how to use app2sd

Guest Karim Ahmed

Guest Karim Ahmed

I am new to android and yesterday I rooted the device using Paul's tutorial and flashed the App2SD image to the device

I have a 16GB SD card with 2 partitions (1)Fat32 (2)ext2 (1.9GB) but I don't know how to install application on that partition.

You don't need to do anything else. Existing apps will have been moved to sd & any you install from now on will go to sd. App data & the Dalvik cache remain on internal flash however, so you will still see some decrease in available internal flash as you install apps.

Guest DesireUK
You don't need to do anything else. Existing apps will have been moved to sd & any you install from now on will go to sd. App data & the Dalvik cache remain on internal flash however, so you will still see some decrease in available internal flash as you install apps.

i have flashed and updated rom from the online kitchen.. with ap2sd..

but after setting up my sd card partitions (ext3 5120mb) (rest on FAT32) and then installing an app, im still losing space on my internal...

So im not sure if its working... how else can i check??

Guest Snarkasm

On your device, open a shell (install Better Terminal or whatever you like), type su and hit enter to get to SU mode, then type "ls -l /data" and make sure that /app, /app-private, and /dalvik-cache are redirected to /system/sd/app or /system/sd/dalvik-cache, etc.

Guest nikosrs4

it says system/sd/ etc for these folders but me too am getting internal space decreasing. it's weird nevertheless.

Edited by nikosrs4

Guest PaulW21781

Internal space will decrease slightly even with /data/app, /data/app-private and /data/dalvik-cache moved to the SD card, purely because /data/data still remains on the internal memory. Moving /data/data causes quite a few issues, so moving it is not recommended.

• 3 months later...
Guest onlinejobwork