Jump to content


Photo

KERNEL JB

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
Hi all, it's time to present my new custom kernel :)

WARNING
  • Before flash this kernel you must have unlocked bootloader.
  • Overvoltage is useless and may burn your device.
  • Undervoltage may cause no boot, but is usefull to drain lower current from battery. If your phone doesn't boot up just reflash boot_dmd.img by CWM.
  • I will not be responsible of brick or burn device.
  • Use only if you know what are doing.
  • Install this on non unlocked device will cause a reboot in bootloader mode. I have advise you, don't ask then what to do.
Instruction:

1 - unlock bootloader
2 - boot or flash cwm
3 - flash my boot_dmd.zip
4 - to get full functionality install Superuser and Busybox before or after flash this kernel it's indifferent
5 - to get fast USB charge use app. Search fast charge on play store

Features:

V1.0
1 - Frequency avaiable from 192 to 1512 Mhz (overclock doesn't work as I want)
2 - CPU voltage control via sysfs
3 - Add init.d support
4 - USB fast charge
5 - Unsecure boot to allow adb remount and system R/W access
6 - Added SIO FIOPS IO-scheduler
7 - Added LAGFREE INTELLIDEMAND BADASS LIONHEART governor
8 - Built with gcc 4.7

V1.1
1 - Enable overclock up to 1890 MHz
2 - Remove mpdecision and edit thermald.conf from bin to allow control overclock
3 - Edit 84uv to undervolt a bit (you can always change, but this may be safer to boot up every device)
4 - Change boot logo

Into init.d you will find 84uv script that is about self explanatory ;)
#!/system/bin/sh
# sysfs interface to set proper cpu voltage at boot
# this table is take from stock kernel
# install daemon controller app to overwrite this file and got UI from XDA Sybregunne member
# http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1949502
# use daemon controller only to voltage control
# frequency control is not fully working neiter with other app like set cpu etc...
# If you know what ar doing you can change manually this table, just look at this
# http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=38599923&postcount=6
# thank to DooMLoRD for undervoltage patch
# warning!!!!!!!!
# if you set too low voltage phone may not boot up
# MORE WARNING!!!!!!!!!
# if you set too high voltage your phone may BURN!!!!

echo -n "1512000 1150" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1458000 1138" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1350000 1125" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1242000 1100" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1134000 1075" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1026000 1025" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "918000 1000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "810000 975" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "702000 925" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "594000 900" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "486000 875" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "384000 850" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "192000 850" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;

Credits
NuriJ and DooMLoRD for kernel patch
Sybregunne to have done voltage control apk
Vache for init.d support help

Usefull link
How to use CPU Voltage Control interface
DaemonController apk

Download
boot_dmd v1.0
boot_dmd v1.1

frandom.ko

Source code
github @davidevinavil

Edited by davidevinavil, 09 May 2013 - 05:13 PM.

  • 1
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#2
wimmme

wimmme

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG G2/Nexus7/AcerS500/iPad3
  • Twitter:@wimmme
sounds nice ! unsecure boot, voltage & clock controle, usb fast charge, :D

  • 1

#3
SLBoy

SLBoy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
I'm with the official JB rom, do I have to flash the leak JB rom to be able to unlock the bootloader?

  • 0

#4
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

I'm with the official JB rom, do I have to flash the leak JB rom to be able to unlock the bootloader?


Do you know another method?

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#5
Willem van Oort

Willem van Oort

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid & Cloudmobile
using this w/ cirrus rom, will that get me a different MAC address? because i need a different MAC really bad:S current MAC conflicts with my sisters phone that has the same cirrus rom;(
current mac is: 00:17:ca:f5:95:66

  • 0

#6
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
Boot_dmd V1.1

1 - Enable overclock up to 1890 MHz
2 - Remove mpdecision and edit thermald.conf from bin to allow control overclock
3 - Edit 84uv to undervolt a bit (you can always change, but this may be safer to boot up every device)
4 - Change boot logo

First post updated with download link

Edited by davidevinavil, 01 May 2013 - 09:53 AM.

  • 1
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#7
Metsuki

Metsuki

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Thank you for your work.
Can you please add hotplug governor?

Thanks!

  • 0

#8
Spacecaker

Spacecaker

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer S500 CloudMobile
Doesnt a kernel requires u to upload a Source for the GPL rules ?

  • 0

#9
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

Doesnt a kernel requires u to upload a Source for the GPL rules ?

Of course but have to re-learn how to use git hub and now I've no much time..

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#10
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
Add source at first post

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#11
wimmme

wimmme

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG G2/Nexus7/AcerS500/iPad3
  • Twitter:@wimmme
tnx, seem to do the trick very well ! Only odd thing I seem to experience is that after a call, when I take the Phone off my ear, he doesn't return to the end call screen, it remains dark. Maybe nothing to do with the update, but I didn't have this before.

  • 0

#12
bonzi1994

bonzi1994

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Cloudmobile
it's possible to add smartassv2 governor and add a little gpu overclock?

  • 0

#13
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

it's possible to add smartassv2 governor and add a little gpu overclock?

cpu overclock seems useless.. at least didn't notice any improvement.. just a little instability.. for smartass2 need to find source, but personally I found Lionheart perfect..

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#14
n_laus

n_laus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Contains this kernel frandom module? Supporting the frandom module in this kernel would help to implement a complete crosbreeder in a rom.

