Jump to content


Photo

Jiayu g3 problems

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
Geery101

Geery101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:JiaYu G3
Hello,

So here's my problem: My phone can't read my sd card in recovery (message 'E:Can't mount /sdcard/'). I tried formatting the card (as well through the computer as through the phone. Didn't work.
I tried to flash CWM recovery 6.0.2.8 and TWRP out of mobile uncle tools, but I always end up in the first CWM recovery I installed via mobile uncle tools (v.5.5.0.4)
I can't flash any rom, and I can't use the update app.

A logical solution would be to use flashtool, but there I also have a problem I can't solve by searching it on google: When I attach the phone I get : BROM ERROR can't open com port. I tried reinstalling the drivers, tried different cables and different computers, so I guess my phone is somehow causing the problem.

Anyone has any idea?

  • 0

#2
fpm_paolo

fpm_paolo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Devices:JiaYu G3
uhm...did you try to install PdaNet drivers? Or, here's the link to my drive...try to download that and use.
Are you sure you followe the guides RIGHT???

http://tinyurl.com/g3-link

  • 0

#3
Geery101

Geery101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:JiaYu G3
I installed pdanet drivers. I followed putbinoot's guide in this forum

  • 0

#4
Geery101

Geery101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:JiaYu G3
I tried to install Lewa recovery from your drive, but now recovery isn't working at all. Phone goes off after Jiayu logo when trying to enter recovery manually. I just don't understand what's going on :D

Something else: sometimes my phone can't connect to the computer by usb, it just charges but I can't connect (This could be due to windows 8 though since dell isn't releasing drivers for my computer :( )

  • 0

#5
illuminatus_

illuminatus_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Jiayu G3

Something else: sometimes my phone can't connect to the computer by usb, it just charges but I can't connect (This could be due to windows 8 though since dell isn't releasing drivers for my computer :( )

On windows 8 like me you cannot install MediaTek DA USB VCOM driver because does not contain digital signature information and you should do this

How to install a driver that does not contain digital signature information in Windows 8?

Turn off the check

Hold the shift key while clicking on Restart

Select Troubleshoot > Advanced Options > Startup Settings > Restart


After Restart select option 7.

Here is a tutorial http://www.needrom.c...t657x-flashing/

  • 0

#6
Geery101

Geery101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:JiaYu G3
When my phone is turned off, and i plug in the usb cable, device manager shows mediatek preloader vcom drivers for 1-2 seconds, then it disappears and I hear the disconnect windows sound. I can't install the drivers because they only show up for 1-2 seconds.. So I will try again step for step on an other computer...

Edit: Exact same phenomenon on other computers. So it's my phone causing the problem...

Edited by Geery101, 12 March 2013 - 09:33 AM.

  • 0

#7
putbinoot

putbinoot

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 481 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Jiayu G3.

When my phone is turned off, and i plug in the usb cable, device manager shows mediatek preloader vcom drivers for 1-2 seconds, then it disappears and I hear the disconnect windows sound. I can't install the drivers because they only show up for 1-2 seconds.. So I will try again step for step on an other computer...

Edit: Exact same phenomenon on other computers. So it's my phone causing the problem...

Just to check the battery is out of your phone while doing this, the phone has to be off and also the battery removed then the vcom will not disappear.

  • 0
Posted Image

#8
Geery101

Geery101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:JiaYu G3

Just to check the battery is out of your phone while doing this, the phone has to be off and also the battery removed then the vcom will not disappear.


It was off, the battery was removed, tried this several times

  • 0

#9
putbinoot

putbinoot

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 481 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Jiayu G3.

It was off, the battery was removed, tried this several times

Think this may have happened with me but i watched where the exclamation mark would appear and had the mouse sitting there ready and soon as it appeared right click and update driver. I think it took me a couple of attempts and even though the exclamation mark disappeared as I had clicked on the menu the process still continued when i clicked update driver. You may just have to be quick.

