Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][ICS-B952]Slim ROM


  • Please log in to reply
443 replies to this topic

#341
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

E: anybody else who doesn´t have Downloads-'app'? Very annoying to downloand something when browser crashes 'cause I don´t have that.

I looked at the Slim ROM zip and in system/app I can see DownloadProvider.apk but not DownloadProviderUI.apk.
I looked at the Stock+ ROM zip and it has both.
Judging by this link the first provides the Downloads functionality while the latter provides the UI for the user to interact with it:

http://forums.androi...remove-big.html

Perhaps you could download the Stock+ ROM zip, extract the DownloadProvideUI.apk from it and then install it on Slim ROM to see if the app icon then appears?

http://www.modaco.co...-updated-06-03/

Obviously do a Nandroid backup in CWM/TWRP before doing anything like this so that you can revert to your working setup.
Hope this helps.

Edited by dalyer, 05 August 2013 - 10:35 AM.

  • 1

#342
Tatoro

Tatoro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@Tatoro

I looked at the Slim ROM zip and in system/app I can see DownloadProvider.apk but not DownloadProviderUI.apk.
I looked at the Stock+ ROM zip and it has both.
Judging by this link the first provides the Downloads functionality while the latter provides the UI for the user to interact with it:

http://forums.androi...remove-big.html

Perhaps you could download the Stock+ ROM zip, extract the DownloadProvideUI.apk from it and then install it on Slim ROM to see if the app icon then appears?

http://www.modaco.co...-updated-06-03/

Obviously do a Nandroid backup in CWM/TWRP before doing anything like this so that you can revert to your working setup.
Hope this helps.


Thanks, now I got it!

Still got that notification problem...

  • 0

#343
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

Thanks, now I got it!


You mean extracting DownloadProviderUI.apk from another ROM and installing it did the trick? Or something else did?

Still got that notification problem...


Sorry - I have no idea about that one myself.

  • 0

#344
Hoggonator

Hoggonator

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Devices:G300
Been a while since I posted here.

Been running Slim for ages (v13) as it is the best ROM for this phone IMHO

I just DL'd PaulM's Kernal #15 to run with this. How do you set the overclocking? Do you DL a separate app or am I missing a hidden system option?

  • 0

#345
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

Been a while since I posted here.

Been running Slim for ages (v13) as it is the best ROM for this phone IMHO

I just DL'd PaulM's Kernal #15 to run with this. How do you set the overclocking? Do you DL a separate app or am I missing a hidden system option?


You need to download a separate app.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#346
Hoggonator

Hoggonator

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Devices:G300
No Frills clocked at 1.19 caused a reboot within 5 mins so will keep it as it is as I had no real complaints about performance

  • 0

#347
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

No Frills clocked at 1.19 caused a reboot within 5 mins so will keep it as it is as I had no real complaints about performance


Try 1.15Ghz, that is usually stable for most, if not all G300's.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#348
ptoner

ptoner

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
I run SLIM v13, officially unlocked bootloader and always run no fills at 1.229Ghz.
Never any issues! :) Lucky me!

  • 2

#349
radek666

radek666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Guys, I've got a bit of an odd question here.

Is there any way to remove google searchbar from the main display of the phone?

I don't like the way that bar covers my wallpaper plus I don't use this searchbar anyhow so I don't need it.

I saw no searchbar like this one in miui roms.

  • 0

#350
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
It depends on your launcher, I don't know which one comes with this rom. Check the launcher settings, otherwise try a different launcher.

  • 0

#351
sedj

sedj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
To remove the Google search bar just long press it and when highlighted move to the bin.

  • 0

#352
Tatoro

Tatoro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@Tatoro

You mean extracting DownloadProviderUI.apk from another ROM and installing it did the trick? Or something else did?



Sorry - I have no idea about that one myself.



Yeah, extracted DownloadProviderUI.apk, and copied it to system/app.

  • 0

#353
aleksa513

aleksa513

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:huawei g300
Site http://www.solidfile...m/d/41a8392e13/ no work for download slim rom v13. Can somebody tell me if there's another site where I removed or to appoint someone to upload a center.

  • 0

#354
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

Site http://www.solidfile...m/d/41a8392e13/ no work for download slim rom v13. Can somebody tell me if there's another site where I removed or to appoint someone to upload a center.

Works fine for me. Are you sure it's not your security/AV software that's blocking it?

  • 0

#355
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

Site http://www.solidfile...m/d/41a8392e13/ no work for download slim rom v13. Can somebody tell me if there's another site where I removed or to appoint someone to upload a center.

You can't download from solid files on mobile data so easily. You have to use WiFi or a p.c , took me a while to suss this . J

  • 0
Biohazard

#356
Tatoro

Tatoro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@Tatoro
Dont´t know what I did, but now I´m getting atleast gmail notifications.

Anybody knows app which have CPU-Profiles? SetCPU ain´t working.

  • 0

#357
denzele

denzele

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Down Under
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300- Ascend P1
I'm not sure if my Ascend is about to die soon or Slim rom is starting to lag a lot and be very Ram consuming suddenly . Anyone experiencing similar issues? :huh:

Everything 's seems to be fine until few days back when memory started drooping below 30Mb left which makes phone unusable honestly . What it used to be more then 140 MB + as normal before. I found out that if i restart the phone all comes back to normal around 140 MB the a few hours later I see more then 330MB in use. And nothing unusual running in Apps just Settings,Greenify and Keyboard. That's it.

Been loving this rom for so long but if I can't found the fix for this I might have to switch to another rom. :angry:

Edited by denzele, 19 August 2013 - 01:49 PM.

  • 0

#358
Dovahpig

Dovahpig

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Devices:Telenor Touch Plus
^switch to what? This is the least memory consuming rom.
Delety greenify - its crap, also whats wrong with stock keyboard? It uses only 800kb of ram. Others 20+ mb..

  • 0

#359
denzele

denzele

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Down Under
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300- Ascend P1
It seems better now . 150 MB on ram which is just fine.

I totally disagree with you about Greenify mate . If nothing this little app saves me battery and ram usage like never before.

Just curious why you think that Greenify is crap?

  • 0

#360
smweb

smweb

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Devices:Ascend G300

^switch to what? This is the least memory consuming rom.
Delety greenify - its crap, also whats wrong with stock keyboard? It uses only 800kb of ram. Others 20+ mb..


Greenify works fine for me.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users