Jump to content


Photo

XOLO's GingerBread "update.zip" still available for download (cached archive)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts
Hi guys.

I found a cached archive of XOLO's GingerBread "update.zip":

Sorry folks, I found a cached link @ http://archive.org but it failed, so here's a mirror ---> https://www.dropbox....update.zip?dl=1

It is 235MB, so I assume this is the correct one, as the XOLO ICS "update.zip" is 235MB

Edited by glossywhite, 04 April 2013 - 10:05 PM.

  • 0

#2
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF
An update from what to what exactly?

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#3
Biohead

Biohead

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus 5
I'm guessing this would be an original restore for 2.3.7, in the form of an update.zip.

Seems odd how both ICS and GB are exactly 235mb, but the build.prop does show a version of 2.3.7 in that update.

  • 0

#4
utternoob

utternoob

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,660 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chatham
  • Interests:Laughing at chavs, Formula 1, Football and general technology
  • Devices:Skate, OSD, GT-P1010
  • Twitter:@terrymalyon2
I thought ICS was 299mb for Xolo and 271 for Orange?

  • 0
ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

I may not know a lot, but there are others that do. If you have a problem, just ask

Sent with magic :)

#5
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

I thought ICS was 299mb for Xolo and 271 for Orange?

That's correct.
Just out of interest I zipped up the GB system folder dump which came to 252MB.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#6
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
has anyone actually tried flashing this ?

might unlock the device with it being the original shipped rom, remember xolo's were unlocked, just a thought ^_^

worth a try !

Edited by shootomanUK, 08 April 2013 - 06:51 PM.

  • 0

#7
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Going from ics back to gingerbread worked with the g300 so it could work but I am not brave enough to try......anyone ?

  • 0

#8
utternoob

utternoob

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,660 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chatham
  • Interests:Laughing at chavs, Formula 1, Football and general technology
  • Devices:Skate, OSD, GT-P1010
  • Twitter:@terrymalyon2
Ricky said it can't be done, so I'm not trying it :D

  • 0
ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

I may not know a lot, but there are others that do. If you have a problem, just ask

Sent with magic :)

#9
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
im gonna try it lol

  • 0

#10
utternoob

utternoob

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,660 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chatham
  • Interests:Laughing at chavs, Formula 1, Football and general technology
  • Devices:Skate, OSD, GT-P1010
  • Twitter:@terrymalyon2
Just make sure you can get back if it doesn't work

  • 0
ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

I may not know a lot, but there are others that do. If you have a problem, just ask

Sent with magic :)

#11
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts

Ricky said it can't be done, so I'm not trying it :D


He may be right, but one person's experience is not always found to be the case - I cannot see why a San Diego could not be reverted to a GingerBread San Diego - albeit a XOLO one - with the signed GB update.zip :)

  • 0

#12
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Verifying update package...
Installing update...
assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "AZ510" II
getprop("ro.build.product ") == "AZ510"
E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
(status 7)
Installation aborted.

  • 0

#13
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts

Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Verifying update package...
Installing update...
assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "AZ510" II
getprop("ro.build.product ") == "AZ510"
E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
(status 7)
Installation aborted.


Obviously, as expected, it is looking for a signature it cannot find. However, since GB was the original version they shipped on the x900, there's nothing it is updating the 'phone *from* to GB, so there must be a way of fooling it to re-install, in the same manner as it is possible to re-install Orange ICS version, by pushing certain Orange GB files to the handset, to fool it into continuing.

Just to confirm - you are using the XOLO GB "update.zip", right?

Will mull it over :)


[! IDEA !]

Why not try pushing the Orange GB files that are required to allow the Orange ICS to install over XOLO ICS? May work, seeing as they are GB files ;)

Edited by glossywhite, 08 April 2013 - 10:28 PM.

  • 0

#14
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
Yes i used the GB xolo update.zip you posted

  • 0

#15
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts

Yes i used the GB xolo update.zip you posted


Superb. Did you use the Orange "dump.zip" (unsigned, Gingerbread) files (my prepper tool installs them) to prepare it first?

  • 0

#16
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
no i just put the update.zip on the sdcard and tried to flash, can't really do much on this laptop at the moment as its not mine :-/

i'll try again though on my pc through the week when im at home :-)

  • 1

#17
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,876 posts

no i just put the update.zip on the sdcard and tried to flash, can't really do much on this laptop at the moment as its not mine :-/

i'll try again though on my pc through the week when im at home :-)


I just tried it by preparing OSD with the Orange GB files *first*, as you do when re-installing Orange ICS, and it's having none of it. I thought I had bricked my phone at one point too, as I used Ricky's script which installs Orange ICS again, when I should have typed the commands manually (I was being lazy!). Oops! I found out from trial and error, that to enter "bootloader" mode (blue outline Android picture) that you are best DISCONNECTING USB, holding power down until it is DEFINITELY OFF, then holding down POWER + VOL ( + ) - and keep ON holding down BOTH until the blue man appears, then flash it with ./fastboot -i 0x8087 flash update <path/to/update.zip>

Phew! What a mouthful!

Edited by glossywhite, 08 April 2013 - 11:37 PM.

  • 0

#18
Visham25

Visham25

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, Galaxy Ace

Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Verifying update package...
Installing update...
assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "AZ510" II
getprop("ro.build.product ") == "AZ510"
E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
(status 7)
Installation aborted.

if you opened the update.zip on the pc then that will happen, but if you don't open it, it should work perfectly, and btw you can erase system partition 'fastboot -i 0x8087 erase system' or something like that, and install the update.zip, but make sure you don't open the update.zip and it should install successfully on the phone

  • 0

#19
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

if you opened the update.zip on the pc then that will happen, but if you don't open it, it should work perfectly, and btw you can erase system partition 'fastboot -i 0x8087 erase system' or something like that, and install the update.zip, but make sure you don't open the update.zip and it should install successfully on the phone

Good work, but what's the advantage of having GB on the phone? Is it more likely to be hacked for the bootloader?

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#20
Visham25

Visham25

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, Galaxy Ace

Good work, but what's the advantage of having GB on the phone? Is it more likely to be hacked for the bootloader?

I think unlocking Gingerbread on the san diego will be easier, on my old Motorola atrix I unlocked bootloader thru fastboot by typing 'fastboot oem unlock' and my phone was running GB, worth a try though

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users