Jump to content


Photo

Swapping RAM?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Hi, I was wondering if there were any ROM s or Kernels that support swapping (Where you partition the SD card and let the phone use some of the SD card space as RAM) as I have a 32gb sd card (~ 28gb usable) and i was wondering if I could use a few gigabytes of storage for RAM?
Can any of them do this, as you can do it with lots of other devices? (like here)
Thanks?
George

EDIT: I was wondering if this was possible, I'm not actually going to do it!

Edited by george109, 03 March 2013 - 08:18 PM.

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#2
Kelthar

Kelthar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300 Ascend
This tears down the SD card much, much faster. Flash memories have a limited life-span, which is regulated by how many write operations were made. If you use it as RAM, that is constantly being written into, your card shouldn't last very long.

  • 0

#3
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Hi, I know it will cause lots of wear on the SD card, I was just wondering if this was possible, I'm not actually going to do it because of this!

EDIT:
Another thing, I know windows has a function like this (Readyboost) Would this have the same effect?

Edited by george109, 03 March 2013 - 08:19 PM.

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#4
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,884 posts
  • Gender:Male
I would like to see this on the G300, 512mb is way too low for me. P.s try not to make too many threads as it clutters the forum. Just edit a previously made thread, and it keeps Modaco clean :)

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#5
Kelthar

Kelthar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300 Ascend
I don't think it will have the same effect as the feature in Windows as it works differently. In Windows it only places files which aren't being accessed often in the flash drive to avoid excessive tear.

I believe you have the option to use Swap in CWM, being able to partition your SD card. Swap is the equivalent of Pagefiles (sort of), but in Linux.

  • 0

#6
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Apparently the Kernal needs support for it too, so surely you cant just partition the sd card and then it will do it?

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#7
penthaler

penthaler

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@penthaler
Hi, I am using 308 kernel from here http://www.modaco.co...dated-07022013/ on my stock ROM 935 and swapping 1GB with aplication called RAM EXPANDER. Since I have 16GB card as a main storage, internal SD (2GB) is totally free - this free space I am using as a SWAP.

RAM Expander needs BUSYBOX installed and card write/read speed 6MB+, no root required.

I hope this helps you.

  • 0

#8
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

Edited by dalyer, 05 March 2013 - 11:04 AM.

  • 0

#9
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
I tried using swapper2 (not £5 - free) and although in terminal it showed swapp on ( type "free" under su) it made absolutely no difference in performance or multitasking , unlike with my old galaxy mini. Try zram, probably better.

  • 0

#10
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
Btw, I used the internal emmc to place the swap.

  • 0

#11
penthaler

penthaler

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@penthaler
ye, that is second option, but it needs root access and compatible kernel/rom too

  • 0

#12
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

ye, that is second option, but it needs root access and compatible kernel/rom too


I am in the process of trying out the ram expander app you mentioned in you're post. I have made the swap on my sd card not internal. I have not noticed any improvement at all , I am thinking I am doing something wrong . Could you please look at the screen shot and tell me if I have configured the app correctly.
Thanks J.

Attached Files


  • 0
Biohazard

#13
penthaler

penthaler

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@penthaler
swappines 70-90, hypermode off, notif.icon off, and you NEED compatible kernel. Do you have custom ROM or stock? If stock, flash via cwm that one i posted in link before

I have swappiness at 90 and free RAM about 130, when swappiness on 60 my RAM is about 100 free max

Edited by penthaler, 05 March 2013 - 05:31 PM.

  • 0

#14
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
Why are you worried about free RAM?

http://www.modaco.co...80#entry2098197

Edited by dalyer, 05 March 2013 - 05:33 PM.

  • 0

#15
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

swappines 70-90, hypermode off, notif.icon off, and you NEED compatible kernel. Do you have custom ROM or stock? If stock, flash via cwm that one i posted in link before

I have swappiness at 90 and free RAM about 130, when swappiness on 60 my RAM is about 100 free max


I am on the slim rom, busybox installed millerbank 15. Kernel , 16gb sandisk class 10 sd. Is this o.k ?
Will try the settings you suggested.

One thing I have noticed is antutu scores are nearly the same results each time you run the test. Usually the score varies by about 150 points .
Thanks for your help .J

  • 0
Biohazard

#16
saiem1

saiem1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Computers, Technology, ICT, Android
  • Devices:Moto G (4.4.2 UK RETAIL)
  • Twitter:@Saiem1337

Hi, I am using 308 kernel from here http://www.modaco.co...dated-07022013/ on my stock ROM 935 and swapping 1GB with aplication called RAM EXPANDER. Since I have 16GB card as a main storage, internal SD (2GB) is totally free - this free space I am using as a SWAP.

RAM Expander needs BUSYBOX installed and card write/read speed 6MB+, no root required.

I hope this helps you.

I tried to swap 1gb on internal but it says write protected, can you help me please.

  • 0

#17
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

Why are you worried about free RAM?

http://www.modaco.co...80#entry2098197


I am just playing around with a few different mods e.t.c to see if I can improve things a little. Not really worried about freeing ram. J

  • 0
Biohazard

#18
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
Actually the comment was to penthaler. :)

http://www.modaco.co...m/#entry2098363

I'm just pointing out that focusing on free RAM on Android may be missing the point a bit...

  • 0

#19
penthaler

penthaler

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@penthaler
dalyer - SWAP is virtual extension of RAM - more RAM = more speed, better games with no LAG, no restarting or closing of runing apps etc.
I was using SWAP on my X10mini and there was really great performance with it. And the same great performance I see on my G300 too.

Games are not lagging, no restarts of launcher, better speed, better multitasking...

  • 0

#20
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

dalyer - SWAP is virtual extension of RAM - more RAM = more speed, better games with no LAG, no restarting or closing of runing apps etc.
I was using SWAP on my X10mini and there was really great performance with it. And the same great performance I see on my G300 too.

Games are not lagging, no restarts of launcher, better speed, better multitasking...


Agreed games do seem to run noticeably better.
Thanks for heads up and advice. J

  • 0
Biohazard




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users