Jump to content


Photo

Newb: CWM locking up

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
BigEric

BigEric

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Hi,

I'm wanting to give the "Stock+" ROM a spin...

I have previously installed a custom rom, some time ago and actually can't remember which one, so I have rooted and installed CWM etc, and have used it sucessfully.

This time, when I boot in to CWM, select "Wipe data/factory reset" and press the power button, the screen just shows the CWM logo and then reboots after about ten minutes, apparently without doing anything.

What am I doing wrong? This setup worked a few months ago :-)

Can it be that the SIM card is removed?

Hope someone can help me past this :-)

E

Edited by BigEric, 06 June 2013 - 04:15 PM.

  • 0

#2
CoSmEeN

CoSmEeN

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mioveni, Arges, Romania
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Nexus 4
Try to reinstall CWM. Maybe that'll help you. Just look on this site and you'll find here everything you need http://huaweig300.com/

  • 0

#3
BigEric

BigEric

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Try to reinstall CWM. Maybe that'll help you. Just look on this site and you'll find here everything you need http://huaweig300.com/


CoSmEeN, Hmmm, I was trying to avoid that :-) The terminal gives me the shivers...

If there are no other ideas I'll have to bite the bullet.

CWM seems to have stopped working altogether...

E

  • 0

#4
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
Re installation for CWM can be done via the Fastboot mode. Just port it over takes a few seconds

Edited by sharkyo01, 06 June 2013 - 05:13 PM.

  • 0

#5
BigEric

BigEric

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Re installation for CWM can be done via the boatlooder mode. Just port it over takes a few seconds


sharkyo01,

Can you elaborate a bit? How do I get to bootloader mode?

E

  • 0

#6
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
Turn off your phone and remove the battery. Wait for 10 seconds put the battery back in. Volume down hold that and turn on the phone via the power button but keep holding the volume button down. It will get stuck at the boot logo. Then use something like this

http://forum.xda-dev....php?p=28719715

Then find a copy of CWM

http://www.modaco.co...t-updated-1601/

Plug your phone in and wait til windows finds the phone load up android flasher you need the first tab / screen. Under the fast boot select recovery find the copy of CWM you download and flash it.

  • 0

#7
BigEric

BigEric

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
It's all over :-) The issue was me being a nob...

You don't hit the power button to confirm a selection in CWM, you hit the *Home* button!

Stock+ is just settling down now :-)

E

  • 0

#8
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

It's all over :-) The issue was me being a nob...

You don't hit the power button to confirm a selection in CWM, you hit the *Home* button!

Stock+ is just settling down now :-)

E


Haha, glad you got it fixed. I'd recommend TWRP if you want an easier recovery, I use it and its great.

  • 1

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users