Pocket PC -> SmartPhone Conversion

Guest Ladama

Guest Ladama

Hey Guys , from what i've read and heard from friends PocketPC software should be "easy" to convert to SmartPhone compatible handsets. As you probably need the Source Code to do that ("duh" :)) i was thinking if we start a search for cool opensource PocketPC games and try to convert them to the SPV(x).

Ok because i know what coding is (i've been coding in delphi for 7 years) i do know the conversion will need serious work (no matter how "easy" some people call it) and i'm the first one to say at this moment i'm not sure where to start or how to actually do it so i'm calling out for the more experienced (Pocket) coders on this board on maybe explaining the actual differences required for a pocketpc based app/game to run on a smartphone...

The neatest would be if "only" the display sizes are wrong...

Anyway, as soon as i get my hands on a SVPx (yes i forced myself to wait for the x one) i can activily contribute and test things but until then i'm hoping to get a "theoretical" discussion started....

Guest spacemonkey

I've done this a bit... I'm not the best coder but I've got the hang of cleaning up and converting pocket pc stuff...

Certainly if people find opensource pocket pc stuff, I'm happy to port anything that I personally find interesting :)

I was thinking what might be useful for people who haven't tried this yet, would be if on the next thing I try, I could do a bit of a porting diary, with snapshots of code at various stages and a description of what I was doing/looking for as I went? If people are interested I'd be happy to do it. Again I'm not a very good C++ coder, there's probably others out there who could do something nicer...

Thoughts?

Guest Palindrome

Yes, I'd be absolutely interested in a step-by-step diary, code snapshot, tutorial thingy. Excellent idea. If you could find the time for this I certainly would be very grateful.

Guest spacemonkey