Jump to content


Photo

Help! Wifi problems

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
Cardie

Cardie

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
All of a sudden my phones decided to not connect to any WiFi networks at all.

All I get now is just connecting... Saved. connecting... Saved. and this just goes on forever.


Nothing out of the ordinary has been done to the phone, was working fine this morning, hasnt been dropped, has barley been used apart from texting and phone calls, since I got home ive just got no WiFi anymore.

Done the usual battery out etc, no differnce, last thing i want to do is flash a new rom as I loose everything unless its an OTA update :(

G300 on CM9.1

Any help would be smashing :D thank youuuu!!!

  • 0

#2
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Fix permissions

If that fails wipe both caches

  • 0

Posted Image


#3
penthaler

penthaler

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@penthaler
This happend to me on stock rom too, but there should help different thing - just restart both devices - phone and wifi router too. (swith off/on) and try to connect again.
It works anytime I got this problem

  • 0

#4
Cardie

Cardie

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Turns out it was the router (though hardwired devices were fine) it was my laptop that finally figured out the Wifi Key was wrong (even though it wasnt)

So nice of the phone to actually tell me!

Cheers for the replies :)

  • 0

#5
sistah

sistah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Hello, newbie android user here!

I would like to bump this thread since it's kinda similar to my problem.

It seems that I cannot obtain IP when I enable WPA2-PSK and unfortunately i have to disable the password protection and hide my SSID
since some neighbors are joining my free wifi (not that it's a bad thing).

With iphone, everything works fine.
A friend of mine who has an android phone, can't join my password protected wifi, while in his home wifi everything works fine.

I did some research and I found out that it's a common (!) thing.
Some said that setting up a static IP, will fix the problem. Not mine though.
I am running out of ideas, any help?

  • 0

#6
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Restart the router, and may I ask which router you are using?

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#7
sistah

sistah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
I did it several times.

My router is Siemens SL2-141.

I could blame my router but I got this problem only with android phones.

  • 0

#8
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
What ROM are you using?
Also can use these manual settings and see if they work
IP address: 192.168.1.96
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway: (the IP of your router) Usually:
192.168.1.254 or
192.168.1.1

DNS server 1: (Same as default gateway)
DNS server 2: 8.8.8.8 (just in case your router does not like being a DNS server)

Edited by george109, 03 April 2013 - 12:48 AM.

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#9
sistah

sistah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
I am on CM 9.1

I don't have the Default Getaway option but Network prefix length.

Thnx again.

  • 0

#10
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Sorry! It should be gateway, not default gateway (Thats a windows option! :P)

Gateway -> (IP of your router, Proably in the manual below) for me, it is 192.168.1.254 According to the manual, your gateway should be 192.168.1.1
Network Prefix Length -> 24

Anyway, try looking at the manual for the router, I have found it for you here -> http://www.iad.cz/pr...User_Manual.pdf

Try using that to log in to the router, and look at the event logs... If you can post them here, (just copy and paste) The forum software should (in theory) format all the text for you...

The only other thing that i could recommend is a factory reset, if that does not work for you...

Edited by george109, 03 April 2013 - 06:39 PM.

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#11
sistah

sistah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Thank you so much for your effort.

I tried to set up again the static IP but no luck.

After searching google, I found a forum with a thread similar to my problem, so one guy suggested this:


1. Turn Off Wi-Fi.
2. Use Root Explorer.
3. Go to data/misc/dhcp.
4. Delete the only file on this directory.
5. Now you will connect to Wi-Fi.




I tried this, knowing that deleting files might cause problems and YES it worked!

  • 0

#12
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Thats fine, and well done on getting it working :)

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#13
stel2596

stel2596

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belarus

Thank you so much for your effort.

I tried to set up again the static IP but no luck.

After searching google, I found a forum with a thread similar to my problem, so one guy suggested this:



1. Turn Off Wi-Fi.
2. Use Root Explorer.
3. Go to data/misc/dhcp.
4. Delete the only file on this directory.
5. Now you will connect to Wi-Fi.




I tried this, knowing that deleting files might cause problems and YES it worked!

in the folder there are no files. What else can I do? WiFi just does not turn on

  • 0

#14
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
What do you mean the Wifi does not turn? Does it fail when you turn it on?

  • 0

#15
stel2596

stel2596

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belarus

What do you mean the Wifi does not turn? Does it fail when you turn it on?

wifi switch does not switch to the "on"

  • 0

#16
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
Have you tried a different rom or going back to stock?

I had problems with my Samsung I5500 but it was really common problem with 2.2 froyo.

Does it come up with an error? Also have got cwm on the phone you could try fix permissions.

  • 0

#17
stel2596

stel2596

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belarus

Have you tried a different rom or going back to stock?

I had problems with my Samsung I5500 but it was really common problem with 2.2 froyo.

Does it come up with an error? Also have got cwm on the phone you could try fix permissions.

Yes, I have tried different rom. it all started with [ICS] MeijaICS [B952 4.0.3] FINAL Version [30/03/13] then Mokeeos now lightning rom

  • 0

#18
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
Have you dropped or get water inside it? Only thing I think of something has been damaged on the motherboard hence why it does not turn on. Have you still got a warranty on the phone?

  • 0

#19
stel2596

stel2596

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belarus
for guarantees will have to move on stock rom?

  • 0

#20
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1928012

Check the list find the rom for country. Don't tell them if it is unlocked...

Edited by sharkyo01, 28 April 2013 - 02:47 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users