Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][ICS] Stock+ ROM [B960 - R6 | Updated: 06-03]


1231 replies to this topic

#821
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Looking for a little help. I've noticed lately, that it takes awhile for my phone to find it's head after coming off deep sleep. (not sure if this relates to the discussion over the last few days or not)

The clock settings are:
Max: 1.152 Ghz
Min: 320 mhz
Gov: smartassV2
Scheduler: sio

Also thinking that perhaps the phone is too full.
SD card: 17% free
Ext.SD (using the Link2int): 65% free
Internal: 12% free

Thanks in advance


I've got the same settings except I'm using noop as advised, instead of sio, so I guess you could try that as I don't have the problem you report.

My ext SD is pretty much full but my 2.05GB internal is empty at the moment as I haven't got round to setting up Link2int yet. Not sure how you check the % free on all locations.

  • 0

#822
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

it will

sleep_mode=0 won't


Great, thanks.

On another matter, looking at PimpMyRom it has options to Enable HW acceleration and Force GPU Rendering which are both currently shown as OFF and I wonder if enabling them would improve the phone's performance?

It also has an option to Detect Current Value for the WiFi Scan Interval but just says "Current Value Not Found".

EDIT: Looking at build.prop, I see a persist.wifi_scan_interval=149 as well as wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=150 (which I just set). I thought PimpMyRom might have created the former as I did set the slider to 149 (although didn't Apply, so didn't expect it to do anything) but using "Detect Current Value" shows 150 now, so that seems to be linked to the wifi.supplicant_scan_interval and not this other setting.

Edited by doveman, 20 March 2013 - 02:39 PM.

  • 0

#823
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

this normally happens when the Min clock speed is to two low, think smartass puts it on the lowest possible when off

try changing to ondemand, and see if it still happens,
or get an app that monitors you clock speeds and see what its on when in deep sleep, if its lower than 320 mhz that might be why

that seems better, I'll keep an eye on it. Thanks

  • 0

#824
Timbones

Timbones

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@timbones

those settings are for how the CPU is handled once the screen is off, it wont have an effect on the WiFi radio

pm.sleep_mode=0 -> Power Collapse Suspend
pm.sleep_mode=1 -> Power Collapse (Provides best power savings)
pm.sleep_mode=2 -> Apps Sleep
pm.sleep_mode=3 -> Slow Clock and Wait for Interrupt
pm.sleep_mode=4 -> Wait for Interrupt

This technical blog post busts the myth of pm.sleep_mode, and states "adding this value to your build.prop will have no effect at all". There's nothing about the ril power collapse setting, but there's a comment that seems to suggest that it'll have no effect either. I'd guess that 0 was the default anyway.

Anyone got empirical evidence that these do have any effect?

As Winston Churchill once said: "don't believe anything you read on the Internet". ;)

  • 0

#825
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

I've got the same settings except I'm using noop as advised, instead of sio, so I guess you could try that as I don't have the problem you report.

My ext SD is pretty much full but my 2.05GB internal is empty at the moment as I haven't got round to setting up Link2int yet. Not sure how you check the % free on all locations.

I got the percentages from the Link2SD app, that comes along when you flash the Link2int zip

  • 0

#826
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I got the percentages from the Link2SD app, that comes along when you flash the Link2int zip


Thanks for the info, I'll reinstall that soon then, just want to test the ROM and apps a bit more first :)

  • 0

#827
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

This technical blog post busts the myth of pm.sleep_mode, and states "adding this value to your build.prop will have no effect at all". There's nothing about the ril power collapse setting, but there's a comment that seems to suggest that it'll have no effect either. I'd guess that 0 was the default anyway.

Anyone got empirical evidence that these do have any effect?

As Winston Churchill once said: "don't believe anything you read on the Internet". ;)


Spoilsport ;)

  • 0

#828
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

As Winston Churchill once said: "don't believe anything you read on the Internet". ;)


Winston Churchill said that??

I think it cudda been his Black Dawg said it.....

