Anyone rooted a Liquid Metal from a Mac?

Guest Liquid_Metal_UK

Guest Liquid_Metal_UK

Having now got my 8GB Micro SD I was about to follow the instructions at the top of the board to root my Liquid Metal but notice that a few bits relate to it being done from a PC.

Anyone on here successfully rooted from a Mac?

I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 if that helps.

you'll need the sdk and the Android SDK Platform-tools to switch the recovery

check this xda post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=19529637&postcount=10

the fastboot procedure can you obtain by the install_recovery.cmd at the extracted recovery.zip

then you can root your device by flashing the zip from the sd

Edited by !gm

Guest Liquid_Metal_UK

Many thanks for the reply, would I then follow this thread...

Or does what you said above replace some/all of the instructions in that thread?

Sorry, but am a complete newbie when it comes to rooting a phone.

no, the "How to install a custom ROM & Partition your SD & Root" is sligtly wrong about rooting only

this is where you get the recovery + mentioned install_recovery.cmd:

superuser you'll get from here:

http://androidsu.com/superuser/

recovery you can enter finger-breaking-free by

adb reboot recovery

(if you enabled USB-Debugging)

Edited by !gm

Guest Liquid_Metal_UK

Sorry, really stupid when it comes to all this type of stuff and need a bit more help.

At the moment I have my week old Acer Liquid Metal running 2.3.6 Gingerbread.

Basically I only want to partition my phone as fed up with the "Low space" messages, what version of Android would I end up with if I followed above?

Are there any simple instructions such as:

1. Download blah blah

2. Plug in USB blah blah

Etc?

I am really nervous about attempting this but feel I have to as phone is so restricted without partitioning for more space.

Thanks for your time so far :)

Edited by Liquid_Metal_UK

You just asked about rooting - we only talked about rooting