Dev 3.0+ Kernel + CM 10.1/JB 4.2

Guest DeathArrow

Guest DeathArrow

Alright, I'm quite inexperienced when it comes to porting Android, but I'm a programmer and I've already developed software under Linux, so I'm going to try and port kernel 3.0+ and CM 10.1 or JB 4.2 to our device.

CM 10.1 is almost building, I have to iron out some errors but I think I'll get it to compile correctly in a few days. However we have no 3.0+ kernel. And JB with 2.6 kernel doesn't seem too attractive to me.

I'm trying also to port a 3.0+ kernel to our device, and that is the most hard thing to do. You can't diff stock 2.6 kernel and patch against 3+ kernel because 3.0 and 2.6 kernels are quite different things. Heck, you can't even use the lge patches against a 2.6 kernel because LG made quite ugly source modifications and hacks after hacks.

So my goals are:

a.) build CM 10.1/JB against 2.6 kernel, to have something to test against

b.) port some 3.0+ kernel to our device

For a.) I think it's an easy job. For b.) it's quite hard.

I have three ideas to follow:

1.) use kernel 3.0 from LG L5 / lge 610

2.) use kernel from CAF and add drivers and patches

3.) use regular android kernel 3.0+ from nexus devices and add drivers and patches

I've tried 1.), but the boards are quite different, I was able to boot the kernel but got kernel panics. I've looked to the source and the code for lge 610 is quite different from the code for e400, board is different and lge modifications of source code sucks big time. If I am ever to decide to hire a former LG coder, I would not. They just fu...cked the kernel source lots of if defs and custom bulshiting with the android kernel

3.) is last idea I will try it if 2.) isn't suitable for some reasom

2.) is our best bet to have a modern, new kernel for our device and have JB 4.2 CM 10.1 shine.

Code Aurora already has most of Qualcomm drivers in the source tree, I have just to add different drivers for some devices (lots of) not made by Qualcomm.