stock gb upgrade having baseband 109808

Guest tcris

Guest tcris

Hello everyone,

I have no prior experience with all this but I try to be (well) informed before I will attempt to do my upgrade from GB to latest CM11 / KK4.4.4.

I have a Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) running stock 2.3.6, baseband 109808, build B894.

I understand the three main steps are: rooting -> install CWM -> install custom rom.

As far as I understand, my baseband 109808 comes with unlocked bootloader (only 2030 requires unlocking).

But reading this confused me: update baseband to 2030. Is that deprecated info? Should I use ICS/B952 update?

Here I don't see any mention about the baseband.

Is it really needed to update my baseband to 2030? if yes, how do I do it? (the B952 link on that page is dead).

And, not so important, why? (recent ROMs / CM11 handle both basebands, right?)

I want to understand what is the most clean/easy/up-to-date way to do this upgrade and not miss any steps required.

Thanks a lot for your help,

Chris

ps: are there any other issues I should be worried about? Hynix problem? anything else?
Edited by tcris

• 2 weeks later...
Guest dalyer

I understand the three main steps are: rooting -> install CWM -> install custom rom.

Correct.

As far as I understand, my baseband 109808 comes with unlocked bootloader (only 2030 requires unlocking).

Correct.

Is it really needed to update my baseband to 2030? if yes, how do I do it? (the B952 link on that page is dead).

And, not so important, why? (recent ROMs / CM11 handle both basebands, right?)

I don't think that you need to update the baseband but I can't remember the details at this stage.

But I'm pretty sure that it's difficult to totally brick the G300 at this stage.

If you are rooted and want to switch basebands (just in case) then this works:

http://www.modaco.com/topic/361310-downgrade-upgrade-from-recovery/

ps: are there any other issues I should be worried about? Hynix problem? anything else?