Jump to content


Photo

Modified SystemUI without Tesco button

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,217 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I made a modified SystemUI APK without the Tesco button.

To install you need to download and extract this ZIP - DOWNLOAD (ROMraid) - and have ADB installed and ready to use. If this is a bit too complex - wait, an easier method is coming. Only use this guide on a Hudl running ROM version 20130923.020558 (check in Settings -> About -> Hudl Updates) - do NOT install on other versions.

After downloading, and with the device booted and USB debugging enabled, do the following:
  • Open a command prompt / terminal window to the directory containing the extracted zip
  • Do the following commands:
    • adb pull /system/app/SystemUI.apk SystemUI.mybackup.apk
    • adb push SystemUI.apk /sdcard/SystemUI.apk
    • adb shell
    • su
    • stop
    • mount -o remount,rw /system
    • cp /sdcard/SystemUI.apk /system/app/SystemUI.apk
    • chmod 644 /system/app/SystemUI.apk
    • reboot
  • The device will reboot and you should be set!
To restore (for OTAs perhaps), do the same but instead push your 'SystemUI.mybackup.apk' in the process.

Enjoy! :)

P

hudlnotescoss.png

  • 6

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
Grumpydev

Grumpydev

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Tesco Hudl

Nice work - again :)


  • 0

#3
tautology

tautology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I'm guessing this is the stock Jelly Bean SystemUI.apk file? I've had a look at how Tesco added the button and it's manky to say the least. They've actually added a couple of methods to com.android.systemui.statusbar.phone.PhoneStatusBar:

  • openTescoDock

  • closeTescoDock

Which appear to call the intents tesco.open.DOCK and tesco.close.DOCK.

 

The methods have been added between awakenDreams() and prepareNavigationBarView().

 

I wasn't expecting code amendment on the Hudl!


  • 0

#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,217 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I'm guessing this is the stock Jelly Bean SystemUI.apk file? I've had a look at how Tesco added the button and it's manky to say the least. They've actually added a couple of methods to com.android.systemui.statusbar.phone.PhoneStatusBar:

  • openTescoDock
     
     
  • closeTescoDock
Which appear to call the intents tesco.open.DOCK and tesco.close.DOCK.
 
The methods have been added between awakenDreams() and prepareNavigationBarView().
 
I wasn't expecting code amendment on the Hudl!


No, it's the stock one patched to hide the button.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
dahooool

dahooool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I made a modified SystemUI APK without the Tesco button.

To install you need to download and extract this ZIP - DOWNLOAD (ROMraid) - and have ADB installed and ready to use. If this is a bit too complex - wait, an easier method is coming. Only use this guide on a Hudl running ROM version 20130923.020558 (check in Settings -> About -> Hudl Updates) - do NOT install on other versions.

After downloading, and with the device booted and USB debugging enabled, do the following:

  • Open a command prompt / terminal window to the directory containing the extracted zip
  • Do the following commands:
    • adb pull /system/app/SystemUI.apk SystemUI.mybackup.apk
    • adb push SystemUI.apk /sdcard/SystemUI.apk
    • adb shell
    • su
    • stop
    • mount -o remount,rw /system
    • cp /sdcard/SystemUI.apk /system/app/SystemUI.apk
    • chmod 644 /system/app/SystemUI.apk
    • reboot
  • The device will reboot and you should be set!
To restore (for OTAs perhaps), do the same but instead push your 'SystemUI.mybackup.apk' in the process.

Enjoy! :)

P
 

Thank you mucho!!!


  • 0

#6
MrAkufu

MrAkufu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

I transfered the file via Bluetooth then completed the instructions via SSH. Much simpler.


  • 0

#7
Jazman

Jazman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Devices:Galaxy Slll, Hudl
  • Twitter:@Paulinafrica

Are there any generic android drivers available for the Hudl?

 

I am not able to run adb commands as the device cannot be found; when running

adb devices

It is just blank, although it is recognised by Windows 8 as a 'Portable Media Player'.

 

Thanks

Paul

 

OK, problem solved under device manager, besides the portable media player entry there was another entry for 'unknown device', I installed it as an 'Adb Interface' , this was originally for a Samsung Galaxy but it's worked just fine <_<

 

And thanks to the good work of Mr O'Brien I am now most definitely sorted!

 

Attached File  Screenshot_2013-10-13-10-49-49.png   764.3KB   20 downloads


Edited by Jazman, 13 October 2013 - 09:02 AM.

  • 0

#8
SifJar

SifJar

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Explorer

Are there any generic android drivers available for the Hudl?
 
I am not able to run adb commands as the device cannot be found; when running

adb devices
It is just blank, although it is recognised by Windows 8 as a 'Portable Media Player'.
 
