Jump to content


Photo

[GUIDE] How to Install custom ROMs from scratch, Root & more.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
These guides are explained like you're a 5 year old - no unnecessary jargon, just simple steps, presented in a clean, easy to read page layout.

No commands necessary for Windows. Just single, one click files to do all the work for you. If you're using Mac or Linux, there will be 1 or 2 commands you need to enter, however they are very straight forward and will be explained clearly in the guides.

How to install a custom Jelly Bean / ICS ROM from scratch

How to Root

Edited by beggin, 06 March 2013 - 07:29 AM.

  • 0

#2
pmcx9

pmcx9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300
seem to be having a problem with stage1 of the root and phone says "cannot copy files............"

Any ideas?

Edited by pmcx9, 05 March 2013 - 09:38 PM.

  • 0

#3
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

seem to be having a problem with stage1 of the root and phone says "cannot copy files............"

Any ideas?


Do you mind posting a screenshot? Are you using Windows? Are you using a custom ROM?

EDIT: So I figured out the problem I think. It should be fixed now, please redownload the RootBlade3.exe file and run it again (or the Mac/Linux versions if you're not using Windows)

Edited by beggin, 06 March 2013 - 01:16 AM.

  • 0

#4
pmcx9

pmcx9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300
Tried the updated Rootblade3 and same problem as shown here. I am using Win7x64 with a virgin unlocked standard rom phone.
Posted Image

  • 0

#5
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Thank you. I think I know what the problem is this time. I'll update the app tomorrow and post it here.

Edited by beggin, 06 March 2013 - 04:33 AM.

  • 0

#6
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
Updated. Should finally be fixed this time. Please redownload and let me know.

Edited by beggin, 06 March 2013 - 07:38 AM.

  • 0

#7
pmcx9

pmcx9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300
After trying to root and not succeeding I decided to put on CWM as per your instructions. I then put on the latest CYANOGENMOD and my phone is rooted after this which I dont understand.
Therefor I am not in a position to test your latest rootblade but I appreciate your efforts for the community.

  • 0

#8
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
GHi, I have tried using both your root tool and instructions to install clock workmod but when I run the commands in the termninal it cannot find my devices. I recently had to re install ubuntu 12:10, however I successfully used adb when I had my zte crescent before it died. However now when ever I try to use adb or follow the instructions on the link above it is either continually searching for a device or i get error device is not found. I have set up the udev rules and usb debugging is enabled. Does anyone know what schoolboy error I am making?

Edit - had to reinstall Windows 7 to install clockwork mod:wub: now enjoying CM10.1 Still no idea why ADB wasn't working on Ubuntu 12.10.

Thanks

Edited by robt77, 14 March 2013 - 12:40 AM.

  • 0

#9
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

GHi, I have tried using both your root tool and instructions to install clock workmod but when I run the commands in the termninal it cannot find my devices. I recently had to re install ubuntu 12:10, however I successfully used adb when I had my zte crescent before it died. However now when ever I try to use adb or follow the instructions on the link above it is either continually searching for a device or i get error device is not found. I have set up the udev rules and usb debugging is enabled. Does anyone know what schoolboy error I am making?

Edit - had to reinstall Windows 7 to install clockwork mod:wub: now enjoying CM10.1 Still no idea why ADB wasn't working on Ubuntu 12.10.

Thanks


I actually had a similar problem with Ubuntu and it worked after changing USB ports + rebooting.

Edited by beggin, 07 April 2013 - 05:55 PM.

  • 0

#10
Otila

Otila

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
If adb can't find the device, make sure you have MTP enabled (when you plug USB cable into device, you get the notification where you can enable it), or
http://forum.xda-dev...&postcount=5010
(works also in Nova launcher)

  • 0

#11
Otila

Otila

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
"adb reboot bootloader" results into green android and red led.
"fastboot boot files/cwm.img" gives me "< waiting for device >" and nothing happens for 15 minutes. (tried different USB ports)

I have updated B10 to my ZTE.. and encrypted it.


<7>[182329.456290] usb 2-1.5.4: default language 0x0409
<7>[182329.459286] usb 2-1.5.4: udev 32, busnum 2, minor = 159
<6>[182329.459291] usb 2-1.5.4: New USB device found, idVendor=18d1, idProduct=d00d
<6>[182329.459295] usb 2-1.5.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
<6>[182329.459298] usb 2-1.5.4: Product: Android
<6>[182329.459301] usb 2-1.5.4: Manufacturer: Google
<6>[182329.459303] usb 2-1.5.4: SerialNumber: 8e350868
<7>[182329.459840] usb 2-1.5.4: usb_probe_device
<7>[182329.459842] usb 2-1.5.4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
<7>[182329.460179] usb 2-1.5.4: adding 2-1.5.4:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)

that fastboot still says "waiting for device" after I have booted the system with stock image, and "adb shell" works..
if I were to flash this cwm.img, would I brick my ZTE? I'd get a brick with red led?

  • 0

#12
Otila

Otila

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
added to /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTR{idVendor}=="18d1", ATTR{idProduct}=="d00d", MODE="0664", GROUP="luser"
(change 'luser' to group you are a member of)
udevadm control --reload
fastboot now works as non-root as it should
(note that udev/systemd mess might require a different fix on different systems, this was for Fedora 17)

  • 0

#13
Bimbler

Bimbler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thanks so much for the rooting instructions: they worked perfectly for me.

BUT...

Now I need to unroot my phone: any chance you can post the instructions (and a link to an unroot tool) for that?

Edited by Bimbler, 24 May 2013 - 01:23 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users