Vega for my Mum

Guest bokermonz

Guest bokermonz

I’m not sure if this story hits dead centre of the competition category, but I’d like to tell the story as I hope it might inspire one or two others who find themselves thinking as I did, but weren’t sure whether to take the plunge.

When I first got my hands on a work colleague’s i-pad, I must admit I was pretty much hooked on the experience. I thought it was a fantastic way to access the web and much more. I also had another thought which was “wouldn’t this be the perfect device for my mum!”

Now, my mum is well into her seventies, so she’s getting on a bit. Despite being as sharp as a tack and school teacher by profession, over the last decade or so, she has pretty flat-refused to use, own or have anything to do with PCs or the online world. In other words she has been completely PC illiterate. To be perfectly honest, with a Windows laptop being the only real option, up until now I’ve pretty much accepted this and only made half hearted attempts to suggest that she might consider otherwise. I certainly have considered it too risky a proposition to invest in one on her behalf.

However with the potential I saw in the tablet, I thought I should certainly reconsider.

So in the weeks leading up to Christmas I was contemplating getting my mum a tablet. This was in the context of unanimous opposition from every quarter of the family, sisters, wife, nephews etc. The overwhelming view was that on Christmas Day she would politely accept the gift, with much appreciation and then, just as politely, it would soon get placed in a draw and forgotten about. So, still, I was undecided as most options looked too expensive and therefore still too risky.