that Huawei will begin rolling out the new G300 software (B952), that will address the broken dictionary issue, from Wednesday 28th November. We’ve tested the other problems you’ve reported and haven’t been able to reproduce them in this new software."

See: http://forum.vodafon...p/1350300#M1190

Next Wednesday, we will get a perfect ROM...

Edited by MrPuddington, 24 November 2012 - 03:46 PM.

  • 1

#11
thebuell

thebuell

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Y300, Nexus 7
Damn and I already deleted vodabloat and used link2sd to move updated system apps into system, also fixed h0rked dictionary on B936... Will I have to do most of that all over again with B952, or can I use the bundled huawei backup app to restore?

  • 0

#12
unaszplodrmann

unaszplodrmann

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300

i just think they are dumb... i mean who actually cares about the dictionary fix...


All the people who don't install 3rd party firmware?

Hardly indicative of dumbness. On the contrary, to risk seriously denting repeat custom because of knackered spellchecker would be dumb.

  • 0
Kill the bee... and ultimately... you'll have nothing to spread on your toast — John Shuttleworth

#13
psionandy

psionandy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, England
  • Interests:Mobile tech.. gadgets.. Liverpool FC
  • Devices:Note 2 and Ascend G300 CM10 R2
  • Twitter:@psionandy
Its not the full thing by any stretch.. but its good to see that someone in the company is making an effort to take some steps in the right direction... even if they are rather small steps

Edited by psionandy, 24 November 2012 - 06:24 PM.

  • 0

 Psion Revo+ -> Psion 5MX -> Sony ClieT675-> Palm T2-> Sharp Zaurus 5500 -> AximX50V-> MDA Compact-> Vario II ->Vario III ->Samsung Omnia ->T-Mobile Pulse -> Huawai-G300 -> Nook HD+ ->Samsung Galaxy Note II


#14
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
i just think people wanted to hear that the more important things where fixed, like not been able to see who is calling you

  • 0

#15
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Any NZ 300 owners here. I read that this has already been released there?

  • 0

#16
krishang3

krishang3

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Auckland
  • Interests:lots
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Any NZ 300 owners here. I read that this has already been released there?

yes. Maybe... but I'm not one.. I don't think that tempered it modded firmwares can receive updates

  • 0
Thanks, If I helped in anyway don't forget to rep me :)

#17
PaulMilbank

PaulMilbank

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts

Any NZ 300 owners here. I read that this has already been released there?


Not according to the updater on my wifes stock g300. Still on 936 here in nz.

  • 0

#18
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300

  • 0

#19
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_
I hope someone can upload the update.app for this version of ICS..

  • 0

#20
billyboy2468

billyboy2468

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
tillaz thats what i was hoping for,when phoning someone the screen goes blank on ics,went back to gb and presto its fine again,do you think it could be fixed in this update,thanks

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users