Remove Hudl start screen?

Guest jp2003

Hi all, apologies if this is on here somewhere, I've been looking but can't find anything.

I've rooted my Hudl with KingoRoot, installed Xposed and ran the mod to remove the 'T' logo. I'm also wondering if it is possible to remove the hudl* start up screen and ting noise it makes upon start up?

If so what is the easiest way to do this please?

Many thanks

JP.

to silence the boot noise, use a file browser with root access to rename /system/media/boot.ogg to something else (renaming it back to boot.ogg will re-enable it).

The start screen in android terms is referred to as a boot animation - I've not tried to change this on the hudl, though it's certainly possible on other android devices so I'd imagine it would be possible on the hudl too. It's found at /system/media/bootanimation.zip

sorry I'm kind of new to all this. I didn't understand that lol

okay, no problem. In basic terms:

• rooting a device gives you access to the root of the devices file tree - the root being the base level where all the folders and such are (like C:// on windows). Normally the device locks you out of this to prevent accidental damage
  • root access means you can also access /system as it's on the root of the device - this can be dangerous as you can break things if you're not sure what you're doing
  • /system/media is a folder called media, inside the system folder, on the root of the device
  • the file that controls the noise that plays when you turn the hudl on is boot.ogg in the /system/media folder. By renaming it the system can't find it to play it and as such you get a silent boot
  • the easiest way to do this is to download a root explorer from the play store. Personally I use ES File Explorer and mount the /system as R/W (read and write access) then edit the files I want to edit. Without the write access you can't make changes and thus can't rename the boot.ogg file