Jump to content


Photo

Charging = awful touch screen experience?

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Hi there!
I've purchased the ZTE Blade III a couple of days ago. So far it seems to be running very well, speed isn't really much of an issue.
What bothers me though, is that the touch-screen gets VERY sluggish/unresponsive when I connect a charger to the phone.
Every time I charge it, I have to restart the phone, in order to get the touchscreen to work normally again.
Any help would be appreciated!
Greetings,
M. Angelov

EDIT:Turns out I don't have to reboot the phone in order to get the screen working normally again. I tried unplugging the charger right now and the problem seems to disappear.
I guess the main question is: faulty software, or faulty hardware?

Edited by HDVisionRedefined, 29 April 2013 - 06:53 PM.

  • 0

#2
pmcx9

pmcx9

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300
exact same for me

  • 0

#3
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

exact same for me

Are you by any chance running a custom ROM?
I'm on stock 4.0.4 and I wonder if people with custom ROMs also experience the same problem.

  • 0

#4
bigbluetaurus

bigbluetaurus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
With Aurora is fine for me...

  • 0

#5
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

With Aurora is fine for me...

Guess it's time for me to flash it, eh?
I'll look up some builds and post up here if my problem is solved.
Meanwhile; can anyone else w/ a custom ROM (other than the Aurora build) confirm the problem doesn't persist on their Blade 3s?

  • 0

#6
Something Wierd

Something Wierd

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
Changing roms wont help.Im runing 4.1 and i still have the same problem.

  • 0

#7
Something Wierd

Something Wierd

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
Also had it on cm10.1 but i came back to cm 10 for bluetpth.

  • 0

#8
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Changing roms wont help.Im runing 4.1 and i still have the same problem.

Uh, that sounds bad.
I hope no damages are done to the hardware over time.
Probable cause, anyone?
A small addition; problem doesn't seem to be persisting, while charging the cellphone off a USB port

Edited by HDVisionRedefined, 30 April 2013 - 12:45 AM.

  • 0

#9
popoyaya

popoyaya

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade V, Galaxy S3
I've had this issue with various phones when using cheap 3rd party chargers. Sometimes the screen stops responding completely while plugged in. From what I've gathered if the charger is badly made the current it supplies can be "dirty" and cause interference with the touchscreen. Try a different/official charger,

  • 1

#10
Something Wierd

Something Wierd

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

I've had this issue with various phones when using cheap 3rd party chargers. Sometimes the screen stops responding completely while plugged in. From what I've gathered if the charger is badly made the current it supplies can be "dirty" and cause interference with the touchscreen. Try a different/official charger,

I just tried my brothers charger and i didnt had the problem anymore.Why would zte give us a faulty charger?

Edited by Something Wierd, 30 April 2013 - 07:54 AM.

  • 1

#11
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

I've had this issue with various phones when using cheap 3rd party chargers. Sometimes the screen stops responding completely while plugged in. From what I've gathered if the charger is badly made the current it supplies can be "dirty" and cause interference with the touchscreen. Try a different/official charger,

The problem is persisting only on the official charger as far as I'm aware.

I just tried my brothers charger and i didnt had the problem anymore.Why would zte give us a faulty charger?

Yeah, I wonder if we can get our chargers replaced if we notify the company they're shipping bad ones.
If not - what charger does your brother use? I'm up for buying one too, if ZTE don't make a 2nd, working rev. of the current ones.

  • 0

#12
Something Wierd

Something Wierd

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

If not - what charger does your brother use? I'm up for buying one too, if ZTE don't make a 2nd, working rev. of the current ones.

He uses a charger for alcatel ot911. Strangely his phone works fine with my charger.

  • 0

#13
plantroon

plantroon

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:IT, gaming
  • Devices:ZTE Brick III
  • Twitter:@@plantroon
Isn't it just a microUSB cable ?? :D

  • 0
I wish Canonical made some good work and Ubuntu Touch got optimized&running on any android phone....I wouldn't mind having android apps runtime as well :D

#14
Something Wierd

Something Wierd

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

Isn't it just a microUSB cable ?? :D

The problem is not in the cable its in the charger.The phone works fine when charging with pc or other charger but with the official not,or at least for some.I think that this is the same as the rebooting problem some of the other blade 3's have,just not as big as it.
Im still using my cable for charging btw.

Edited by Something Wierd, 30 April 2013 - 07:29 PM.

  • 0

#15
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Another issue; When you're on a white/gray page you can clearly see rows of vertical pixels on the screen.
The rows are equally spaced at about 0,3cm from each other.
It's very notable when you're using the green wallpaper the phone comes with (last one from the selection).
You have to be close-ish to the screen and tilt it a little bit in order to notice it.
Am I alone on this one, or do you guys have it too?
A small clarification edit; they're dot-alike.

Edited by HDVisionRedefined, 30 April 2013 - 11:24 PM.

  • 0

#16
necronomicondb

necronomicondb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
Charger provided with blade gives only 0,7A output, chargers giveing 1A output solve the problem.

  • 0

#17
marink02

marink02

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:zte blade III, lg gt540

Another issue; When you're on a white/gray page you can clearly see rows of vertical pixels on the screen.
The rows are equally spaced at about 0,3cm from each other.
It's very notable when you're using the green wallpaper the phone comes with (last one from the selection).
You have to be close-ish to the screen and tilt it a little bit in order to notice it.
Am I alone on this one, or do you guys have it too?
A small clarification edit; they're dot-alike.

I think that is part of touch matrix,

  • 0

#18
HDVisionRedefined

HDVisionRedefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Charger provided with blade gives only 0,7A output, chargers giveing 1A output solve the problem.

Why doesn't the problem persist, while the phone is being charged via an USB port then?
USB outputs 500mA, which is even less than the charger's amperage, thus this doesn't make sense.

I think that is part of touch matrix,

So I'm not the only one?

  • 0

#19
marink02

marink02

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:zte blade III, lg gt540

Why doesn't the problem persist, while the phone is being charged via an USB port then?
USB outputs 500mA, which is even less than the charger's amperage, thus this doesn't make sense.

So I'm not the only one?

Charger outputs "dirty " current that causes interference with touch screen.
Yes matrix can be seen on all devices, something similar can be seen on SE phones when turned off or on black background against sunlight.

  • 0

#20
Something Wierd

Something Wierd

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

Yes matrix can be seen on all devices, something similar can be seen on SE phones when turned off or on black background against sunlight.

I have a friend with xperia s and i can confirm that.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users