  • 0
Posted Image

#10
[email protected]

[email protected]

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iloilo City, Philippines
  • Devices:Samdroid Spica, Jiayu G3
  • Twitter:@amrodriguez033
another problem: Guys I dunno about u but my cpu locks in at 1001Mhz during screen off..anyone tested yet and noticed different? Android 4.0.4 20130223

  • 0

#11
reganlives

reganlives

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Jiayu G3 (Blackberry for work)
Guys, has anyone had any issues with their sd card? I'm having a nightmare since yesterday. Seems like the controller on my card has died! The phone randomly said "sd card removed unexpectedly" yesterday so I rebooted it then it said it had an error and it wanted to format it but I selected no. Tried removing the card and putting it back in but no help. The card isn't even picked up by the phone now and wont mount. I've got loads of data on it and need to recover it. Anyone have any ideas? I tried it in my pc using a micro sd card adapter but still no luck, the pc wont pick it up.

  • 0

#12
T-Birds

T-Birds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Guys, has anyone had any issues with their sd card? I'm having a nightmare since yesterday. Seems like the controller on my card has died! The phone randomly said "sd card removed unexpectedly" yesterday so I rebooted it then it said it had an error and it wanted to format it but I selected no. Tried removing the card and putting it back in but no help. The card isn't even picked up by the phone now and wont mount. I've got loads of data on it and need to recover it. Anyone have any ideas? I tried it in my pc using a micro sd card adapter but still no luck, the pc wont pick it up.


Yes! It drove me mad as well. Problem seems to be with JB ROMS and some makes of SD card, I originally thought it was with just SanDisk Ultra microSDHC 32GB but it seems not.

It seems to be quite a common fault as you can see HERE http://forum.xda-dev...ndomly UNMOUNTS and not unique to G3. I have got different one and no problems.

BTW, there were no problems using the original SD card and any ICS G3 rom.

Edit: Not sure if what I had above and your problem are the same? I also had another similar problem with and older SD card, where it had same kind of problems you described. I cant read or format it.

Edited by T-Birds, 28 March 2013 - 01:07 AM.

  • 0

#13
reganlives

reganlives

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Jiayu G3 (Blackberry for work)
T-Birds, did your card not even pick up in your pc? Were you able to recover any data? I'm running the stock ICS rom. Not carried out any real mods to my phone apart from the initial update and rooting and installation of CWM recovery as documented by putinboot a while back. Its a 32GB Trascend micro sd card that I've got and I only bought it in January and I've got about 15GB of data on there so as you can guess I'm quite upset at the moment as it seems like I've totally lost all my data now. I had a fair number of apps installed on my phone and had transferred a number of them across to the sd card but the most import thing is my photos as it was my 30th birthday on the 17th and me and my girlfriend were in Amsterdam for it and I had taken a number of pictures on the phone as well as using my normal camera. I cant understand why the card would just die like that as when it first prompted that it had been removed and I restarted the phone it prompted me to format it but now it wont even do that. I'm now a bit hesitant at using an sd card in the phone now! I did some research yesterday and from what I found out it may be the "controller" or "processor" of the card that has failed and the only way to recover data from a card like that is by getting a professional company to do it but I'm looking at an approx. £200 cost for this and even then they say micro sd cards and anything along the "monolith" design is difficult to recover data from!

  • 0

#14
T-Birds

T-Birds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
No sorry everything was lost. PC did see it and suggested formatting, but no joy. Have you tried EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard? It didnt work for me but might be worth a try.

  • 0

#15
reganlives

reganlives

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Jiayu G3 (Blackberry for work)
Not tried it but will give it a shot.

  • 0

#16
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
I didn't want to make a new thread but today, I got on my G3 where all the writing either went all blurred or letters missing on certain launchers (apex & nova). Doesn't happen within apps.

Fingers crossed it's stopped now. What do people think happened & has it happened to anyone else?

  • 0

#17
[email protected]

[email protected]

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iloilo City, Philippines
  • Devices:Samdroid Spica, Jiayu G3
  • Twitter:@amrodriguez033
..and sometimes keyboard went unresponsive, but a simple "back" and relaunch of keyboard and it works again..weird..both on stock 4.0.4 and Gthrill for G3N..