Thanks
Paul
Are you sure you have USB debugging enabled in the Hudl's settings? It probably isn't enabled by default, and adb won't work without it enabled.

  • 0

#9
Jazman

Jazman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Devices:Galaxy Slll, Hudl
  • Twitter:@Paulinafrica

Hello SifJar, you really are a most helpful chap I must say!

As you will see from the post that I have just edited all is now sorted; USB debugging was enabled but I had to resolve the adb interface issue first before adb recognised the hudl as a device, in any event that pesky [ T ] button has now disappeared thanks to the apk and steps provided by Mr O'Brien.


  • 1

#10
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Why can't things be simple... I've read the comments above but nobody has really said how to sort the problem out?

 

hg76.png

 

nwy5xtE.png


  • 1

#11
QLF

QLF

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The North
  • Devices:Galaxy SII, Advent Vega

Step by step would be useful...

 

I'm in a similar position, but have 2 entries :

 

1 - Portable devices > Hudl

2 - Android Device > ROMaster Composite ADB Interface

 

No devices attaches per pic above also.  Probably picked the wrong time to learn this stuff... lol.

 

ANy help would be much appreciated/.


  • 0

#12
Jazman

Jazman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Devices:Galaxy Slll, Hudl
  • Twitter:@Paulinafrica

Hello @TescoHudl Under Other devices you have Hudl, if you right click and select

'Update Driver Software' and then select

'Browse my computer for driver software' and then select

'Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer'

I'm hoping that you will see 'Android Composite ADB Interface' select that, you will get a warning message 'Update Driver Warning' I believe that you can click OK and then the device should be recognised.

This is all assuming that you have 'Android Composite ADB Interface' as a selectable option of course.

 

Attached File  Device Mgr.PNG   51.89KB   14 downloads

 

Although under ADB Interface I have 'SAMSUNG Android ADB Interface', it is in fact the Tesco Hudl.
 

Cheers

Paul


Edited by Jazman, 13 October 2013 - 11:18 AM.

  • 0

#13
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Hello @TescoHudl Under Other devices you have Hudl, if you right click and select

'Update Driver Software' and then select

'Browse my computer for driver software' and then select

'Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer'

I'm hoping that you will see 'Android Composite ADB Interface' select that, you will get a warning message 'Update Driver Warning' I believe that you can click OK and then the device should be recognised.

This is all assuming that you have 'Android Composite ADB Interface' as a selectable option of course.

 

attachicon.gifDevice Mgr.PNG

 

Although under ADB Interface I have 'SAMSUNG Android ADB Interface', it is in fact the Tesco Hudl.
 

Cheers

Paul

 

Hooray!! Thank you very much!! :D

 

lh1JPFt.png

 

rl4p.png


  • 0

#14
Jazman

Jazman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Devices:Galaxy Slll, Hudl
  • Twitter:@Paulinafrica

:) Excellent, now you should be able to remove that pesky [ T ] button!


  • 0

#15
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Just started the removal process, but i'm just wondering whether it is supposed to say 'Operation not permitted' here, in the command prompt? Is this supposed to happen?

 

i7ge.png

 

Cheers


  • 0

#16
Justice™

Justice™

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD
  • Twitter:@4nomal0us

Why can't things be simple... I've read the comments above but nobody has really said how to sort the problem out?

Posted Image

Posted Image


Have you tried using the drivers included with the RKBatchTool on windows, I know they're meant for a device in recovery/boot loader mode, but they might work.

  • 0

#17
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Have you tried using the drivers included with the RKBatchTool on windows, I know they're meant for a device in recovery/boot loader mode, but they might work.

 

We've already solved that issue, but thanks for your suggestion anyway! ;)


  • 0

#18
Justice™

Justice™

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD
  • Twitter:@4nomal0us

We've already solved that issue, but thanks for your suggestion anyway! ;)


Ah, I didn't look past the first page to see if it got solved, no problem :)

  • 0

#19
QLF

QLF

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The North
  • Devices:Galaxy SII, Advent Vega

Hey guys = whilst the smart people are about, any ideas on my issue :

 

Step by step would be useful...

 

I'm in a similar position, but have 2 entries :

 

1 - Portable devices > Hudl

2 - Android Device > ROMaster Composite ADB Interface

 

No devices attaches per pic above also.  Probably picked the wrong time to learn this stuff... lol.

 

ANy help would be much appreciated/.


  • 0

#20
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Hey guys = whilst the smart people are about, any ideas on my issue :

 

Step by step would be useful...

 

I'm in a similar position, but have 2 entries :

 

1 - Portable devices > Hudl

2 - Android Device > ROMaster Composite ADB Interface

 

No devices attaches per pic above also.  Probably picked the wrong time to learn this stuff... lol.

 

ANy help would be much appreciated/.

 

Have you tried Jazman's method with entry number one? Post #12 in this thread.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users