Flashing Helios Rom

Guest olliedog

Guest olliedog

I am a real novice regarding android systems so I hope you guys will bear with me.

I am hoping to try the Helios rom on my Hudl but am unsure if this rom will be compatible? My Hudl is running Android version 4.2.2

Kernel 3.0.36+ android-build mobile.tesco.com#1 Thurs Apr 24 15 .38.48 BST 2014

Build number JDQ39.20140424.153851.

Could someone please advise - thank you.

Hiya with the original hudl it (sort of) doesn't make much difference what you've curretly running as flashing the helios Rom will completely wipe your hudl in the process.

You'll need to flash Helios with the Windows software as it needs to adjust your hudl's partition layout (it includes proper/fixed partitions - the boot partition includes the kernel from memory which Tesco's sort of buggered up).

Also,  the flashing is done via putting the hudl in 'bootloader mode' which is way easier and less prone to issues than the later hudl2 - the original hudl being RK3188 processor based is fairly bomb proof.

Edited by Guest

Guest olliedog

Thanks CaptainMidnight I appreciate your help, from what I understand the Helios rom includes CWM Recovery if you decide to go back to stock rom is CWM Recovery removed when the stock is re-flashed.

......if you decide to go back to stock rom is CWM Recovery removed when the stock is re-flashed.

.... well it will be, but there are ways of keeping it - or should I say, it can be installed on it's own - there is a thread about CWM recovery installation in the list. Many ways to play with things on this tablet. ;)

Guest olliedog

..there is a thread about CWM recovery installation in the list. Many ways to play with things on this tablet. ;)

Many thanks for your advice, I am on the hunt :D

Edited by olliedog

Just be careful with that recovery partition that's the one that I think in the Tesco's standard build hasn't got the kernel, but anyway you'll find that stuff out in those related posts, enjoy.