  • 0

#18
[email protected]

[email protected]

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iloilo City, Philippines
  • Devices:Samdroid Spica, Jiayu G3
  • Twitter:@amrodriguez033

..and sometimes keyboard went unresponsive, but a simple "back" and relaunch of keyboard and it works again..weird..both on stock 4.0.4 and Gthrill for G3N..


Now all of a sudden, I have about a half-inch horizontal area about 3/4 down my screen that doesn't respond to touch. I have tried to use the Android Dev Mode to show where touches are detected, and verified that there is no touch registered in that area.

What happened was I've had a friend with a faulty SD Card, and he tried it on my phone to see if it works and it's not his phone's SD Slot at fault. The process took us a few Boot-Poweroff sequence, and in the last one it's where I noticed that area was not responding to touch any longer. (This could not have been the reason - or, it's the bootup - poweroff sequence was the one that did the damage, but not quite sure)

I was on Lolfisch v1.0 at the time. Tried rolling back to stock ICS using SP Flash Tool, formatted my own MicroSD Card, still nothing. It's at this point I'm considering doing an RMA with Merimobiles, so I've contacted them about it. The rep told me to email the Tech Support, and of course I did. They said they'd honor the one year warranty they have if it's indeed hardware issue, as they are still in process of looking for an update that can possibly fix that issue (I doubt there is any update, since my Stock ROM is the last and only Official ROM Jiayu released for the G3N) I got my phone last April - so two months into use and I got this damage.

Anybody else got this issue? Maybe it's a one-off? Just to let you know, I have a Jiayu G3N (S501 Chip) and now running on stock in preparation for the RMA.

Details of my Stock ROM:

Baseband: Maui.11AMD.W12.22.SP.V5.2012/07/2 20:13
Kernel : 3.0.13 user@linux-user #1 SMP Preemt Sat Feb 23 07:13:56 CST 2013
Build : G3N 20130223-071508




  • 0

#19
[email protected]

[email protected]

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iloilo City, Philippines
  • Devices:Samdroid Spica, Jiayu G3
  • Twitter:@amrodriguez033

Now all of a sudden, I have about a half-inch horizontal area about 3/4 down my screen that doesn't respond to touch. I have tried to use the Android Dev Mode to show where touches are detected, and verified that there is no touch registered in that area.

What happened was I've had a friend with a faulty SD Card, and he tried it on my phone to see if it works and it's not his phone's SD Slot at fault. The process took us a few Boot-Poweroff sequence, and in the last one it's where I noticed that area was not responding to touch any longer. (This could not have been the reason - or, it's the bootup - poweroff sequence was the one that did the damage, but not quite sure)

I was on Lolfisch v1.0 at the time. Tried rolling back to stock ICS using SP Flash Tool, formatted my own MicroSD Card, still nothing. It's at this point I'm considering doing an RMA with Merimobiles, so I've contacted them about it. The rep told me to email the Tech Support, and of course I did. They said they'd honor the one year warranty they have if it's indeed hardware issue, as they are still in process of looking for an update that can possibly fix that issue (I doubt there is any update, since my Stock ROM is the last and only Official ROM Jiayu released for the G3N) I got my phone last April - so two months into use and I got this damage.

Anybody else got this issue? Maybe it's a one-off? Just to let you know, I have a Jiayu G3N (S501 Chip) and now running on stock in preparation for the RMA.

Details of my Stock ROM:

Baseband: Maui.11AMD.W12.22.SP.V5.2012/07/2 20:13
Kernel : 3.0.13 user@linux-user #1 SMP Preemt Sat Feb 23 07:13:56 CST 2013
Build : G3N 20130223-071508


Just to show you guys an example, it's kind of like this one, but mine's horizontal:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.c...ed/zIuDN8A2rGs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Will update you guys on how this goes, how Merimobiles deals with this issue and their RMA Procedures.





  • 0

#20
[email protected]

[email protected]

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iloilo City, Philippines
  • Devices:Samdroid Spica, Jiayu G3
  • Twitter:@amrodriguez033
UPDATE: Now there's another half-inch unresponsive area just a few lines above the original one. The phone just sat on my table, and when I unlocked it, I noticed a new unresponsive area. The phone's just degrading each day.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users