can we upgrade to Windows Mobile 2005?

Guest newmoomin

Guest newmoomin

Im very new to pocket pc, so I have no idea how this works. Windows Mobile 2005 will be out soon, and looks like it will fix quite a few bits i dont like about my MDA compact. Is it normally possible to install the new rom onto a device with a previous OS, or do you just have to buy a whole new device.

I love my MDA compact, and I want to stick with it for a year, but I want Windows Mobile 2005!

Guest Drewtech

It usually depends on the manufacturer as to whether they provide an upgrade path or not. Compaq/HP used to do so, not sure if they will now, for non-Phone PPC. Since the phone versions are all branded by the phone companies then I assume it will be up to them if they will provide the upgrade.

Guest newmoomin

Well I have a T-mobile MDA compact, but I have unlocked it on the software side. I then opted out installing all teh T-mobile gubk on a hard reset. So I guess my phone is unbranded so I could use a generic HTC Windows Mobile 2005 ROM and then just enetr the t-mobile txt/mms settings?

Im sure if tehre is an update ROM, it will be out from HTC way before the mobile oporators. Do HTC even do update roms?

Guest FloatingFatMan

There's also a licensing issue here as well. Even if you are able to obtain a WM2005 update ROM, unless it's officially issues by your service providor, it will not be legal...

But it would be REAL nice if they do make one available. Hell, I'd even consider PAYING for an OS upgrade...

Guest Metoo

There's virtually no chance of an upgrade being made available. Pocket PCs' product life is way too short, and they'd rather you buy the next new shiny model. That's before you consider the added complication of Phone Edition devices, where software builds have to be tailored and approved by the network operator as well as the manufacturer.

As for HP providing upgrades, experience says not:-

http://discussion.brighthand.com/showthrea...threadid=116634