XDA Mini S - Driver not recognised

Guest Shera76

Guest Shera76

Ive connected my phone via USB and have installed the driver (by right click install on the USBMDM.INF, selecting INSTALL) but my laptop wont recognise the new hardware.

what could be the problem? I have activesync 4.1.

is there a compatibility issue with my usb ports and the type required by Mini s?

TIA

• 6 months later...
Guest rhino81uk

i have just received my xda mini aswell and im having trouble connecting to my pc. I have installed microsoft activesync. but when i connect my device to the usb port it asks me to install new device. when i click next it asks for " the file 'rndismpx.sys' on windows XP hotfix - KB909394 - source files is needed"

Can anyone help me? why is this happening?

this is my first PDA style device so im a newbie. I thought it would be plug and play!

Any help would be apriciated.

Thanks

Steve

Guest Disco Stu

Welcome to the forum :)

Just a thought; have you updated XP to SP2 ?

That might be where the missing file is.

System requirements on the Microsoft site here

Guest rhino81uk

hi. tried downloading service pack from windows website but still getting an error when i try and install it. it says "setup has detected that the version of the service pack installed on your system is lower than what is necessary to apply this hotfix. at minimum, you must have service pack 2 installed."

Any advice???

cheers

Steve

Guest rhino81uk

would it be easier for me to just buy a mini sd card and reader and transfer files that way? or are there other things i can do by actually linking my PDA to my pc? or will the card and reader do the same job???

cheers

Guest Laser_iCE

The main thing why people sync (the key word) their PDA's/Phones with their PC's is to keep the connection between Outlook and your phone going ... That includes Notes, Contacts, Calendar and other things such as Files and Music using WMP in Windows on your desktop :)