A worthy manufacturer

Guest vbence

Hi,

I just plan to buy some Android hardware. Originally I thought a phone would be best, but seeing tablets start from $99, I just can not imagine how throwing in a GSM raido triples the cost, as phones start form around $250...

Anyway... as 2.3 comes out and most manufacturers do not even bother to upgrade their products to 2.2 a question arises: Is there any manufacturer who has their firmware open-sourced, so the community would not need to get the compiled drivers form some similar phones?

And is there any such phone accepted by a decent developer community, who bother to recompile and push out upgrades regularly?

I'm new with Android, but I have some miles in my boots as a developer. I just don't understand why the 2.2 -> 2.3 upgrade is such a painful process. Android itself is open-sourced AFAIK, and I don't think the new version requires the individual drivers to change their API-s significantly (correct me if I'm wrong). The only obstacle I can think of comes from the closed-source nature of drivers provided by manufacturers (such as LG or Samsung).

Any suggestion is welcome.

Edited by vbence

• 1 year later...

Two years passed without a single answer. I think I will share my understanding of the Android world and the root of the problems we all share. If you are interested in the topic you will find Steve Kondik's talk about CyanogenMod and its relation to manufacturers interesting. It is revealing and very enjoyable too.

Steve Kondik's presentation:

Q and A session:

Back to the original question: There is currently no such manufacturer. Causes:

• SoC manufactureres (Qualcomm, Samsung, Nvidia, TI etc.): today's phones are driven by a so called system-on-a-chip, a single chip acommodating CPU, GPU, memory and other controllers which are needed for an embedded computer. Their SDK's are not public, their "drivers" are neither opensource nor distributed in a usable binary way (due to "competitive reasons").