Woof.... Woof!!! ;-)

Edited by irishpancake, 20 March 2013 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#829
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,881 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Googleplex
  • Interests:Space
  • Devices:Moto X

As Winston Churchill once said: "don't believe anything you read on the Internet". Posted Image


exactly... and i don't believe what you just read on the internet, ;)

i have personally used these settings in ROMs, and know for a fact they make a difference for a couple of reasons

the main one begin that if you set it to =0 things like whatsapp, viber, gmail, etc.. stop receiving any messages once in deep sleep, until the screen is turned on

back on my gingerbread Rom for the zte skate, i used to set it to =0 until people reported the above... after changing to =1 it was ok


Anyone got empirical evidence that these do have any effect?


try them and find out

  • 0

#830
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

try them and find out


Indeed, I certainly can't see that they could hurt, even if they don't help much.

If we didn't believe anything we read on the Internet there wouldn't be much point having it ;)

  • 1

#831
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

Indeed, I certainly can't see that they could hurt, even if they don't help much.

If we didn't believe anything we read on the Internet there wouldn't be much point having it ;)


Yeah... this whole ting could be one gigantic lie....

I mean did those guys really walk on the Moon back in the day!!

I mean, has anyone ever seen a tweet from Niel Armstrong from the surface....

Never happened I tell ya...

now, if it woz Lance.....

then I'd believe :lol: :rolleyes:

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#832
zex_rad

zex_rad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300 U8815
I would like to have this battery mod on this ROM... Anyone have it?
Thanks...
http://www.modaco.co...attach_id=82141

  • 0

#833
Pain_Deluxe

Pain_Deluxe

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:skating,hardware,cars
  • Devices:Huawei G300 [email protected]

I have this bugs (little bugs):

- On dead trigger and shadowgun dont work well
- After a while, the light my buttons dont work, I have to reboot to fix it.


Dead Trigger graphic issues is an kernel and adreno driver problem.

Use CM9 or GB to avoid this problem

  • 0

#834
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300
As Winston Churchill once said: "don't believe anything you read on the Internet". Posted Image
A bit late for that ,"Churchill you sly old bugger".

  • 0
Biohazard

#835
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

As Winston Churchill once said: "don't believe anything you read on the Internet". Posted Image
A bit late for that ,"Churchill you sly old bugger".


Oh, good old Churchie, who I learnt today (thanks Private Eye) responded to the 1926 general strike by urging Stanley Baldwin "to take the BBC under state control and use it as a government mouthpiece" and "setting up an official government newspaper, the British Gazette, which he ran from number 11 Downing Street". When the Daily Mirror printed a cartoon he didn't approve of in 1942, he proposed closing it down!

So I can quite believe he would have discouraged us from believing anything we read, other than in the official state newspaper/website of course ;)

  • 0

#836
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

Oh, good old Churchie, who I learnt today (thanks Private Eye) responded to the 1926 general strike by urging Stanley Baldwin "to take the BBC under state control and use it as a government mouthpiece" and "setting up an official government newspaper, the British Gazette, which he ran from number 11 Downing Street". When the Daily Mirror printed a cartoon he didn't approve of in 1942, he proposed closing it down!

So I can quite believe he would have discouraged us from believing anything we read, other than in the official state newspaper/website of course ;)

I wasn't knocking you're post , just referring it back to one of mine you probably didn't read. Always good to learn about are history and thanks J.

  • 0
Biohazard

#837
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I wasn't knocking you're post , just referring it back to one of mine you probably didn't read. Always good to learn about are history and thanks J.


Nah, I didn't think for a minute you were ;)

  • 0

#838
dinamo1975

dinamo1975

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bucharest, Romania
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I would like to have this battery mod on this ROM... Anyone have it?
Thanks...
http://www.modaco.co...attach_id=82141


...flash one of this!

Attached Files


Edited by dinamo1975, 21 March 2013 - 06:34 AM.

  • 1

#839
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Mine already looks like the circle battery and I haven't added anything.

With the power-saving tweaks, last night over about 8 hours my battery only went down from 84% to 82% which is rather good. Obviously this is going to vary depending on how much data (e-mail, chat messages) is received over Wi-Fi but that was without anything like that happening. Just to reiterate, I don't use 2G/3G data so that's just with Wi-Fi enabled.

  • 0

#840
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
I've got a slight irritation.
For some reason, Play Store is not forcing uploads from the PC web browser to my phone. It's the only device registered, it sees teh installed apps fine, but when I try to install something it doesn't push it to my phone, but it does appear in my list of apps in Play Store on my phone, and I can trigger it to install from there.
I've tried stopping Play and clearing data then relogging in, and I've logged out and in again on my pc...

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users