5. Frandom support - CrossBreeder now supports linking both your random devices to the extremely fast alternative - Frandom ( http://billauer.co.il/frandom.html ). This module is orders of magnitude (10-50 times) faster than the standard character devices ( Check this out - http://forum.xda-dev....&postcount=134 ). The erandom character device also installed by Frandom doesn't use up system entropy at all on top of being fast. You will need to ask your ROM developer to develop the kernel module for you and then place it in /system/lib/modules. CrossBreeder will then try and load it and if successful, make all the necessary adjustments so that both /dev/random and /dev/urandom are pointing to /dev/frandom and /dev/erandom respectively. The speed benefits are to be seen to be believed. But since each ROM requires a unique kernel module, this option is left optional ( but auto detect ).


  • 0

#15
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
frandom.ko added at first post

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#16
bonzi1994

bonzi1994

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Cloudmobile

cpu overclock seems useless.. at least didn't notice any improvement.. just a little instability.. for smartass2 need to find source, but personally I found Lionheart perfect..

i said Gpu oc not cpu oc ;) i've read on xda that htc one s could arrive at 480 mhz for 3d and 266 for 2d (instead 400 and 200), i think that for games it could be helpful :)

  • 0

#17
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal

i said Gpu oc not cpu oc ;) i've read on xda that htc one s could arrive at 480 mhz for 3d and 266 for 2d (instead 400 and 200), i think that for games it could be helpful :)

sorry my answer was right but wrote wrong cpu instead of gpu ;-) I've already done some test with gpu overclock but can't see any difference.. tried with 480 mhz for 3d.. also for 2d..

Edited by davidevinavil, 10 May 2013 - 03:06 PM.

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#18
bbbb122

bbbb122

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
hello.i have a cloudmobile s500 with latest ww-gen1 rom.How can i see if my bootloader has been unlocked? I run the command fastboot -i 0x502 oem unlock and it shows three .... and _ to blink
How much time does it take to unlock bootloader? My cpu is 8260a-3.I have allready made root with your instructions and i am able to flash vache unsecure boot.img for rw system.But i want to install your kernel.Is this possible?

Thank you very much for your work
edit
Ok i had to flash leaked jb rom.

Edited by bbbb122, 17 May 2013 - 02:09 PM.

  • 0

#19
bobbes

bobbes

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer S500 Cloudmobile
Hi,
Thanks for your Kernel. As stated in your first post I did also install Busybox (v1.19.4-wraithdu, extracted from Cirrus 105b ROM). I installed it in /system/xbin and run the command busybox --install -s /system/xbin
All symlinks are created and I can run the busybox programs. Now, when I reboot the phone it will keep on rebooting after ca. 1 minute.
When I let the phone boot with Vache's 1.0.5b Kernel it runs perfectly. I think there is something wrong with the kernel? I added 2 logfiles. Both with Busybox installed, 1 when booting your kernel and one when booting Vache's kernel.

For the time being I deleted the Busybox install.

Attached Files


  • 0

#20
scarba

scarba

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Hi all, it's time to present my new custom kernel :)

WARNING

  • Before flash this kernel you must have unlocked bootloader.
  • Overvoltage is useless and may burn your device.
  • Undervoltage may cause no boot, but is usefull to drain lower current from battery. If your phone doesn't boot up just reflash boot_dmd.img by CWM.
  • I will not be responsible of brick or burn device.
  • Use only if you know what are doing.
  • Install this on non unlocked device will cause a reboot in bootloader mode. I have advise you, don't ask then what to do.
Instruction:

1 - unlock bootloader
2 - boot or flash cwm
3 - flash my boot_dmd.zip
4 - to get full functionality install Superuser and Busybox before or after flash this kernel it's indifferent
5 - to get fast USB charge use app. Search fast charge on play store

Features:

V1.0
1 - Frequency avaiable from 192 to 1512 Mhz (overclock doesn't work as I want)
2 - CPU voltage control via sysfs
3 - Add init.d support
4 - USB fast charge
5 - Unsecure boot to allow adb remount and system R/W access
6 - Added SIO FIOPS IO-scheduler
7 - Added LAGFREE INTELLIDEMAND BADASS LIONHEART governor
8 - Built with gcc 4.7

V1.1
1 - Enable overclock up to 1890 MHz
2 - Remove mpdecision and edit thermald.conf from bin to allow control overclock
3 - Edit 84uv to undervolt a bit (you can always change, but this may be safer to boot up every device)
4 - Change boot logo

Into init.d you will find 84uv script that is about self explanatory ;)
#!/system/bin/sh
# sysfs interface to set proper cpu voltage at boot
# this table is take from stock kernel
# install daemon controller app to overwrite this file and got UI from XDA Sybregunne member
# http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1949502
# use daemon controller only to voltage control
# frequency control is not fully working neiter with other app like set cpu etc...
# If you know what ar doing you can change manually this table, just look at this
# http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=38599923&postcount=6
# thank to DooMLoRD for undervoltage patch
# warning!!!!!!!!
# if you set too low voltage phone may not boot up
# MORE WARNING!!!!!!!!!
# if you set too high voltage your phone may BURN!!!!

echo -n "1512000 1150" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1458000 1138" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1350000 1125" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1242000 1100" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1134000 1075" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "1026000 1025" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "918000 1000" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "810000 975" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "702000 925" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "594000 900" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "486000 875" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "384000 850" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;
echo -n "192000 850" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/vdd_levels;

Credits
NuriJ and DooMLoRD for kernel patch
Sybregunne to have done voltage control apk
Vache for init.d support help

Usefull link
How to use CPU Voltage Control interface
DaemonController apk

Download
boot_dmd v1.0
boot_dmd v1.1

frandom.ko

Source code
github @davidevinavil


I managed to unlock my BL and flashed this kernel, but still loosing my root after reboot :( and also CWM ... can`t manage to see how to perma root so I won`t loose it again after root.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users