[Solved] Help with Corporate (Exchange) setup problem.

Guest Dox

I got my Nexus S today after 18 months with an HTC Hero, and a couple with my (rooted/flashed) Orange San Francisco that I use as a work phone, so, although I'm new to the 'S' I'm pretty well used to Android (1.5/1.6/2.1/2.2). I've set up HTC Exchange on the Hero, and Android's native Exchange/Corporate accounts over and over again with each flash/upgrade without any trouble, but I'm stuck with the setup on the Nexus...

As my account login/name is not my email address, and the mail server's FQDN has a prefix that doesn't appear in our email addresses either, the automatic Exchange/Corporate setup always fails and I just take the "manual setup" option, add the correct details and all is well. That option seems to have vanished from the 2.3.1 version of the Client/Account setup so I can't connect to the server to sync my contacts/calendar back down. If I use my correct email address, the setup wizard rightly points out my user name / password is wrong.

I can connect if I set my email address to <accountname>@<prefix>.<domain>.com, because evidently, that lets the 'S' find the server, and I can then correct my AD details as usual and connect/sync okay. But, I won't be able to send mail because I the email address I used was "wrong" and I can't find a way to edit it.

Does anyone know if it's possible to either create the account manually, or maybe copy the details over from my San Fran, or even correct the "wrong" email address that I used to connect to the Exchange server?

Many thanks in advance

Dox.

Edited by Dox

I managed to sort out the issue, and, although it comes from my strange circumstances I thought I'd post my solution in case it helps anybody else.