Jump to content


Photo

no gps lock

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl
I cannot receive a gps lock on my hudl. The GPS icon appears in the notificacation but the flashing circle inside the icon that appears when looking for a GPS lock is not there. Have checked all settings and nothing :(... Anyone else having the same problem?

  • 0

#2
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 465 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
Yeah I only tried GPS briefly once but I didn't get a lock. I forgot to investigate it later...

  • 0

#3
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101
Did you try outdoors? I couldn't get lock inside - my phone does - but got it in moments in the garden

  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#4
Rocket

Rocket

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:GT-I9305, Hudl, Hudl 2
Mine works fine outside also but not inside. Galaxy S3 gets a lock in the same inside locations no problem.

  • 0

#5
gwladys

gwladys

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:hudl, galaxy s2

The first model I bought on the release day refused to get a lock. I installed GPS Test on it and ran it beside my Android phone on the window ledge. The phone showed several satellites in view, the hudl showed zero even after 20 minutes and taking it outside. I phoned tech support, who installed GPS Test on their model, told me their hudl showed several satellites, agreed my one was faulty, gave me a fault number and suggested I took it back to swap it.

 

I did take it back, swapped it for a new one, which works fine.

 

P.S. Even on the working one, it never flashes whilst hunting for a lock. The circle becomes solid once it gets a lock


Edited by gwladys, 18 October 2013 - 11:07 AM.

  • 0

#6
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl

I tried running Google Maps outside last night and could'nt get a lock however today I installed GPS Test and ran it outside and it did slowly get a lock, however the best i was able to get was  13 satellites and an accuracy of 26 and 52 feet (was switching between). Do you think this is a software problem, or a hardware problem?


  • 0

#7
Rocket

Rocket

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:GT-I9305, Hudl, Hudl 2
Use a pin to do a reset. You will find a small hole in the back of the case near the volume control. If this makes no difference then get on to tech support like the poster above as you have a faulty unit.

  • 0

#8
gwladys

gwladys

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:hudl, galaxy s2

I think the hardware is not very good compared to top notch devices. The reported accuracy is quite low on my hudl  when compared to my Samsung phone. Also a tablet without a phone connection is never going to be as fast as a phone in getting a lock. This is because the phone can get an approximate location from the phone mast (it at least knows to within about 35 km at worst) and therefore it knows from almanac data which satellites should be overhead and can start listening out for them first.


Edited by gwladys, 18 October 2013 - 01:00 PM.

  • 0

#9
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 465 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
I love that a ye olde word like almanac is used for something so hi tech :)

  • 0

#10
CashMoney

CashMoney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Moto G

I tried for 3 days to get a lock, inside my car when I had time. So off and on for about 10-15 minutes at a time. No luck, but wasn't trying properly or very hard.

 

Then I took it out of the Tesco Soft case. Started finding sats almost right away. Without a tear down I wouldn't know for sure but I believe the GPS antenna is on the back edge by the camera, same edge as the MicroHDMI. I also think (from my limited testing) that the magnet in the soft case interferes with the signal. As I say, I've not done any proper testing yet, but everytime I fold the case around so that the magnetic flap is close to that edge, I get nothing or at best intermittent. If I leave the Hudl in the case but move the flap away (so the case is open and not folded back) I can then start to get a lock. If any of you in thread are trying to get a lock and have the soft case, try removing your Hudl from the case to see if it helps.


Edited by CashMoney, 18 October 2013 - 04:49 PM.

  • 0

#11
gwladys

gwladys

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:hudl, galaxy s2

Re the magnet: it's actually the case which has the magnet inside it, the flap itself just contains a piece of iron or steel. It certainly wrecks my compass app, who knows what it does to the GPS? It's a nice case, 9/10 for ergonomics but 1/10 for basic physics to the designers.


  • 0

#12
CashMoney

CashMoney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Moto G

Re the magnet: it's actually the case which has the magnet inside it, the flap itself just contains a piece of iron or steel. It certainly wrecks my compass app, who knows what it does to the GPS? It's a nice case, 9/10 for ergonomics but 1/10 for basic physics to the designers.

 

Ah, didn't realise that. Thanks. And I agree with your scoring on the case :)


  • 0

#13
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl

I have done a factory reset of my device and it seems to be getting an okayish lock now and Google Maps Navigation working fine:)


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users